We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kelvin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kelvin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Old British house settled close to the Botanic gardens and the fantastic University of Glasgow. Good Subway connections. Breakfast is really tasteful and great. People are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very big and comfortables. I would repeat, no doubt.

Thank Gorka Y
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Stayed at full occupancy and there was no noise pollution. I was worried about the communal bathrooms but they where absolutely spotless. Breakfast was great, good selection.

Thank Emily C
Sisteron, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, warm and comfortable - obliging staff - very nice breakfast: early breakfast provided on departure :) :) ideal location for Glasgow's West End. Excellent value, we will certainly come back. Thank you again!

Thank 547mitchf
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This was a good location for us in the West End and the hotel is fine and functional. It is absolutely nothing special. The decor is a bit tired, our room was okay if a bit stuffy. Bathroom tiny and had a really noisy fan. Had requested non-dairy milk for breakfast when booking but on the morning and told none... More 

Thank JanieOH
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Myself and my partner stayed in the Kelvin Hotel recently. Neither of us knew Glasgow very well but we were lucky to choose this hotel and location. It is right beside the Botanic Gardens, near to the kelvin Gallery and Museum and in an area with a wide variety of nice coffee shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel was very warm... More 

Thank Niamh S
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

A tidy basic room that suited what I needed. Both the toilet and bathroom were clean. The hotel is located next to a busy road, so if you may want to pack ear plugs if you're a light sleeper Breakfast was good. A full breakfast was available, as well as tea, coffee/tea, juice, cereal etc. Location was close to the... More 

Thank AlisterNZ
Arun R, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Being a family hotel we strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible and look forward to your next visit. Reservations More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2016

A classic building on a classy terrace in the West End of Glasgow with friendly staff. Sounds great doesn't it? Just beware of the basement rooms though - it is a tad cruddy in the lower reaches. Narrow fire doors, tired fittings and small rooms. Upstairs seems fine and the dining room has dazzling plasterwork,thick carpets and large windows. There's... More 

1 Thank Alan S
Arun R, Guest Relations Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We hope you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location surrounded with the botanic gardens. Surrounded with Byres Road,lovely bars and coffee shops. The West End is at the end of the street. More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2016

A friend of mine booked a small double room for me and my wife for £50. The rooms are nothing like the photos on the website. Not only the room was small which was expected but the bed was a little bigger than a single, the room was on the lower ground and smelt terrible, my wife who is pregnant... More 

1 Thank nourozen
Arun R, Public Relations Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your room and should you have made reception aware I am sure they would have re-located you as we have many categories of rooms to suit all budgets. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Such friendly staff and easy location to find. Good choice for West End Glasgow and near to the Oran Mor pub which is worth a visit. Only had one nights stay but very comfortable and felt well restted.

Thank ianhamglen
Arun R, Director of Sales at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We try to give you a reasonably priced hotel with warmth and good service. We set high standards of cleanliness and quality products More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

We were four adults staying in Glasgow for a concert. We booked a family room and for the price this was a reasonable hotel as it is not always easy to get a family room for four adults. We appeared to have a room on the top floor, a large room with two singles and a double bed along with... More 

Thank Ellon1234
Arun R, Owner at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always open to hear subjective reviews and try to improve such. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (10)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (2)
Other (6)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Amenities (10)
Family Room (64)
Dining (31)
Single Room (31)
The Hotel (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (30)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
237 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
283 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#73 of 95 in Glasgow
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
398 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
676 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Springfield Center, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do avoid the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles alansY3210KI, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“The small double rooms are below ground level, the beds are too small for 2 people.”
 of 5 bubbles nourozen, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“get a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles shinysheffs, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“I had a room at the front of the hotel and even though the GWR is so close, it was still very quiet, would love to stay here again.”
 of 5 bubbles chastity-floozie, Apr 23, 2016 | Read review
“Any queries - phone hotel direct - very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles jcaro64, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay