We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pillars House

Save
Share
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“b and b”(9 reviews)
“other guests”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
204
44
8
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
204
44
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull scottish breakfastb and bother guestsshort busguest houseroyal yachtbed and breakfasthome away from homebreakfast was deliciousedinburgh centrefamily roomcentral locationprincess streetednafridgehostsaccommodation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 267 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Location was great. The chapel and cemetery across the street were fascinating. Greg and Edna were very welcoming and fun to talk to. Breakfast at the table in the kitchen was charming. Noise from the others rooms was an issue one morning. The rooms were...More

Thank Paul G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Welcoming, accommodating , informative, is just a few words to describe Edna and her staff(Greg). Our loft with kitchen was good sized for a family of 4 or even 5, quiet,clean and comfortable. Easily accessible to downtown by short bus ride(family daily pass 8.5 BP...More

Thank Elrondog
Response from Edna M, Owner at Pillars HouseResponded 1 week ago

How lovely miss you all already hope you had a safe journey back home and glad you seen the Loch Ness Monster The little Princess and the rest of you are always welcome here at any time Thanks for the positive review and hope to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived from into Edinburgh quite early in the morning. We contacted Edna to see if we could drop our bags. She was more than willing to let us even check in early and welcomed us by serving us breakfast. Edna and Greg are so...More

Thank itisme123
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

I was disappointed. The location for visiting all of the attractions in Edinburgh is great. Edna’s hospitality and food are outstanding - BUT - that’s it for the positive aspects. The walls are paper thin, hence it’s noisy. The rooms are small and the bathroom’s...More

Thank Ken J
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Pillars house B and B/ Hotel. Firstly, the owner Edna is lovely, friendly and helpful, best of all an expert at producing a Scottish Breakfast. Served at a farmhouse table in the kitchen with a pleasant and...More

Thank Phil W
Response from Edna M, Owner at Pillars HouseResponded May 16, 2018

Thank You and look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Edna

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Debbie186349
August 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Edna M | Property representative |
Hello Debbie yes we do have hair dryers available
1
Vote
Room Tips
"If you can cope with the stairs I liked Room 9 under the roof. Compact, quiet, cosy."
Read review
"All the rooms are nice and clean."
Read review
"Try for the ground floor"
Read review
"Room 2 has three single beds, a good shower, opening window onto a quiet street for fresh air and was clean..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing