We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Save
Share
36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$140
$96
View Deal
SAVE $44
Free cancellation until 08/18/21
Snaptravel
eDreams$116
getaroom.com$140
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (618)
360
Panoramas (3)
Dining (95)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#35 of 99 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Following extensive refurbishment, the 4 star Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central has transformed all 300 bedrooms to an extremely high standard. The hotel features on-site parking (chargeable), Juvenate leisure club complete with 14m swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. We have our stylish 'Cask' bar or signature 'Brisket' restaurant. The hotel is well located with Cowcaddens subway station less than 5 minutes' walk. We are situated 10 minutes' walk from Glasgow Central and Queen street mainline train stations and 5 minutes' from Buchanan street bus station. We are within a short walk to the main shopping district and in the heart of Glasgow's Theatre land. We are also a short distance by taxi to the SEC including the Hydro and Glasgow Science Centre.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
1,592Reviews124Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 821
  • 492
  • 158
  • 63
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mojones3000 wrote a review Jan 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom183 contributions63 helpful votes
I stayed here for 3 nights for work. The hotel is centrally located which was great for my work in the area. The staff are friendly and polite, check in was nice and easy. All COVID precautions are in place. My room was a good size and very clean. There is under ground parking at £10 a night. I’ll be staying here again when next in the area for work.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Rice, Other at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Mojones3000, Thank you for taking the team to review the hotel following your recent stay and for your excellent feedback. I am pleased the location worked well and found the hotel clean and the team helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Gary
Read more
terri w wrote a review Nov 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom60 contributions41 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed in a spacious family room. I liked the modern decor and bathroom. The room has a coffee table and chairs as well as a desk so it was perfect for chilling out. The staff were very helpful too and gave us plates and cutlery when we ordered takeaway.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Rice, Other at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Responded Nov 21, 2020
Hello tmw1990, Thank you for your excellent review and feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found the staff to also be helpful. Kind Regards Gary
Read more
Pauline wrote a review Jan 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stayed here last week for work. The hotel is very modern with nice big rooms and one of the most comfortable beds I have every slept in! It was appreciated to have a hot breakfast in the morning( something which a lot of hotels just now don’t seem to be doing) served by a very chatty and friendly waiter. Overall I found this hotel to be clean, safe and well managed with all the staff I came into contact with being very professional and friendly. There is an under ground car park at the hotel which is £10 for 24 hours stay and was easy to get in and out of. I would stay here again when I’m next in Glasgow and hope that once they are allowed to open the pool, to use this too! Well done DoubleTree Glasgow
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Munro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Responded Jan 19, 2021
Hi Travellingnurse42, Many thanks for writing such a lovely review. It was a pleasure for us to look after you during the current circumstances and I'm glad the bed made your day a little easier! We look forward to you staying with us again soon. Regards, Craig
Read more
Hamad Ali wrote a review Dec 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2 contributions
We arrived in Glasgow on 9th Dec for 3 says before heading to London. When we arrived at the hotel, the reception desk manager asked me to state my reason of visit, i said im here on a family trip for 3 days and im heading to London. He said he will not be checking me and my family in the room because i arrived in a pandemic and thats breaches gov guidelines. Even though the room is already paid for and i received no notification whatsoever that i will not be allowed to check in. When i told him i already paid and my family is tired and we just want our room, he refused again and asked me to go elsewhere. I told him should we sleep on the street? Why were we allowed to travel to Glasgow if we’ll be refused to checkin? He “its not my problem and i doesnt care if you dont watch the news”. I had to keep pushing and we refused to leave (because we had no other choice) until he finally agreed to give us a room for one night on the condition that we leave the next morning. I have no issues with the fact that those are government regulations, but i do have a strong issue with the fact that he was EXTREMELY DISRESPECTFUL, bluntly said he doesnt give a damn about us being paying guests. I never had to beg for a room i paid for in my life. If i was going to be refused to checkin then why were we allowed to enter the country to begin with? And why did the hotel not notify us that they may allow us to checkin and will throw us in the streets? Safe to say im never going back to thay country and will for sure never stay in a Hilton property again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Munro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Responded Dec 27, 2020
Dear hamadalmajidi, I'm sorry that you were not aware of the Tier 4 restrictions that are currently imposed on Scotland by the Government, in which we are not permitted to accept any leisure stays and thus you should not have been staying at a hotel in Glasgow. We do advertise that the Country has restrictions on stays on all websites which I am sorry that you have not seen when booking. Please do reach out to me on 0141 332 3311 or by email on craig.munro@dtglasgowcentral.com however. Kindest Regards, Craig
Read more
Sharon 😉 wrote a review Dec 2020
Jamestown, United Kingdom109 contributions46 helpful votes
Myself and husband stayed here for a relaxing night before Christmas, due to all restrictions we stayed in the hotel for food. The hotel is gorgeous so we were looking forward to it. I had Nachos which were nachos and some cheese with a small bit of salsa, my husband had soup which was put down in a small basic bowl with no bread or plate, the presentation was 0% I had macaroni and chips for my main which was very poor also, hubbie had fish and chips which was very basic aswell. I know it is limited services and staff but if you cannot provide a dinning service please do not advertise it. We could not fault the staff in this hotel as they were very polite and welcoming and the room was spotless, but the food served to us was very very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Munro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Responded Dec 27, 2020
Dear Sharon N, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay but have noted your comments regarding your dinning experience, for which, once we are permitted to fully reopen, I do hope that you will return to the hotel to enjoy an improved meal as clearly your experience is not our usual standard. Kindest Regards Craig
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thistle glasgow hotel glasgow, glasgow thistle hotel, thistle hotel glasgow, glasgow hotel thistle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Thistle Glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Cowcaddens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Which popular attractions are close to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Nearby attractions include The Room - Riddle Rooms (0.2 miles), The Glasgow School of Art (0.2 miles), and Gin71 Glasgow (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mini Grill Glasgow Steakhouse, Cup Tea Rooms, and Dakota Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.