We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strathspey Hotel

Save
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good24%
  • Average21%
  • Poor27%
  • Terrible19%
3 days ago
“Grim”
Sep 29, 2017
“Ghost Hotel”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Strathspey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
11
34
29
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
34
29
38
29
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 141 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2015

A friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found the experience quite baffling. First thing to say is that this is like no other MacDonald hotel in the country. Even their 3* hotels are generally a pretty good standard- this one...More

1  Thank AlexJ262
Response from General M, General Manager at Strathspey HotelResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this...More

Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had 4 rooms booked out here in feb 2015 only 1 room out of the 4 was modernized . The rest of the rooms were a bit dissapointing . Reception wasnt always manned . Breakfast was very nice . Enjoyed our stay here ,More

Thank Elaine P
Response from General M, General Manager at Strathspey HotelResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed in some of your rooms you had with us, however I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your over all stay here at the Resort. Our aim here...More

Reviewed March 11, 2015

I had looked at this hotel on line and as it was a Macdonald hotel, I expected a good standard.... Oops, how wrong I was. We were SO disappointed with our room and the public areas ie. 'Lounge' areas, were non existent. The only seating...More

1  Thank sooty_su
Response from General M, General Manager at Strathspey HotelResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however I am happy to hear that the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and...More

Reviewed March 11, 2015

Although there have been a few negative reviews for this hotel, we found it to be good. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, but it was very clean and the beds were the comfiest we have slept in for quite a while. The...More

Thank Susan C
Response from General M, General Manager at Strathspey HotelResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. Look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed March 10, 2015

We travelled to this hotel as part of the Statesman Rail first class trip. This hotel could not provide us with coffee at lunchtime on a Sunday - it was stated that they had just thrown the last away. Why they could not make a...More

Thank Suzie667
Response from General M, General Manager at Strathspey HotelResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Aviemore, United Kingdom
See all 11 hotels in AviemoreSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Spa
Golf course
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Strathspey Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't stay there"
Read review
"room 4114, a first floor suite, had two bedrooms, lounge area and a view of the Cairngorms"
Read review
"Some of the larger refurbished rooms could be ok, but the food???"
Read review
"Best views, front and rear"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing