We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 768: English reviews
South East UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The Mercure doesn't do anything wrong per say, but doesn't really do a lot well either. Check in was easy enough, polite staff, slow systems. Room wasn't great, two single beds pushed together that were pretty uncomfortable but the room was serviceable and at the end of the day, I was on a business trip so it serves a purpose.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Blockrockinbeats
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a business trip for one night. Room was on the small side and was a double but think would be cramped for two people if they had much luggage. Hotel a short walk from the station and plenty of restaurants nearby. Check-in very efficient and smooth and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The keycards for the doors... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are a little on the small side and the hotel is getting dated, but this is doesn't really matter as the staff are superb and the food is good, the location is central and the shopping center etc is close bye. The hotel is clean and tidy but the staff make it worth the visit. Glasgow is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wooly0000
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here at the Mercure a few times over the past few years and my husband will always compare the breakfasts he gets in other Hotels to that of the Mercure he thinks it was the best breakfast he's ever had at a hotel. We would only stay here when in Glasgow because it is so familiar to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sharon S, Thanks for the great review especially the appreciation of our great breakfast, we keep it simple which I think is the key as well as refreshing the hot items regularly. Please come back and stay again very soon. Kind Regards Dan More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Great location in city center - great shopping on Buchanan St. - easy access to mass transit - 24 hour bar and food service - very nice staff Cons: No air conditioner (or temperature control) - outside street is very noisy - internet requires constant re-logging - very small room (and slightly outdated) I would consider staying here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ray W, Thanks very much for you review. Great to hear you enjoyed our location, service and staff. We don't have air-con unfortunately and due to our central location there is some noise from the local pubs & bars etc. The Wi-Fi needs to be re-logged into as when there are many users who are logged on but not... More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mercure Hotel is good for short stay purpose to discover the city of Glasgow. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is reasonable. The rooms are a bit small but clean and well kept. Location is very central and perfect. Everything is in walking distance.

Helpful?
1 Thank pauljH1293JS
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi pauljH1293JS, Thanks for the great review and fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in the early morning expecting we would have to leave our luggage in storage, however being an ACCOR member the front desk lady gave us an immediate check-in without us asking. We were off to a good start. Our room, 309 was a classic room with twin beds shoved together on 3rd floor, room, small likely due to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBoys
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi CanadianBoys, Thanks for the review and I think you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms so don't worry you didn't receive an inferior room. Great to hear you enjoyed the location for your trip to Glasgow. Kind Regards Dan More 

Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for walking to Buchanan St or St George Sq. Service was very friendly and helpful, the hotel does show its age in some places mainly around the bathroom fixtures and windows but other than that very comfortable modern rooms. Also don't expect great views because it is in the heart of the city... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kevin W, Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business - the hotel is extremely convenient in terms of location but very ordinary. The room felt small but that was due to the massive bed which was very comfy but totally dwarfed the room. You literally couldn't wheel my case by the bottom of the bed. The view from my window was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSue51
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SusieSue51, Sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with the hotel, our rooms as indicated on trip adviser are on the compact side. I'm not quite sure where the cooking smells are coming from I shall look into that. Our pricing is dependent on demand so that must have been a busy night for Glasgow. Kind Regards Dan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#82 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $82 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay