We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Very disapointed with this hotel, it needs a lot of work ... The curtains in my room were falling down making it impossible for me to close properly and the old fashioned to didn't have closed captions, something I always use in hotels to avoid annoying those in adjoining rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you review on Trip Advisor. The hotel has a very unique character and yes some areas do require refurbishment which we hope to carry out over the winter this year in preparation for 2017. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort. Perhaps to one of the 4 star properties. Kindest...

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Visited on a work conference and was shocked at the state of disrepair of the whole hotel. Ripped and worn carpets, damaged divans and mattresses and many of the rooms smelt musty - I kept my window open most of the time just to try and get rid of this. If I had booked this hotel, I would have home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BronwenD77
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that found the food, service and conference facilities to be of an excellent standard. I am sorry to read that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. We do currently have an extensive maintenance program in place to address issues such as the ones you...

Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

They say a picture speaks a thousand words and as there were so many things you need to know before stepping foot in the hovel I thought I'd post pictures so you get a feel for what you'd be paying for. It's claim of being 3 stars is a joke, I've slept in better and much cheaper youth hostels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Trumpington
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. The Strathspey Hotel is our 3 star hotel on Resort. While I appreciate there is some work to be carried out there is an extensive maintenance program in place. I do hope that the next time you are in the area we can welcome you back to the Resort. Kindest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

I'm here on a work conference, was looking forward to a fun week, but turns out this building is the only one on the site not refurbished yet. Apparently the others are lovely but this one is a bit smelly, really dreary and with very threadbare carpets and furnishings. I don't want to be here, it's work, and a friend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carogooch
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy any aspects of your stay with us and I am sorry to hear of your sad news. The Strathspey hotel is our 3 star hotel on Resort. We are looking at a upgrade plan for this...

Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here and couldn't complain about anything. Was very relaxing and a nice area to be in. Went to the spa at the highland hotel and had my meal there both nights at the Scottish steakhouse.. Amazing food. Friendly staff.. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZanderAce
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager

Falkirk
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Booked this for our stay in late august last year. We were told that £5m was being spent on upgrades. The carpets in the room were threadbare and an extra bed had been shoehorned in front of the window which we had to climb over to open and close the carpets. The bathroom had cracked tiles and mould. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex Adams A
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed November 9, 2015

We stayed here as part of a group tour. We liked this place but we only stayed one night after arriving late and leaving early. The rooms are nice, if a bit tight on space but the best part of our stay was the view. Wake up looking out over the Cairgorm mountains and everything will seem much better. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canuckshutterbug
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewed October 17, 2015

This was a quaint older styled hotel, sitting high above the others on the hillside. The picture window from the dinning room, reminded me of home growing up as a child at my Scottish grandfather's home in Bristol, New Hampshire USA. There wasn't proper staffing, and I had to seek out a staff member when a new guest in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

This is the 4th of the hotels stayed in at the resort and this was a big let down. The whole place needs a face lift. Rooms are very old looking, curtains falling off hooks, dated is the word to describe the ensuite. Reception had one person on and I believe he got confused as a number of people were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
Yamba
Reviewed October 7, 2015

I had a 2 night stop over here, it was good to be able to do some laundry and get it dry on the heater, which will not turn off,, No soap Holders, No hair conditioners, No cooling, Bed ok but not wonderful. The room is very overcrowded, poorly designed, however the Hotel is set in a beautiful area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auntymarl
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.7 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
2.0 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,179 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range: $97 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay in another hotel in the Aviemore Resort - it will be worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles BronwenD77, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away.”
 of 5 bubbles alexadamsa, Dec 23, 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the back side have a stunning view of the mountain landscape.”
  • Room view
  • Stunning morning
  • Morning haze
 of 5 bubbles canuckshutterbug, Nov 9, 2015 | Read review
“4th floor; thru 2 door corridors - and the view was spectacular! and quiet away from the other guests”
 of 5 bubbles debrabM9030WT, Oct 17, 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles PeterD808, Sep 2, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay