We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
$681
$649
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Preferred Hotels$681
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (723)
Room & Suite (286)
Dining (77)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 18 hotels in St. Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Bicycle tours
Kids pool
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
2087Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,561
  • 305
  • 149
  • 32
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mrs_C_K_10 wrote a review Today
Glasgow, United Kingdom24 contributions55 helpful votes
Highly recommend this hotel to couples and families. Great central location for sightseeing in st Andrew’s and right in the beach. Lovely swimming pool and easy to book swim times, spacious and well appointed changing rooms. Views from the beach facing suite were stunning and always changing. Suite was perfect for a family very spacious, beautifully decorated and clearly brand new , immaculately clean. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was one of the best I’ve seen in a hotel , power shower with multiple jets was excellent and just what’s needed after a day at the beach or a long journey. Staff really set this hotel apart from others, concierge, valets , reception, housekeeping are all doing a wonderful job and the staff at the road house bar and restaurant went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Desserts at the road house restaurant were exquisite- shout out to the pastry chef! Breakfast in the suite was enjoyed by all! Great quality produce perfectly cooked and presented. Checkout time was generous at 12pm. The only minor gripe was that the spa team manager refused to lend me polish , or help me in anyway fix a small chip on one of my nails. This is despite them stocking the same brand and colour that I was wearing. I wasn’t expecting a freebie and would have tipped or paid a small charge. I was just hoping someone understanding the issue, could either do a one nail manicure or let me borrow some polish to do what would have been a 3min touch up job. This type of minor request , is normally accommodated in hotel salons and I was surprised when they said there was nothing they could do unless I booked a full manicure. Health and safety is a poor excuse here, as many other places are only to happy to help. Here I feel they were just unwilling. Was a blip in an otherwise perfect experience. We were also unable to book spa treatments- would suggest people do this well in advance as spa seems to get busy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Rezzy wrote a review Jul 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom22 contributions48 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a great location, it feels very grand when you walk in! Staff were all very welcoming and friendly, we did say it was my partners birthday but no one mentioned it or made a fuss (which was a bit disappointing considering we spend £440 on a room!). Lots of dining options and sitting rooms, all super clean. The breakfast was lovely, nothing was too much trouble and the little pots of jam and honey were delicious! It did feel luxury. The spa was good, laundered towels, slippers and dressing gowns to use on each trip. I think it’s over priced. My partner enjoyed the golf course views and was very excited about the history of the hotel, however for me, it was a nice hotel just very over priced. Probably would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Old Course Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear rezzyforone, Thank you for your honest review and recommendation from your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear that your partner was able to enjoy the spectacular views we are lucky enough to have here in St Andrews. I do sincerely apologise that on this occasion you felt we had not acknowledged the special occasion for your stay at the resort. I am however delighted to read the many areas of the hotel that you had enjoyed during your stay. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcoming you back very soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
257 wrote a review Jul 2021
Scotland, United Kingdom290 contributions92 helpful votes
We came down for my birthday afternoon tea. I had emailed a few weeks prior to enquire about if it was possible not to have any fish. It was no problem. We booked for 2pm, champagne came a few minutes later. Our food took almost an hour and a half to arrive however. The two waiters kept us updated and gave us our next round of drinks free for the inconvenience. When it did arrive it was all delicious (although an extra side plate/ knife for the sweet items would be great). I also received a wee plate with Happy Birthday and some tablet, nice touch. Lovely place, great food & friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Old Course Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear W250718, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your visit at the Old Course Hotel. I am pleased our team managed to make your afternoon so special for your birthday. thank you for your honest feedback, I do sincerely apologise for your wait however I am delighted to hear your enjoyment with our offerings. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
Scott M wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Super stay at this iconic hotel, with one minor exception. Summary: - Kindly upgraded to Old Course Suite on 2nd Floor facing onto the 17th Fairway - Professional and guest-focussed front-desk and concierge team. Focussed on what is best for guests rather than house-rules - World-class spa centre; must visit - Superb in-room dining - Food and drink good value for 5* hotel - Access to Old Course, particularly the ability to roam the course freely on a Sunday is a once-in-a-lifetime experience - Fabulous comfortable bed with almost guaranteed sleep One area for improvement is the breakfast service in the 4th Floor restaurant. Summary: - Waited 5m to be seated, with 5 members of staff hurriedly averting their gaze when passing us - Took 15m for tea/coffee to come to table - Of the 4 tables adjacent to us, 3 of them had been waiting 20-30m for simple breakfast items - At one point 3 guests had their hands raised, almost like a school-room - the staff still ignored them! - Food was good when it came but the service smacked of a junior team of ill-trained and poorly supervised staff - There were >10 staff for <25 tables. I would expect a 5* hotel to have a seasoned floor supervisor able to identify and manage the rising frustration cased by poor service That one breakfast experience aside though we would 100% recommend the Old Course Hotel and Spa - thanks team.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High Floor, Facing 17th Hole
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Old Course Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear S4128XTscottm, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the resort including the Spa. thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. I am deeply sorry to hear that our breakfast service was not to our usual standards, I will be sure to follow this up with our F&B team to rectify the issues raised. I will pass on your complimentary comments to the wider team and we hope that you return to the resort again soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
Kelzabelle wrote a review Jul 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom183 contributions61 helpful votes
Me and my partner came here for a meal on a Thursday night. Food wise the meal was great. The steaks were cooked fantastically, chips were spot on and the desserts were great too, very pleasing so well done chefs. Our meal took a considerable about of time though. We sat down at 7:30 and by the time everything was sorted and orders taken we didn’t get our main until 8:45, I think they had some new members of staff as they seemed to be struggling a bit on that front and our waiter seemed a little scattered. (Another waitress came to help him) Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the view was lovely during the meal so we would still come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Old Course Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear kelzabelle251, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely meal in our Road Hole Restaurant and enjoyed the views overlooking the Old Course and the North Sea. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to your F&B management. Thank you once again for choosing to dine with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Sincerely, Jack - Front of House Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old course hotel, golf hotel st. andrews, old course hotel, golf resort and spa, old course resort
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt. Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Kartel Scotland (0.7 miles), St Andrews Links (0.3 miles), and The Swilcan Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haar Restaurant, The Keys Bar, and The Seafood Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of St. Andrews.
Are any cleaning services offered at Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.