We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2016

My husband and I chose this resort for its central location in the Highlands as a timeshare exchange. We stayed in one of the single bedroom Spey apartments with our front door and bedroom window facing the golf course. It was nicely furnished with comfortable beds and couches, reasonably recent appliance updates and just about everything you might need in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail Laurilyn M
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Gail Laurilyn M Thank you for comments after your recent stay at the resort. I am delighted to read that you found the Spey apartment equipped for your needs and with a nice view of the golf course. I can only offer my apologies for the wifi issues you experienced during your stay, we work very hard with our...

London
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

A last minute booking but never again. This is really a version of Centerparcs but not as good. Very expensive given no breakfast and you have to pay for your electricity. Funny thing is that when you get to your static caravan lodge aka chalet it will be absolutely freezing requiring you to put on every available blow heater and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Morritzio
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Morritzio Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the resort. We are a self catering resort, and electricity is chargeable during your stay. This information is clearly displayed on our website and any third party booking agents that we use. Electricity is charged at a standard rate of £1.30 and 13p per unit. This information is...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2016

As an owner at this resort we normally choose a patio to stay in. But as there is just two of us now we chose a one bedroom Alvie apartment. Bad choice in cold months as very high chalet type ceilings all open plan so cost a small fortune to heat. The toilet was so small it was difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue s
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Sue S Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the resort. As you state the sauna's can be expensive to run and we like to ensure that we make guests staying in the lodges aware of this. Electricity is charged at a standard rate of £1.30 and 13p per unit. I am delighted that you found...

Cornwall England
Reviewed March 10, 2016

This could be a super property and first class experience but is let down badly by the managements inability to move with the times, no welcome pack, pay for electric, arrive after 5pm and the window frames are rotting due to condensation.The furniture is good quality, just like one of their hotels, the duvets old and too small, fluffy towels...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JandYCawson
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 27, 2016

We've been owners for along time now,always visit this time of the year,and we always have a great time.We have seen many general managers some good some not so good,all have promised to improve things but nothing really changes.Not a bad thing in the main as our properties are very good ,and are generally well cared for.But last Year I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deborah B
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Made a repeat visit here to stay in a chalet, they are excellently equipped, the beds are comfy and shower worked well. They provide essentials like washing up liquid,oven gloves,kitchen roll , bin bags and tea towels as well as fluffy towels. When we were there I noticed they were completely upgrading 3 other chalets so have a rolling programme...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taplledraw
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Taplledraw It is always wonderful to hear from guests who are return visitors to the resort. Thank you for the positive comments you have given the resort and the facilities Jims Nature Walk is certainly very popular with a lot of our guests and as you state Jim is an amazing source of all sorts of information. I am...

scotland
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Although I realise that the chalets are the lowest grade of accommodation here, it was still very disappointing to arrive in a chilly, dull, tired and only just clean enough chalet. Poor quality heating in the form of old inefficient electric heaters had to be on most of the time to keep the place warm enough, then when leaving we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScotlandEartha
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear ScotlandEatha We note your review and the comments you have made regarding the chalet. Please be advised we do operate a rolling refurbishment programme here on the resort and the chalets are due for some remedial work which will start shortly. Unfortunately due to the number of towels that were going missing we needed to introduce the towel token...

Reviewed February 15, 2016

We've just returned from a three night stay here for a skiing trip and came away with mixed feelings about the place. Our party was two families of three including an older teenager and a lad who turned 21 while we were there. I think the kindest description of the staff is 'businesslike', not overly friendly but not noticeably objectionable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moonfan
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Moonfan Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. As you state check in is 4pm and check out is 10am and electricity is chargeable during your stay. This information is clearly displayed on our website and any third party booking agents that we use. Everybody is charged for electricity...

Glasgow
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a skiing break for myself and teenage son. Having looked online this hotel looked great plus it was pet friendly. It was one of the few accommodations which asked for payment when booking which was fine. Having booked the hotel thorough late rooms I later received a email from the hotel advising that they would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alice F
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Alice F Thank you for your comments following your visit to our self-catering resort. As you state we do allow pets and there is a standard charge for this. On checking your booking in the system, which you made with a third party booking agent and not direct with ourselves. It clearly states on their website at time of...

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

My birthday weekend away was very disappointing. My partner, two friends and myself stayed at the resort last weekend. We arrived slightly early for our check in time of 4pm but decided to chance our luck anyway, the reception desk was over crowded and the staff looked bored. The woman that we spoke to was very abrupt, I'd go as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chloeallaan
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear chloeallaan Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. I was surprised to read your review as I myself was in reception when you checked in and heard my reception manager explain to you about the Good Housekeeping Bond, at no time did she use the expression 'trash the place'. I...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (150)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
532 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range: $126 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The apartments were well furnished , clean , cosy and had a well equipped kitchen !”
Clancey1, 5 days ago | Read review
“To expensive for what you get.”
Jacqueline_Hickman, Mar 27, 2017 | Read review
“Families with young children should select a ground floor apt to minimise noise for those underneath!”
981mandieg, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Go for the most modern accommodation.”
donalda810, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Chalets overlooking the golf course looked best... chalet 6”
619lisaf, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates