We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Acorn Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Acorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the acorn hotel as was attending a wedding in Glasgow. This hotel is perfect in a good location the hotel and room was spotless and decorated nice. I'm not sure of the name of the man who was running the hotel during our stay but he was great very friendly welcoming and helpful. Great customer service. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey B
robertmcq, General Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your amazing comments. Hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best Wishes Robert More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

When you've never been to a hotel before, you don't always know what to expect. Have no fear in booking this one. A lovely place with pleasant staff and a lovely low key relaxed feel to it. The reception was great and lovely well serviced ensuite room was perfect . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thanks to staff and management we... More 

Helpful?
Thank William G
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. Hope it will not be too long before you stay with us again Best Regards Robert More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a well run b&b with very nice helpful staff. There's several shops nearby and also restaurants and cafes (the hotel has no restaurant it just does a very good cooked breakfast. If you think the area will suit your plans then definitely give it a chance. Btw I left my iPad in the room and they called me... More 

Helpful?
Thank BumpkinWiltshire
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your great comments after your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our excellent location and have passed your comments onto all of our staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was small. Owner was very accommodating. My wife was sick when we arrived and he got us whatever we needed. We very much enjoyed our stay and we're grateful for everything that was done to help us.

Helpful?
Thank Rett T
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy we were able to assist and make your stay more comfortable although your wife was ill. Hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best Regards Robert More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Acorn Hotel in January 2016 as we were in Glasgow to watch a show at the SECC. It was easy enough to walk there - maybe about 15 minutes away. The hotel was well located to reach the shops and restaurants in Glasgow. The room was a good base for us to explore the city from... More 

Helpful?
Thank xlilithx
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. Hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best Regards Robert More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is ideally located between the west end (and close to "up and coming" Finniston) and city centre, is comfortable and peaceful and does a fantastic breakfast. I've stayed 4 times now. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank PeterJoseph
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Acorn hotel and we have passed on your great comments to all of the team. Hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location near Glasgow Uni, restaurants, shopping, clubs etc. very friendly and helpful staff; clean, fresh rooms and bathrooms. Reasonable prices - great value for your money. Only drawback is that there is no elevator so if stairs are a problem, as for a room on the bottom floor. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank pixtracy
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you kind comments about your recent stay at the Acorn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you plan to come back, please don't hesitate to request a specific room or floor as we always try our best to accommodate & fulfil any requests to make your stay with us more comfortable. Kind Reagrds... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

This is a thoroughly upgraded, modernized hotel, but only rates 3 star because: the single room is so small, there's no room to open a suitcase or store things; the single bed is a cheap wooden box frame with a hard mattress, resulting in creaks; the walls are so thin you can hear the conversations next door; the quilt /... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanaquerida
robertmcq, Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including our excellent location. All of our single rooms have bedside cabinets, full length wardrobes and dressing tables with drawers. Our 3 star rating is awarded by Visit Scotland who have strict... More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

Saved myself a fair bit of cash staying here & I felt I had the the upper hand regarding the location. The area was quiet compared with deeper in to the city as was to be expected, yet the hotel was not too far away for a nice walk into the city. I stayed one night & my motorbike was... More 

Helpful?
Thank justletmesignin
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have passed on your lovely comments to Roz. Thank you and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Looking for a comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel with friendly staff? The Acorn Hotel will not disappoint you. If you are looking for 5-star luxury then this is not for you but the Acorn has much to commend it. The shower, toilet and wash basin are of modern design. I was impressed by the roomy walk-in shower rather than being compressed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham D
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Many thanks for all your kind comments about the Acorn. We pride ourselves on making our guests comfortable during their stay. We are Glad you chose the Acorn for a base whilst in Glasgow and enjoyed all the attractions surrounding the hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and would like to welcome you back if you return... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $67 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay