We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/14/22
ZenHotels.com
$105
View deal
Hotels.com$113
Booking.com$113
getaroom.com$135
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (224)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (29)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 101 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the famous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. A popular choice for Celtic Park (Parkhead), Hampden Park, Glasgow Green and the Scottish Event Campus (SEC, SSE Hydro & Armadillo)
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Slovak
1511Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 578
  • 609
  • 225
  • 69
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
brumies wrote a review Jan 19
Tamworth, United Kingdom112 contributions49 helpful votes
Weekend 13 to 16th Jan, 2022. Ideal city centre hotel, close to the city shopping areas, 15 mins walk from Rail Station. Dog friendly. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Room ok, clean and COVID safe, but we did clean everything ourselves, to be safe. Breakfast was basic, drinks, toast, cereals etc, hot, was only beans,scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. No fried eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash brown etc. The other little fault with hotel, was smokers standing, just outside the main entrance. Overall, when going to Glasgow again, we will look at the hotel again. Car parking very expensive in Glasgow, including at the hotel, but discounted.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Byrne, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Brumies, Thanks for sharing your review of the hotel. We're proud to be a pet-friendly hotel, we hope your furry friend enjoyed their stay too! Our breakfast buffet offers four signature hot items: scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans and bacon. We hope you enjoyed something tasty to fuel your day. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Lindsey B
Read more
Kimberly N wrote a review Jan 16
339 contributions69 helpful votes
My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and were very pleased. What a great value! Clean room, welcoming staff, good location next to the river, and a very short walk to city centre - equidistant to both of Glasgow's train stations. We were impressed with the free breakfast, too! Fresh croissants, good yoghurt, fruit, eggs, etc. - and a coffee machine for decent lattes and cappuccinos! We would most definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Kimberly, we can’t thank you enough for the kind review! Feedback like yours is valued by every team member here. We're glad the Express Start breakfast was a highlight of your stay. What's better than a bacon bap and coffee in the morning? We appreciate your kind words about our team. We'll let them know how satisfied you were with their service. We're glad our location was convenient for exploring. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. All the best, Izaskun
Read more
ax11111111 wrote a review Jan 2
United Kingdom206 contributions74 helpful votes
You can rely on good cleaning and a good bed. This was no exception. Situated so a very limited no of rooms have a river view so riverside a bit misleading, it’s on a street round the corner from the river most rooms will have traffic passing by not the river! Most staff friendly but bar manager refused us drinks when trying to order just before the curfew.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynsey Crawford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Ax, It is lovely to hear that you found our hotel to be clean with a good bed. Our location in the city centre at the side of the river is one of the attractions for our guests as it allows a variety of amenities on our doorstep, we are sorry you were disappointed that we were unable to provide you with a river view. Thanks, Lynsey
Read more
Matha Ó wrote a review Jan 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom16 contributions28 helpful votes
Check in was easy and straightforward. First issue was that only 1 lift was in operation. No notice re why or not of apology. Due to COVID, this produced obvious difficulties as people did not want to cram into one lift. The lift was not operational for the duration of our stay. Room was well maintained and spotless clean. Was astonished to find a half used toilet roll in the holder for our use. Although there was one (and only one) full roll nearby, hotel staff leaving a half used one for our use is neither hygienic nor acceptable. Breakfast was absolute chaos. Very busy with no chance of social distancing- shoulder to shoulder with other guests in various queues. Absolutely no staff direction in the dining area. What staff were working looked very much overwhelmed. Food was running out very quickly and not being replaced quickly. Variety of food on offer was very limited and the quality quite poor. Food - ‘cooked breakfast’was Luke warm. Will opt to eat elsewhere if I ever return to this hotel, however, there are several other options nearby. All in all the hotel is well situated (as are others nearby) and staff were polite although clearly overworked in the breakfast area. We were asked if everything was ok when we booked out but decided not the burden desk staff. To management- sort out the issues which I have raised - at least two of these issues would have been obviously known to you, the lift and the breakfast chaos.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynsey Crawford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Matha Ó, Many thanks for your feedback, whilst we are delighted to hear that you found our bedroom to be well maintained and spotless, we are sorry you were disappointed in our inclusive breakfast experience. We offer an inclusive breakfast to all of our guests and do advise peak breakfast times to all upon check in, our team endeavour to replenish all food during peak times as quickly as possible and we do appreciate our guests who choose to dine at peak times having with us whilst we do this. Thanks, Lynsey
Read more
copey43 wrote a review Dec 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom17 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed overnight last night and can’t fault this hotel, especially for what we paid, the room was large and clean, the hotel is in an excellent location for pubs/restaurants and the buffet breakfast was really nice, we also took the special deal on car parking which was across the road from the hotel, the staff were also nice and polite, I will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lynsey Crawford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Robert C Great to hear that you couldn't fault your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you when you return. Thanks, Lynsey
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express glasgow city centre riverside hotel glasgow, holiday inn glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Merchant City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre (0.2 miles), St Andrew's Cathedral Glasgow (0.10 miles), and Glasgow Green (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madras Cafe, Cup Merchant City, and Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity.
Is Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.9 miles), House for an Art Lover (2.5 miles), and The Tenement House (1.1 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Glasgow - City Ctr Riverside, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.