We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on a work conference and was shocked at the state of disrepair of the whole hotel. Ripped and worn carpets, damaged divans and mattresses and many of the rooms smelt musty - I kept my window open most of the time just to try and get rid of this. If I had booked this hotel, I would have home... More 

Helpful?
Thank BronwenD77
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

They say a picture speaks a thousand words and as there were so many things you need to know before stepping foot in the hovel I thought I'd post pictures so you get a feel for what you'd be paying for. It's claim of being 3 stars is a joke, I've slept in better and much cheaper youth hostels and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lady_Trumpington

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

I'm here on a work conference, was looking forward to a fun week, but turns out this building is the only one on the site not refurbished yet. Apparently the others are lovely but this one is a bit smelly, really dreary and with very threadbare carpets and furnishings. I don't want to be here, it's work, and a friend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carogooch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here and couldn't complain about anything. Was very relaxing and a nice area to be in. Went to the spa at the highland hotel and had my meal there both nights at the Scottish steakhouse.. Amazing food. Friendly staff.. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank ZanderAce
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager More 

Falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Booked this for our stay in late august last year. We were told that £5m was being spent on upgrades. The carpets in the room were threadbare and an extra bed had been shoehorned in front of the window which we had to climb over to open and close the carpets. The bathroom had cracked tiles and mould. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex Adams A
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

We stayed here as part of a group tour. We liked this place but we only stayed one night after arriving late and leaving early. The rooms are nice, if a bit tight on space but the best part of our stay was the view. Wake up looking out over the Cairgorm mountains and everything will seem much better. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank canuckshutterbug
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

This was a quaint older styled hotel, sitting high above the others on the hillside. The picture window from the dinning room, reminded me of home growing up as a child at my Scottish grandfather's home in Bristol, New Hampshire USA. There wasn't proper staffing, and I had to seek out a staff member when a new guest in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

This is the 4th of the hotels stayed in at the resort and this was a big let down. The whole place needs a face lift. Rooms are very old looking, curtains falling off hooks, dated is the word to describe the ensuite. Reception had one person on and I believe he got confused as a number of people were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
Yamba
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

I had a 2 night stop over here, it was good to be able to do some laundry and get it dry on the heater, which will not turn off,, No soap Holders, No hair conditioners, No cooling, Bed ok but not wonderful. The room is very overcrowded, poorly designed, however the Hotel is set in a beautiful area.

Helpful?
Thank auntymarl
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The most positive thing I can say is, the hotel is in a beautiful setting with lovely views. The entire hotel is in dire need of renovation. The room had peeling wallpaper & was dark & dingy. Our adapters would fit into the room outlets we had to charge our phones, tablets & camera in the reception area. That was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane100954
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range: $101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay