We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rufflets Hotel

TripAdvisor$184*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$248*
$184*
Great Deal
$248*
$248*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,091: English reviews
Start your review of Rufflets Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rufflets is beautiful and serene . The moment you arrive you are greeted warmly and treated royally . The grounds and public rooms are just beautiful with the quiet understated elegance. The restaurant says refinement and quality and the food matches the appearance. Rooms were spacious , well appointed and spotless. The staff was very attentive and went out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Rufflets is a beautiful Country House Hotel, just a mile and a half from St Andrews. We had a really lovely room which was more like a suite really - the room decor was very nice, with two comfortable armchairs and the king size bed particularly comfortable. The en suite bathroom was very spacious and cosy with Molton Brown toiletries....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen H
About Hotel's Favorite Review
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen As always we are very much reassured to read when our guests have had such a great time with us at Rufflets. I suppose that at the end of the day, the great experiences that we see being described on this site is really what is expected of hotels in this day and age. We do work hard...

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was excellent with all the facilities you need, lovely decor and the en suite was first class. The staff were excellent, efficient, friendly and very helpful. The food was first class as was the service. The hotel and grounds were magnificent and was s. et in a lovely peaceful location. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigRonGlasgow
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BigRon Really pleased to see how much you enjoyed the short stay with us at Rufflets. The whole team do work hard to ensure that the hotel is very well presented, and that the levels of comfort, service and cuisine are very high. Many thanks for the recommendation - and perhaps the next time you are heading our way...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our two-night stay here was recommended by friends who are avid golfers. But you don't have to golf to love this hotel. It is quiet and luxurious. The staff is very helpful. It's not walking distance to the town, but cab rides are about 5-6 pounds each way -- and you can have that second glass of wine with dinner!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I spent a night here en route to Aberdeen. A very comfortable room and very large, well-appointed en suite. Beds a little on the soft side for us. Enjoyed a stroll in the beautiful gardens. Excellent meal in the restaurant. My partner couldn't choose between the starters so chose three of them! I had the pigeon starter,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 12jude07
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to read that the stay was such a good one - and especially the food. As always we do appreciate the feedback - we do listen to the comments as they are very useful in making sure that we are getting things right. With my best wishes, Stephen Owen General Manager

Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very nice room great breakfast lovely gardens, handy for the city centre a couple of miles away, would recommend this country house type of hotel just outside the hassle and bustle of St Andrews. Would stay there again no worries

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith Many thanks for leaving the feedback - glad to see that you had a good stay with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Stephen Owen General Manager

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A short holiday in St Andrews visiting our student daughter. We didnt know what to expect having been disappointed in the past with good reviews on TripAdvisor. We need not have worried - Ruffletts is a gorgeous country hotel with amazingly well tended gardens. We stayed in Room 24. Very tasteful decor and the shortbread and fresh milk was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pantlings
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear that the previous reviews did represent the hotel properly - the reviews are all done by people who have used the hotel, and we don't try to 'cheat' the system. Glad that you had such a good stay with us - we do see many parents here who are visiting students at Uni, and it is a...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We stayed a couple of nights to celebrate our anniversary as has become our norm. Once again everything was excellent. The service and the food was superb as usual. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin14750
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin Many thanks for the great feedback - it is reassuring to see that we have yet again provided a very good stay for you and your wife at Rufflets. and we are also looking forward to seeing you for the next trip to St Andrews.... With my best wishes, Stephen Owen General Manager

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Just back from a lovely overnight at the recently refurbished Rufflets near St Andrews. I've often promised myself a stay at this "country house" venue and am now delighted to have done so. The room was lovely , recently decorated to a very high standard , all facilities including a very well appointed en suite with huge bath a mega...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray W
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Murray Delighted to read that you have managed to find time to make a trip to come and stay with us at Rufflets, and that the anticipation and expectations were met. It is a wonderfully calm and tranquil spot - a great chance to be able to escape the stresses of general life, and we hope that you will...

scotland
Reviewed April 17, 2017

I've eaten lunch here many times with friends and family and never had any issues. This time we stayed the night. There is an air of fear from the staff that makes them mechanical in their actions, not a personality amongst them. Perhaps being a family run hotel the management are strict on any employee who may challenge their way....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimmy_stokes
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimmy_stokes Many thanks for the (slightly odd) feedback - as always we do read and listen to all comments, and often reply, as you can see from other reviews. So you clearly don't like the decor in the hotel - some do and some don't - and whilst we do try, we cannot please everyone. Although I don't undertand...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

487 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (302)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (20)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,012 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
658 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Price Range: $202 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HRS so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rufflets Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Livonia, Michigan
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rufflets Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“"Top floor rooms have best views but no elevator"”
G3763ACmichaeld, 2 days ago | Read review
“Any room which overlooks the gardens.”
Martin14750, Apr 20, 2017 | Read review
“Classic rooms are great, but clearly upgrade to suite standard worth the extra”
GerryC23, Apr 6, 2017 | Read review
“Room was large and spacious, bathrooms exceptional”
margaretPerthshire, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the beautiful grounds have the best view, the hotel enjoys the afternoon sunshine”
Cestosh, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$184* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$248
Priceline$248
Agoda.com$248
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates