We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Morlich is one of the hotels in the MacDonald Aviemore resort. The staff are lovely and our 'upgraded super king' room was OK but there was only one drawer, only half the wardrobe was accessible for clothes and had just 8 hangers, as the other half was taken up with the safe and tea and coffee machine. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Heather H' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you feel our resort has lost its way, and that you did not find the room to be to your liking. The Morlich is one of the hotels that is on the resort, so I am sorry you felt that this...

Badachro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice overnight stay at this hotel. We had an excellent sleep with the comfy beds and in peace and quiet! Rooms were standard hotel sized but beautifully presented and very clean. The staff were very helpful and we had a really good breakfast. Only thing lacking was a nice open fire to give some atmosphere in the lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DD2372014
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'DD2372014' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am glad we could provide you with a room and bed that allowed you to get such a good night sleep whilst you were staying here. Your kind comments about the room, staff and breakfast are extremely pleasing to read. I will be sure...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were delighted with our stay at the recently refurbished Macdonald Morlich Hotel. A lovely spacious room that was clean, fresh and modern with a hint of tweed and tartan to compliment the design. The room was large (huge if comparing this to a city centre hotel) with a kingsize bed, a small double sofa and a safe in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnonTravel2
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'AnonTravel2' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am glad that you were so happy with your stay at the Morlich Hotel, and found your room to be spacious and well decorated. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the facilities that we provide, it is great that you got to use...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

Aviemore is truly stunning and the hotel didn't disappoint, the bed was very big and comfy and the bathroom was very clean, preferably would've loved a bath rather than just a shower in there but I can live with that! All staff were friendly and very helpful. Slight issue with the card machines not working at the bar to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise0022
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Louise0022' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you found Aviemore to be stunning and that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the resort. It is always great to read that you had such a wonderful visit, even though there were a couple of things that...

Reviewed January 31, 2017

Attended for weekend break in Aviemore. There was heavy snow forecast on the day of our arrival and the hotel responded positively with advice when I contacted them concerned about whether I'd be able to make it to the hotel on time. It appears that the hotel has recently been re-furnished and it certainly looked and felt really comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Chris B' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is wonderful to read such a lovely review of the resort, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Aviemore. I am pleased to see that our staff kept you well informed of the conditions for your arrival, and your...

Co. Mayo
Reviewed January 27, 2017

Thinking we would treat ourselves to a bit of luxury on a recent Ski trip, we booked a Deluxe King room in the Morlich. When we got there, we loved the look of the hotel, it was close to the village and seemed to be the central building of a large resort of about 5 hotels. This building was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SilesheilaR
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'SilesheilaR' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of the resort here on TripAdvisor I am very sorry that you did not find your room to be large enough to suit your needs, but it is great to see that we were able to find a solution to this issue whilst you were on site. I...

Edinburgh
Reviewed January 24, 2017

We booked this hotel at a discounted rate for a 2 night stay at the weekend. We originally booked an executive room which turned out to be exactly the same as a standard double room another member of our party was staying in at the same time. After lodging a polite complaint with the receptionist we were asked to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjmalcolm
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'sjmalcolm' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am glad that we were able to resolve the issue that you had with your first room, and place you into a room which was more suited to your needs. It is great to see that you felt your dealings with our staff were...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights including New Years Eve. Our room was clean , and functional . The restaurant offers a good buffet breakfast with Italian food for dinner. the service was very good.The resort has a Cinema, Theatre , shopping and a well equipped play centre for children and a swimming pool . The gym is very small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoMcG
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'RoMcG' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you had a lovely experience whilst staying with us over the New Year, your comments about the room, restaurants and facilities are very kind. I am sorry that you found the gym to be too small, I will be sure...

Beauly, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend away in early January. There was no snow so the resort was fairly quiet which was really nice. The hotel was fine for the price we paid, decor nice, staff pleasant, room was nothing fancy but nice & clean. We spent a couple of days here & on both days the breakfast service was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtiveGirl
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'EtiveGirl' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor I am glad that you felt the hotel was at a good standard, but it seems you had quite a few concerns over the breakfast that we provide. I am very sorry that the food at breakfast was not to your liking and that your tea was not enjoyable, I...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Most Awful experience ever at a hotel - wont give blow by blow account as would take all week but the main points were: 1. Booked specifically into the Morlich back in April 2016 for a stay in December 2016 - have stayed in the Highlands hotel before at same resort and room had no heating and was no where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melanitsa7328
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Melanitsa7328' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry you did not have a pleasant experience at our resort, I am sorry for the mix up with the dinner bookings, the hotel room and that the bed has not been provided for your son before you arrived. I am so sorry that you found a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range: $102 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were advised all rooms were the same size, so don't pay for upgrade if you are getting what is a standard room.”
 of 5 bubbles SilesheilaR, Jan 27, 2017 | Read review
“For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Jonf119, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Try executive rooms at Morlich....but check credit card for any double charges....”
 of 5 bubbles TheaScotland, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are given the correct room, don't back down!”
 of 5 bubbles 242becac, Feb 14, 2016 | Read review
“best go to the Hilton instead”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynm978, Nov 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question