We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$353
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$353
Travelocity$353
Preferred Hotels$423
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (809)
Room & Suite (320)
Dining (81)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Updated 02/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 18 hotels in St. Andrews
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Bicycle tours
Kids pool
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
2142Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,592
  • 315
  • 154
  • 37
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Passport03968641060 wrote a review Sep 20
4 contributions
Where else to stay in St Andrews than in a room over looking the Old Course? There is little to fault about the hotel. Great, spacious, well appointed room. Excellent breakfast and all the associated things you need in a 5 star hotel. Topped off with an amazing whisky selection in the Road Hole bar overlooking the course. It’s not cheap, but it’s worth it, and they were super accommodating and understanding when we needed to change our reservation from May to September at very short notice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Passport03968641060, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the resort. I will pass on your comments to the wider team and we hope that you return to the resort again soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ret48 wrote a review Sep 3
Colorado Springs, Colorado155 contributions117 helpful votes
View from the room was right down #17 to the green. Perfect! Would be nice if the duvet kept you covered for the night -- too small, but very European. Breakfast on the 4th floor at the Road Hole Restaurant was wonderful, again with great views. Very nice place to stay in a historic site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ret48, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your stay at the Old Course Hotel. I am pleased our team managed to make your stay so special. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark wrote a review Sep 2
Chappaqua, New York4 contributions
The hotel was right on the golf course. Even though we are not golfers, but bikers, it nevertheless had charm and the rooms and breakfast were excellent. Only downside was the distance to reception from our room and that there was no way to get to the room from a separate entrance closer to our room. It was fun to walk the golf course on Sunday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to book closer to reception.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vacation06484529820, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I hope that you had a lovely relaxing time with us. I will make sure to pass your comments on to our relevant team and management. We hope to see you at the resort again soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matt31 wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York114 contributions221 helpful votes
Enjoyed a few days with my wife in August. Hotel is good but really in parts very tired Our bathroom and curtains and finishes were very threadbare indeed curtains were falling of the rail and the bathroom fitting looked like recently bought from Homebase! Really amazing bearing in mind owned by an American bathroom billionaire. The spa was excellent . The food particularly at breakfast was very disappointing, the buffet was very lightweight for a deluxe 5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear matt31, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I hope that you had a lovely relaxing time with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that you felt that your room was not to our usual standards. I will make sure to pass your comments on to our relevant team and management. We hope to see you at the resort again soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeffff2017 wrote a review Aug 2022
89 contributions31 helpful votes
Awesome. Exceeded our expectations. Great service and professional trained people working there. Very, very nice lobby and sitting areas. Parking on site was simple. Room was great and very clean, just like the American Club in Kohler. Why in the world are the hairdryers kept in the desk? No GFI's ??Oh well, clan and modern and you can tell they dropped a lot of money on renovations to the hotel. Great location and a simple 5 minute walk and your in downtown. Price is great compared to another just down the road. Glad we stayed here. Restaurant was great and lots of people from other fancy hotels ate here. Had a view of the parking lot and requested a view of the old course...oh well. Spa was great for the wife. Will stay here again for sure. What is not to like. Great SERVICE and rooms and restaurants and Jigger Inn, and friendly and great location = very happy experience for the two of us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms facing the Old Course are the way to go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jeffff2017, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. I am thrilled your experience with us was of the highest standard. I will certainly share your feedback with the wider team, who will be hugely encouraged by your experience and we do hope you continue to enjoy resort for many years to come. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary T wrote a review Jul 2022
California123 contributions72 helpful votes
The hotel itself is a lovely, old hotel. We had no complaints about our room, other than our room was a mile to the main area! ***ASK ABOUT THAT AT CHECK IN!!! I walk with a cane & my husband is older & we were given a room the furthest from the lobby you could get. Should we have asked to change? In hindsight, yes. Maybe a good front desk staff should have noticed? The 'young' girl at the front desk couldn't crack a smile & couldn't answer even basic questions about St. Andrew's, so no surprise there was little attention to customer service. The men at the front door were extremely friendly & helpful with dining reservations, etc. throughout our stay, so kudos to them. Our big issue with the hotel happened on the weekend while we were there. There seemed to be a huge wedding which took over a lot of the hotel. The day before we had tried to have an afternoon sandwich in the bar & were told they had just stopped serving. So we decided to just have a drink. My husband ordered a basic scotch on the rocks & was told they did not have a full pour of it. Really? The young server was very apologetic & said he would have some again the next day & to please stop back. So we did stop back the next day only to be told we weren't allowed in the bar because of the wedding. We were then sent to the Swilcan Loft, but upon arrival we were told we could not eat or drink in there either because of the time. They suggested the Jigger Inn. (we had already eaten there once & it has a very limited pub menu) So that left us with zero places within the hotel to just grab a bite. A weekend wedding is to be expected, but when your hotel guests cannot find a decent place to eat or drink, that isn't right. Guests should have been told parts of the hotel would be unavailable that day. We could have made advance reservations elsewhere. Is this a five start hotel? Not really. They have you because it is "the place to stay" while golfing there. Unfortunately the level of service does not match the price tag.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mary T, Firstly I would like to thank you for your honest feedback from your perspective regarding your most recent stay. It is only with reviews like yours we can understand and appreciate areas of growth, we are constantly evolving and retraining to meet the expectations of your guests and to provide each and every guest with the levels of 5* hospitality the Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa are known for. During the pandemic our planned expansion of the resort carried on as planned, this included add our new dining outlet, The Swilcan Loft, as you mentioned and over 30 brand new bedrooms, it does sound from your description of walking a mile that you had indeed booked one of these fabulous new rooms. I hope you enjoyed the marvellous views of the Old Course and the North Sea. Our Road Hole Bar food offerings close at 1600 in order for the team to focus and set for our busy dinner service. the Swilcan Loft also closes in between lunch and dinner services between 1600-1730 for the same reason. However we do always provide an alternative in the our Library for a quite tipple or two or a relaxed bite to eat, this location can be enjoyed 24 hours a da, I do apologise if this was not fully explained to you during your stay. Once again I would like to express my gratitude for your comments and I will be sure to pass them on to our Management. We do hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JB10358 wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions3 helpful votes
We looked at several options for our stay in St. Andrews, decided on the Old Course Hotel and glad we did. The experience was better than expected, first class hotel with a professional staff. We used several of the restaurants on the property and all had good food and service. We would definitely return to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear JB10358, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that our services made such a positive impression and that you had a memorable experience. We take pride in taking care of our guests and are very pleased that your expectations were highly met. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristineM191250 wrote a review Jun 2022
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom148 contributions79 helpful votes
So disappointing. Had been really looking forward to this gift however it was pretty dire for a 5 star resort. Sandwiches were hard, scones just ok and the selection of cakes was poor and all very sweet and sickly. They did no have the tea I requested off the menu. Staff were lovely although possibly short handed. When we entered the hotel no one greeted us however when the 'Big Americans' entered the concierge was all over them like a rash. Clear where their clientele come from and who they cater for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear ChristineM191250, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea experience and that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, If you would like to discuss this further then can I please ask that you contact our Food & Beveridge Manager, Nik on Nikolay.Nenov@oldcoursehotel.co.uk. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scottish Travellers wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Average is the best way to describe the Old Couse - but with exorbitant prices. The room was fine but nothing special - not even any water which we had to ask for. The concierge didn't even say hello to us on arrival. You even have to pay extra for the movies. The spa - which is nice but nothing special - is also an extra cost. I think they rely on American tour groups seduced by the "home of golf" thing. This is not a 5 star experience when measured against any other similarly priced hotels we have stayed in. There are lots of less expensive hotels in Scotland which offer nice touches - a bottle of champagne in the room or something similar - but just nothing special about the Old Course or the service at all. Its 4 star Holiday Inn at a maximum - but with a Savoy price tag it can't justify.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Etape22, Firstly I would like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding your most recent stay. it is only with honest reviews like yours we can understand and appreciate areas of growth, we are constantly evolving and retraining to meet the expectations of your guests and to provide each and every guest with the levels of 5* hospitality the Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa are known for. Once again I would like to express my gratitude for your comments and I will be sure to pass them on to our Management Teams. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manage
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrycja wrote a review Jun 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1684 contributions319 helpful votes
+1
We visited Old Course Hotel for Easter weekend. We arrived by train into Leuchars and took a taxi to the hotel (15mins drive/£15). We arrived early and our room was not ready so we decided to venture into the town and enjoy good weather before checking in. When we came back, the check-in was quick and we were promptly taking to our room. The room was very traditional Scottish, with a lot of lovely touches. Bed was huge and very comfortable. I had spa booked straight after, so I headed to the famous Koehler Spa for facial and massage. The spa area was very busy but comfortable; coffee, water and fruit were served in the waiting lounge. Despite choosing Kohler’s signature package, the treatment itself was so so, I expected more. There was no music played as the equipment was broken so I ended up playing music from my YouTube (not great). In the evening, we had a booking at the Road Hole. It was very quiet that night and we have most of the room to ourselves. The views of the golf course were spectacular and it made for a wonderful evening to be looking across to the Bay of St Andrews. Food was very good, we had scallops for starter, fish and steak for main, followed by cheese platter. We also had lovely wines to go with our food. Breakfast was served in the same room, and once again, views made for a wonderful start to the day. It was an a la carte service combined with a small buffet (made to order eggs or pancakes plus cooked items, fruit and veg at the buffet). Overall we had a wonderful stay and will be back. The service could be better and more friendly and spa was a bit of a disappointment but it still made for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Ewan, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear patrycja212, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent experience at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$349 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old course hotel, golf hotel st. andrews, old course hotel, golf resort and spa, old course resort
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt. Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Kartel Scotland (0.7 miles), The Swilcan Bridge (0.2 miles), and St Andrews Links (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Seafood Ristorante, Haar Restaurant, and The Keys Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of St. Andrews.
Are any cleaning services offered at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.