We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ocean Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at the Ocean Apartments at Western Harbour for a 5 nights self catering stay, the accomodation on the 6th floor was very spacious with a large open plan kitchen, diner and lounge. The double bed was large, firm and comfortable being 6' 3" I had plenty of space for my long legs. The en-suite facilities were adequate. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymondjohn888
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the space that the apartments have to offer. The bus link and ASDA really are good additions to the area, there are several plans for the ‘waste land’ however we hope that it did not ruin enjoyment of the view... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The good: Very quiet; free parking; spacious, clean, comfortable, well-enough equipped flats. If you get a flat on the water side, the views are probably stunning (we didn't). Inexpensive for the space you get. Staff were friendly. We drove, but I saw a bus that came fairly frequently and picked up right outside the flats, so convenient into the city... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gurgaveed
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us, we take all feedback that we get and use it constructively. While it does seem that you thought the apartments were adequate and good value for money we are a little disappointed that we did not manage to make a better impression. To comment on the auto-closing doors,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

In concept, this apartment is spacious and should have all the amenities one needs with kitchen and laundry facilities. In reality though, the apartment did not feel very clean and could do with a serious overhaul. There were awful stains and marks all over the walls and carpeted floor; the kitchen floor had so much damage near the dishwasher it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lanah_travelbug
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, while we are happy that you chose to stay with us we are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. We take all comments made about the apartments seriously and can tell you that we have overhauled all apartments that need it and we not have a deep clean service for all... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We were not as 'blown away' with our apartment as advertised on the website. We felt that it needed a lot of updating and redeorating as the curtains were very badly stained, the walls were badly scuffed and marked and the pillows definitely need replacing. The freezer part of the fridge was filthy and sticky with some kind of red... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanineandSue
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

You review is much appreciated, we are extremely disappointed that you were not ‘blown away’ as you were expected with the apartments. There is no excuse for the cleanliness of the apartments and we are happy to say that we have installed new measures to ensure that these situations do not arise again. We have also upgraded all apartments that... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Very pleased with our stay, it was perfect for us as we have a 2 year old daughter, so it was like home from home for her, we were also able to see the end of festival fireworks from our apartment windows which was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank matilda186487
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are always delighted to hear when our guests had a good stay in our apartments. The extra space that the apartments offer is fantastic and it is good to hear that the apartment felt like home. We hope that you will come and stay with us again.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

These apartments are a little worn. Chipped and scratched chipboard furniture. Hand prints on walls. Hole in wall caused by door handle bashing into it.. Grubby mattress (no mattress cover). Stunning view. With a little care and attention, they could be wonderful, sadly they don't seem to have had that attention for a while

Helpful?
1 Thank ntw_10
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we do appreciate all feedback. While we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and did not think that it was good value for money, we are happy to report that we have done some major upgrades in all apartments and they are now getting regular... More 

Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Excellent location with great view of docks, something always happening there, also across the Firth of Forth. Very comfy beds, but crockery only adequate. Table in poor state, carpet could do with cleaning. Lift floor tiles broken. Quiet location, good bus service into Edinburgh. Parking a dream (not garage!)Would definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank GrahamBeresford
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and some of the views that the apartments have to offer are breath taking. We are also pleased to report that we have changed all tables that need changing and all apartments now get a deep clean on a more regular basis which... More 

Palo Alto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed here for a week with my family. The staff was pleasant, the apartment was clean, and the price was very good. It is a serviced apartment, which means that they only provide a day's worth of shampoo, soap, etc. The apartment is serviced once a week, so you will need to wash, clean, etc. The location is pleasant,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Benbimi
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time in the apartment and it suited you and your family well. The points that you have raised are all valid and have all been addressed and rectified where they could be. We hope that you will stay with us again... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is our third visit to this apartment complex. We like the quiet location and the view. Parking is easy and the transport into Edinburgh is no problem. One quibble this year - we booked in February and were given an apartment number, one we had stayed in before. THe position gave exceptional sea/harbour views. On arrival, we were given... More 

Helpful?
Thank ceebee42
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay, while we are always delighted to have people come back and stay with us. We can only apologise for the inconvenience that was caused with you not staying in the apartment that you requested, we do our best to honour all requests that are made. We hope that you will... More 

Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We had a good stay here and would certainly return. Plenty of space and very clean. Would have preferred kitchen to be better equipped with cooking utensils. The good view of Britannia and out to sea was rather marred by the building site across the way.

Helpful?
Thank Hammick
OceanApts, Manager at Ocean Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is always great to hear when our guests have such a good stay in one of our apartments. The space that the apartments offer really is a fantastic extra compared to a hotel room. Thank you for posting some stunning pictures that you took, the sunset is just brilliant! We hope that you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakhill Apartments
#6 of 203 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Canon Court Apartments
#35 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Apartments are modern, stylish contemporary serviced apartments that offer the comfort and standards of a hotel room with the space and flexibility of a private residence in Edinburgh.Cost effective and comfortable, these apartments are a perfect accommodation solution for business travellers, families and groups.All apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge, dining area and two bedrooms. Carefully selected facilities are available to make your stay comfortable and stress free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Apartments

Address: 2 Western Harbour Midway, Edinburgh EH6 6PN, Scotland (Formerly Western Harbour Apts)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $91 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Ocean Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay