We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 11 hotels in Aviemore

Strathspey Hotel

160 reviews
Save
Traveler (82)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good24%
  • Average21%
  • Poor27%
  • Terrible19%
Sep 29, 2017
“Ghost Hotel”
Sep 1, 2017
“poor hotel”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (160)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Strathspey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
11
34
29
37
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
34
29
37
29
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 140 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject...More

Thank hillcrestroad
Response from MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey HotelResponded September 8, 2013

Dear hillcrestroad Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that...More

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage...More

2  Thank Susan M
Response from MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey HotelResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with...More

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey...More

2  Thank chrismSydney
Response from MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey HotelResponded August 29, 2013

Dear chrismSydney Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I...More

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rooms are very small and need upgrading. The staff we dealt with were very good, but witnessed some rude behaviour towards other guests in the main building. There was a group of poorly behaved and poorly supervised students there, so maybe they were stressed. The...More

Thank MaxjudyStanford
Response from MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey HotelResponded August 29, 2013

Dear MaxjudyStanford Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we always appreciate guest feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered was welcoming and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast provided. Please be assured that your comments...More

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I first thought that someone had made a mistake,the car park was deserted,the reception,public bar area looked like it had been shut down for years.The very aging lift could only take 4 people.Oh My the room,you know that smell you get when something has'nt been...More

Thank bmac705
Response from MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey HotelResponded August 29, 2013

Dear bmac705 Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel during your stay – an ongoing investment in the resort will ensure that the we will be able to...More

PreviousNext
1131415161728
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (82)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (9)
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Bathroom (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Spa
Golf course
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$103 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$103 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite