We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Port Bar & Kitchen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
West Port Bar & Kitchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast very enjoyable in nice surroundings. Good location at the end of the street makes all attractions within walking distance. Only downside is that car parking is in the public car park a few minutes walk awAy

Helpful?
Thank Neilmac11
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Hello Neil Thanks for leaving us a review on tripadvisor. Hope to see you again Jim More 

Frinton on Sea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most people know The West Port Bar & GRill for it's attractive bar, delightfukl garden and some spacious and very comfortable rooms - all of which are absolutely first class. Few though have the great pleasure of a truly individually cooked brekfast with the very best ingredients - the bacon is crisp, the eggs golden, the sausages complete un-uniform... Delcious... More 

Helpful?
Thank MandVFrintononSea
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much - I am so glad to hear about your stay and that you enjoyed it. Look forward to next time :-) Jim More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the West Port for breakfast. It's been good in the past but this time my 'full' breakfast arrived minus haggis, with undercooked, inedible sausages and lukewarm beans. (I had already asked for no egg). I did ask the waitress who thought I'd been given the 'wrong one', but that was as far as it went. As I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Watsie127
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

I am sorry that your breakfast was not what you had requested. It is not our intention to have customers leave unhappy and it is most regrettable that we did not manage to resolve this satisfactorily for you at the time. I do welcome you to contact me direct on info@thewestport.co.uk Kind regards Jim Watson General Manager More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Always a nice setting but considering that the same drinks are available in equally nice town centre locations for at least a pound less does seem overpriced. The barman's "Orite pol" approach though friendly and welcoming were he in pubs such as The Clansman in Still Game seemed somewhat overly familiar in the market area that the West Port appears... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveller9752015
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Wow, sorry you didn't get us. Regards Jim More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Visited St Andrews again in August for an annual golf tournament and stayed again at West Port.I have stayed here for many years and unlike some places you return to it never disappoints ,standards are maintained and the accommodation and food in the restaurant are first class.The staff are efficient and welcoming and the menu varied.Breakfast times are until lunch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-golfer-uk
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

It was so good to see you again & thanks once more for leaving such a lovely review. hope to see you again next year! Jim & Tara More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Gray location for centre of st Andrews -- only 4 rooms but clean adequate and good value. Breakfast is excellent and served right up until 11am A long lie in bed and recovery from night life guaranteed !! Will be back again

Helpful?
1 Thank ScotSurf26
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of us. I am so glad that your stay was enjoyable and I hope that we will see you again - Jim More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Visited here with friends on several occasions. Based at the bottom of south street.it is a busy place.Food is lovely and a great atmosphere. The enclosed and private beer garden is beautiful. Would def recomend when visiting st andrews

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review on tripadvisor - hope we see you again - Jim More 

ottawa, on
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

We spent one lovely night here in the top floor rooms. Both rooms have street views but one room has a great view of the spacious dining garden. Breakfast was delicious and included in our stay. It is located right inside the walled gate and offers a great location to restaurants and shops.

Helpful?
Thank cdnhart
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a great review on tripadvisor. hope we see you again soon - Jim More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

We enjoy eating here. We had a relaxed family dinner. The food is always great and the girls who were serving were friendly even though they were very busy. I can't fault this place. It has never disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank LouMorNeele
West K, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

I am so glad that your meal was enjoyed by all - thank you the lovely review on tripadvisor - Jim More 

Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

Went for a meal for a friend's 18th birthday. There were seven of us and after sitting looking at the menu for at least fifteen minutes a waitress, roughly 40 with dark curly hair came to our table and said she was checking we were all eighteen, this was before ordering any drinks. We were slightly concerned we would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank ejbaxter99
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#7 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#13 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 76 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 4 luxurious contemporary styled en suite bathrooms, located above our bar - perfect for a short break in St Andrews. Relax and enjoy your stay at West Port, St Andrews. You can be assured of a great night's sleep and excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Port Bar & Kitchen

Address: 170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Price Range: $127 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your West Port Bar & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Port Bar & Kitchen St. Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay