We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Clifton Hotel

26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 198: English reviews
Condom, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I actually never stayed a full night here as it was utterly revolting and I will explain. As you enter, after pressing the entry phone, you are underwhelmed by the stale air and lingering of odour of cigarettes. The girl in reception, dressed in velour track suit, was sweet but that is all that was sweet about this repellant hostelry.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
Ocean Park, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a lovely place with welcoming, helpful staff; comfy, pretty rooms; comfortable beds if your looking for fairly firm; a very nice breakfast with lots of choice; a very good shower and easy access to taxis and buses. We recommend it highly.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy Shantia W
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for you kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.Uf you come to Glasgow again we will make your stay more pleasant Kind Regards Cathy More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Firstly, the hotel consists of 2 buildings which have been merged into one.My room was facing the main road which is mega noisy, even until 3 am on a weekday. All I can hear are drunken students and the traffic. The window is the original sash with one cord broken. So, if you want fresh air, you have got trouble... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrissy1706

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

First time in Glasgow and booked into The Clifton because of reviews, location and cost. On arrival i was surprised to see reception had a tv screen opposite with a multi camera view of the hotel communal areas. I immediately began to worry. Having booked in with the lady on reception i walked the two flights of stairs (no sign... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Wow. This place is in need of an overhaul ASAP! The front desk lady didn't even greet us with a "hello," but instead, looked up from her TV as if we were intruding on her private time. After getting our room key, we hauled out luggage up 3 flights of steep stairs. The room was TINY. It was also on... More 

Helpful?
Thank JewelEAna
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you are disappointed with the service and the accommodation at our hotel, but you had booked a Small double room which is smaller than our regular Double rooms,although the price is cheaper for this reason. We have taken notice of all the points that you have raised in your comments and are working to improve these... More 

Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

I was not expecting this at all! I booked the Clifton due to the location and the price. I wasn't overly concerned about anything else. The hotel was a really pleasant surprise. It is more of a B&B type of place rather than a hotel - don't come expecting a big-chain hotel. It's certainly not that. The room was of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrumFoodyGays
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

Stayed there two night during a trip around Scotland and was very happy with the stay. Our room was huge, clean bathrooms, the location perfect and Cathy and the owner is very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent (with good choice as well) and full scottish one. I would happily stay there again and would recommend others too.

Helpful?
Thank Priaankaa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

The true Scottish breakfast in a nice dining room,to the large guest rooms that were cleaned daily, and huge bathroom.and if you needed any travel plans made they would help you with it,also called you taxi's and suggested places to eat that We could walk to,We have no complaints,everyone was great,and Kathy was super....

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Just back from a nights stay at the Clifton we had booked three rooms no complaints from anyone Rooms were spotless ,friendly staff special thanks to Catherine for her help excellent breakfast and hotel was in a great location Only downside was no bar but there was plenty around otherwise I would recommend this hotel to anyone And would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank ulsterscouse
nijmegen
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

4 person room occupied by 3. Not enough room to hang clothes and jackets. Enough dressers. Shower is horrible, just a soft trickle of water. Hard to rinse long hair with. Breakfast is good. Not a full english nor scottisch though. Location is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank fiona v
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#76 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: $63 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay