We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Valentine City Centre Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Valentine City Centre Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Cold and drafty room, had to put a cover over the window to keep the cold out. The cover in the bed was not big for two so we had to ask for another one. Bed hard and squeeky, and so was the floor. Shower was either too warm or cold and hardly any pressure in it. Had to wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annika L
maple grove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay at the Valentine was less than advertised. Room 31 was listed as a 4 poster king room on the 3 Rd floor. It was a full sized bed with a dusty covering on the 4 posters. The duvet cover was either dirty or just worn with no cover sheet between it and us. The pillows were flat and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review

We welcome all reviews and there are of course occasionally a background story to a review, perhaps potential guests would be best served reading this particular review from the end first! A booking placed with a Booking site with strict cancellation terms was altered after arrival, despite this OUR policy (not the Booking site's) is to refund any income from... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for three nights while visiting Edinburgh. Staff very welcoming on arrival. Gave us a map explaining areas we should visit. Although our rooms was not ready on arrival due to check out of 10am, they were happy to keep our luggage while we visited shops waiting. Breakfast was lovely. Some items of the cooked breakfast were a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireBarrett93
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for your positive review and kind words. We do provide all guests with a simple map on arrival as you say and show where the main attractions are and how to get to them, we feel it makes a difference from our own experience travelling elsewhere. We are always happy to take luggage for morning... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

The location is good, the staff is friendly and the breakfast good as well. However the windows are at least 100 years old and even when they are closed you can hear every word spoken outside. If you happen to get a room facing the street sleep becomes impossible since you hear every bus/truck/person all night long. Additionally since there... More 

Helpful?
Thank rilkar
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and thank you so much for the kind words on our location, staff and breakfast. We're sorry to hear you found the room you were in suffered from street noise, and of course this concerns us though equally it is unfortunate to assume that all rooms must be exactly the same and... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

Went up for a Wedding never been to Edinburgh before, not knowing what to expect ?? Delighted , clean , central , lovely hospitality and breakfast was excellent. If ever I go again I would not hesitate to return.

Helpful?
Thank DebraSwansea
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights. We were cheerfully greeted on arrival and Collum (?) buggy lugged our bags up to our room. As this, like many B & Bs, is an older building there are a number of steps. The room was spacious and clean, the en-suite bathroom was fine but a bit small. The morning breakfasts were very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerryk1948
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Rob & Vicki run a nice guest house, They go out of their way to give quests the information they need to fully appreciate Edinburgh. The room that we had was good size with an ensuite shower (a little on the small side, but there wasn't room for anything bigger). The bed was comfortable & there was a nice comfy... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoanneOhio
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

We had a friendly welcome, the receptionist had good suggestions on where to eat. The room was 'tired', stains on the duvet, squeaky bed. We know it is a listed building, but things were just too old. The best thing about the guest house was the breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Beequeen-Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on a 4 day trip to Edinburgh. In a brilliant location all tourist attractions a short walk away. Warm and friendly owners who make a great full Scottish breakfast. We had an enjoyable stay. If you are looking for somewhere for dinner there is also a brilliant Indian Street food place at the end of the road,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelonhertravels
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We needed a good place to stay for 2 nights and since last minute.com messed up my original booking I got put into this hotel as a last minute booking literally! But I was in for a surprise. First of all it was not all that expensive and the rooms were nice and spacious. The heating in the room is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arthi .
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#44 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#39 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Caravel Guest House
#146 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#47 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Dene Guest House
#24 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Granville Guest House
#324 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Valentine City Centre Guest House is in Edinburgh's City Centre, the closest guest house to Edinburgh Castle. A listed Georgian Townhouse with many original features, it has accommodation on four levels, and is within easy walking distance of all city centre attractions (10 minutes stroll to Princes Street, 15 to The Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle). Situated adjacent to theatres, restaurants, cinemas, pubs, and shops, this family run accommodation has a wide range of rooms to suit all budgets from a luxury 'five-star' room to economy doubles as well as a six person group room. Each morning over a generous two-hour period, a much praised full Scottish breakfasts is served, cooked entirely to order. All rooms have free WiFi and digital TV, and despite the city centre location, free off-road parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valentine City Centre Guest House

Address: 19-21 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $70 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentine City Centre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Valentine City Centre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine City Centre Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Valentine City Centre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay