We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel, Caithness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
North East UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

As other reviews state, the hotel could do with some tlc and updating - but it's an old hotel and you get what you pay for in my opinion. I actually found it quite charming with it's winding corridors etc. The rooms are large - and warm - don't know how other people think it's cold as we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shewolf77
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff tried hard but this poor hotel is badly in need of some updating and TLC. Positives first - staff were pleasant, room was clean,shower had power, food was very tasty, B&B rate was cheap...BUT hotel was cold though-out, our room had two small single beds and two single glazed windows, tiny tv and towels had seen better days (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

There's potential in this place that's just not being realised. It looked slightly shabby and down at heel. It had the feel of somewhere that didn't need to compete for customers. Breakfast was slightly lack lustre. I'd look elsewhere if I came back to Thurso.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toddy62
Toronto
Reviewed December 26, 2016

WRETCHED. Sleep in your car. I'll try to itemize things & provide some pictures, which speak better than any words. THE STAFF Terrible, just terrible. You can tell that if at one time they cared, they've long since given up any hope. In the restaurant they let food drop to the floor & re-position it on plates, the bar hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Angela H
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

“My apologies that you were dismayed during your stay in June. However, I would like to assure others reading your feedback that the comments are grossly exaggerated. We certainly do not, nor have ever had, any issues with cockroaches or anything remotely similar and the suggestion of 2 – 3 inches of dust is simply untrue. It is a shame...

Tadcaster
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

This is the coldest most dated knackered hotel I have ever stayed in and I've been to eastern europe. The room was freezing cold not overly clean with a dated bathroom. Breakfast was basic and very greasy. Bar was reasonable. If there was anywhere else available I would of moved rooms. This place might be cheap but it's needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faultrated
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 14, 2016

I booked this hotel for 34 people as we had a rugby game at Caithness RFC and were travelling from Glasgow. From the onset, the hotel could not have been more helpful to make the booking and on arrival, were so helpful and pleasant - just what you want after a 6 hour journey! Everything ran so smoothly from dinner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade938
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016

A traditional high street hotel offering excellent value for money - a grand old building needing a little updating but it's clean, warm and tidy with pleasant staff. The cooked breakfast is very good. Limited parking at the side of the building but this is no problem as there is plenty of free parking within yards of the hotel. With...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin O
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2016

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, the rooms are grubby and smell awful. The staff need to go on a customer service course as I think being rude to guests and virtually throwing your breakfast on the table is not acceptable. If this hotel does by some miracle stay open, I think they should rethink their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardmdp
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

The Royal dominates the main street in Thurso. It's a large, rambling, maze of a place. I've stayed there for over ten years and in that time it's not changed much. That said it's cheap as chips, the rooms are basic but do the job and it's warm and cosy. Breakfasts included and is also good if you dig a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThatSharpy
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

There are limited places to stay in Thurso, our room was very dated, a slight smell of mustiness and the bathroom had mildew adorning the tiles. If there had of been anywhere else to stay and we had drove 6 hours to get there we would have left. Needs to be updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thisisour0pinion
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
158 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
196 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Missoula, Montana
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask to have heating on prior to arrival or a heater added to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 123kaz321, 6 days ago | Read review
“Sleep in Your Car”
 of 5 bubbles 744angelah, Dec 26, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long walk so if you've got a heavy bag or don't like mazes then ask for a room near reception/car park.”
 of 5 bubbles ThatSharpy, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“My room was second floor front and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MissouriBlondie_1, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles 467autumnh, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question