We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pentland Hotel

Save
Share
Princes Street, Thurso KW14 7AA Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (42)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#7 of 11 hotels in Thurso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Pentland Hotel is located in the central of Thurso, a small town situated on the northern coastline overlooking the Orkney Islands. Thurso's history stretches back to the time of the Vikings, when it was once referred to as Thorsa, translated meaning 'Thor's River'. Thurso shares its famous history of the fishing industry with its neighbouring town Wick, but is also well known among surfers and kayakers who travel from all over the world to experience the swells our sea has to offer. Suitable for families and business people alike, this hotel will offer you comfortable accommodation and a warm welcome from staff. The Pentland Hotel has two lounges for conferences and a night porter available to ensure late services are accommodated to and early risers can enjoy a continental ​breakfast. Being based in the center of Thurso offers you many opportunities to not only explore the town but also enjoy the frequent public transport to explore other parts of the county. Stay at the Pentland Hotel and allow us to ensure that you experience a pleasant and enjoyable visit to the delights of the far north of Scotland. The hotel has 41 en-suite bedrooms made up of single, twin, double, triple, and family units. Each bedroom has been stylishly decorated and made to accommodate your various needs to ensure that your stay will be as comfortable and relaxed as possible. All rooms include a phone, TV with Freeview, a hairdryer, a radio alarm clock, and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has a large split level dining room so that smaller parties of up to 30 may enjoy extra privacy. The restaurant uses only the freshest local Caithness seafood and produce. Vegetarian choices and children's menus are also available. The reception foyer is an attractive area where guests can relax after their meal in comfort. The focus of this room is the fireplace with its carved wooden mantel on a Caithness stone hearth. We have free wi-fi in and around the reception area. Alternatively, the cosy, welcoming atmosphere of the lounge bar is an area where families can sit and where light refreshments and snacks can be eaten, in the more informal surroundings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
275Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 52
  • 97
  • 69
  • 39
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Scotland wrote a review May 2021
Scotland518 contributions137 helpful votes
Room - Very tired room / bathroom. A few issues in the room which we should have highlighted the first day but we really don’t like changing rooms or having maintenance in the room in current covid restrictions. We did highlight the issues when we checked out. Girl at reception did say we should have highlighted the first day, she was very nice and took a note. Main two issues were 1) - the mattress, the springs were totally gone, wasn’t great with the slightest movement. 2) When using the shower the bath tap kept running too without draining 🤷‍♀️ The room is quite small, lighting not great especially for applying make up but this seems to be quite common in hotel rooms. The bed seemed quite small. Hairdryer in place, shower/bath gel etc. Unfortunately (NOT hotels fault) the noise from crows in the morning soon woke you up after broken sleep due to mattress wasn’t the greatest. Stairs - be aware there are no lifts - we were on the first floor, I struggled due to lung condition. I contacted the hotel prior to ask if there were downstairs rooms but unfortunately there was none. Communication with hotel was excellent. Found the corridors really hot which was surprising re covid. Staff - all staff we communicated with during our stay were all VERY, VERY nice. We asked if we could get more pillows which were outside the room on our return later in the day. (due to covid staff do not enter rooms until you vacate room). The lady at breakfast was so, so nice and cheery, took time and appeared to be interested in what we had done and what we planned, nothing was too much of a problem. FOOD - WOW, we could not fault it at all. We were asked to pre order the night before which wasn’t a problem at all (cooked) and give a time. There was a great selection of cereal, fresh fruit (in individual covered dishes) yoghurts, croissants, toast etc as well as cartons of fresh orange juice. I didn’t have any of it but my hubby did which he enjoyed. The cooked breakfast was just AMAZING, lovely cooked (not greasy at all) and lovely quality .... you certainly wouldn’t leave hungry! We ate twice in the evening , again, could not fault the quality or presentation. Catered well for vegetarians at breakfast and evening menu. The main asset to the hotel were the staff, chef and the food. Due to the issues with our room if it hadn’t been for the staff and food the rating may have been lower. However, as stated earlier this could have been rectified if we had highlighted earlier so we are partly to blame. Would we return, possibly if were in the area as I am sure rooms are totally fine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware there are no lifts and there are at least 2 floors Any issues with room highlight...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Smeddum07 wrote a review Nov 2020
Burghead, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a very enjoyable two nights away with my fiancé. Staff couldn’t have been nicer if they tried always smiling polite and easy to deal with. Had a double room that was very spacious comfy bed and nice views out of the bay windows. Had dinner the first night in the hotel fish was very well cooked and although the smarties sundae was probably for kids I found it very tasty! Breakfast was very nice and quickly got. Clever system with the paper ordering due to covid. The covid regulations all adhered too but never saw any staff being rude about them like I have in other places. Honestly couldn’t be more positive about the place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Hello Smeddum07, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay the Pentland. We are delighted to hear that you and your fiance had an enjoyable experience, found our food to be tasty and our staff to be pleasant. Hopefully we can welcome you both back again soon :-)
Read more
Kayla J wrote a review Nov 2020
Thurso, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
I went to the pentland for a birthday meal with 2 friends (2 households), I was seated at my table and was then confronted by a manager who had accused my table of being from more than 2 households. He asked for my name and address which I happily gave and then further on accused us of being liars and was told our table would be split up. When telling him that me and my friend lived together and the other friend lived at home with her parents he then told us he didn’t believe us and he believed that what we were saying was untrue. We then heard him talking about our table behind the bar with the other staff discussing my address which should be confidential. This made us feel extremely uncomfortable about eating our meal and we wanted to leave but due to shortage of time we were unable to book another place to eat out. We also felt as if because we were young women we were an easy target and looked down on. Me and my friends have been very loyal customers to the pentland over many years but after this incident we will not be returning. I am astounded by the attitude of someone who is meant to be a manager and know about customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Mackay, Owner at Pentland Hotel
Responded Dec 22, 2020
Dear Kaylajohnstonx, thanks for taking the time to review your meal at our hotel and please accept my apologies for your disappointment on your friend birthday meal. Please rest assured that we take track and trace and the government guidelines that are set for Hospitality very seriously as if we do not adhere to it we run the risk of a fine. No-one was acquised of lying, targeted as they were young women or had confidential details discussed. We are very grateful of your previous custom and your efforts from when you worked here but we totally respect your decision to not return. Kind regards Andrew Mackay
Read more
Darcie wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Myself and two friends went for a birthday dinner tonight (2 households) and the manager decided to question my friend (who was the birthday girl) on her address and also said he thinks that we were lying regarding her living with my other friend. I feel he only did this as we are three young girls and he could get away with it, this attitude is awful especially from a manager!! this made us all want to eat elsewhere but due to time we were unable to do so, we all felt severely uncomfortable and were not given an apology despite being able to answer all of his questions correctly. We are regulars at the pentland but after this issue we will NOT be returning, we will also be informing all family and friends to be warned of the situation that occurred. Severely unhappy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Mackay, Owner at Pentland Hotel
Responded Dec 22, 2020
Dear Darciemillar, thanks for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment. Please rest assured we take track and trace very seriously and the government guidelines that they set for hospitality, which if we do not adhere to we run the risk of getting a fine. No-one was accused of lying but I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable. Sorry to read that you will not be returning but thankyou for all your previous custom. Best Wishes Andrew Mackay
Read more
Daniel M wrote a review Oct 2020
13 contributions4 helpful votes
Visited the hotel based on previous recommendations, and was not disappointed. They were very accommodating with our arrival, and took us on without any reservations. Despite bar area being full, they moved us into the restaurant area which was good to see. Food was excellent, very impressed with the menu and quality of the meal provided. Staff were great and all COVID precautions were in placed and followed as expected. Make sure to stop by and visit this hotel, at least for the food!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Hello DanielM11727, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit for lunch. We are so pleased to hear you found the food to be excellent and that you were comfortable with all the COVID precautions that we had in place. Safe onward travels & we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pentland hotel thurso
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandThurso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pentland Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pentland Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lindsey Gallacher (0.2 miles) and Top Joes (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentland Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Pentland Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pentland Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bydand, Pride of Bengal Indian Restaurant and Takeaway, and Spice Tandoori.
Is Pentland Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Thurso.
Are there any historical sites close to Pentland Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old St Peter's Church (0.3 miles).