We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alfred

Save
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“oran mor”(11 reviews)
“byres road”(10 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
30
30
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
30
30
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoran morgreat western roadbyres roadcontinental breakfastwest endbotanic gardenstop floorlovely comfy bedgreat locationshower roomglasgow universitybusy roadlovely hotelno liftwould stay againstreet parkingwithin easy walking distance
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the single room on the first floor for just one night, and I think it's a great value for the location. I give it only a "Very Good" rating because my room was right at the top of the stairs above reception...More

Thank ttg172
Response from Suzanne H, Manager at The AlfredResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your comments! I have noted the issue of noise carrying from the reception area to your room and will look into a way that this can be managed in the future in order to reduce any inconvenience this causes. We take all...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

Pros: Location. 'The West end is the best end'. Minutes walk from cinema, botanic garden, excellent italian cafés, Waitrose (nice supermarket), Waterstones (nice bookshop), vintage clothes- and book shops and quirky lanes. Price. Staff: Friendly (if young and a tad disinterested). Cleanliness was OK. The...More

Thank Amanda H
Response from Suzanne H, Manager at The AlfredResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments. It was myself you were contacted by once I had realised you had been charged twice. As I explained on the phone because you booked and paid through a channel and not directly with the hotel this is where the...More

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

This is my second visit to the Alfred Hotel. We stayed in room 3 and can honestly say that it is a lovely big room with fabulous views looking on to the beautiful west end buildings along Great Western Road. The hotel itself has a...More

Thank you-did-ask
Response from Suzanne H, Manager at The AlfredResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. Situated in the west end of Glasgow it is a short walk to restaurants, bars and public transportation. They offer a continental breakfast in the mornings 7 to 9 One down fall is I had a fair...More

Thank Dan K
Response from Suzanne H, Manager at The AlfredResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you experienced difficulties with the Wifi and for any inconvenience this may have caused. I will look into the problems and what solutions are available to reduce the...More

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 2 days in Glasgow at the Alfred. I was traveling solo and booked a single room. It was #5 I believe. It was clean, tidy and within walking distance to everything I wanted. I missed my connecting flight from London to Glasgow due...More

Thank Daniel B
Response from Suzanne H, Manager at The AlfredResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Glasgow! We look forward to seeing you again.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Glasgow
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
$98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (12)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Baz823
January 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Suzanne H | Property representative |
No unfortunately the hotel does not have onsite parking. There is limited free parking a 5 minute walk from the hotel on Queen Margaret Drive. Alternatively there is Lilybank Car Park which offers overnight parking as well... More
0
Votes
Cindy S
January 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Suzanne H | Property representative |
Hi There, Thank you for getting in touch. Unfortunately due to the style of the booking we do not have an elevator. However yes it is possible to request a room on the first floor. When is it you were looking to book and... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The single room on the first floor has an en suite bathroom, unlike the single room on the second floor."
Read review
"Avoid single room 10 as it doesn't have on suite toilet, wash basin/sink or shower."
Read review
"higher floors likely to be quieter"
Read review
"We were on the first floor r and the room was on a corner,that is probably why we liked it so much"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing