We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ardgowan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
Portlethen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night.... Lovely hotel.... Spotlessly clean..... Food amazing... Excellent service from all the staff from check in, dining at night and breakfast and barman. Will definitely be back for a longer stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved the property. A block from the 18th hole of St. Andrews and easy walking to everything in this lovely college town. We had a very nice view from our comfortable room. Carmen at the front desk was a delight.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janet c
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were very happy with our stay at the Ardgowan Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food, both breakfast and dinner was very satisfying. We thought that the dinner and drinks discount for residents is an excellent idea. The hotel is conveniently located, close to the bus station and all amenities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mmarrinan1
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place! Very comfortable, clean and a great pub! If you get a room on one of the upper floors you better be in shape! No elevators!! Close to everything! Very nice staff!! They have a very good breakfast!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juddw454
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent the Friday sat there!! Never again room so small pillows brick hard..smell from toilet.and the view was disgusting.we go to St. Andrews every couple of months thought we'd try another hotel.For the money we were so disappointed..emailed hotel we were told we should have complained the morning we left..they would have changed rooms!!!! Excuse me why put us there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroljwatts
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Carol, The morning that you checked out with us, we asked if everything was ok with your stay, to which your partner replied, "Great, thanks," so we were shocked to receive an email from you about these issues once you arrived home. At no point during your two nights with us did you mention any of these issues to... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

perfect location within walking distance of all places of interest, including the Old Course 1st tee! Not a new or modern building (obviously given its location), so rooms are small, but well kept. Staff are friendly, and the restaurant has a good ambiance and service. Very nice breakfast too! Lots of very nice bars in the area too... Scotland does... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pjvmunro
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a week here with 20 guys on a golfing trip. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Old Course at St Andrews, as well as many restaurants in the downtown area. My room was very comfortable with a view of a nice backyard, although there was no access to the yard. Breakfast was included in the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bill, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us! We enjoyed having your group here, and we're glad to see you had a great time on your golf trip! Next time you are in St Andrews, we would love to welcome you back! Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe More 

Grimsby
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit to this smashing bar and restaurant. Just as good as the first. Drinks are good in quality and range. Reasonably priced. Food is good quality and a good menu. Children and dog friendly. Just can't fault the place. Lovely terrace overlooking the street and a sun trap beer garden below street level. Brilliant place to while away a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Britt69
Hope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel's only redeeming feature is proximity to the Old Course. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. We spent six weeks in Great Britain, staying at 20 hotels and B&Bs, and this hotel was the most uncomfortable. In addition, our room was tiny and the carpet in the hallway was rather dirty. If you like old, you may like it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShortStack12
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ShortStack12, While we do appreciate all feedback, as it helps us to improve our service to guests, we are disappointed that you chose to voice your complaints anonymously on TripAdvisor instead of speaking to us during your stay. Just as you don’t like to give a poor rating, we don’t like receiving one without the opportunity to rectify any... More 

Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ardgowan is a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely look to visit St. Andrews in the future and would only stay at the Ardgowan. The location is ideal as it is within walking distance to the museums, castles, Old Course, restaurants, pubs and proshops. The restaurant attached had great food and was priced appropriately.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alspacar
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello alspacar, Thank you for leaving a great review for us! We're so glad that you enjoyed our perfect location in St Andrews - just around the corner from the Old Course and within a short walking distance of town centre. We're especially glad that you enjoyed your meals in Playfair's Restaurant! We're lucky to have a fantastic restaurant right... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Classic Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Classic Standard Twin Room (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (13)
Viewed
Junior Twin Room (15)
Viewed
Pilmour Double Room (16)
Viewed
Pilmour Twin Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#6 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#5 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#8 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 2,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#9 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Price Range: $142 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay