We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Safestay Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Safestay Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 938: English reviews
Start your review of Safestay Edinburgh
 Click to rate
Swindon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice location,very close to High Street Royal Mile in Edinburgh. And lovely place to meet new people.lot of options to eat and very easy access to Waverly railway station. Only negative comment I have is about the wooden floor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indrajit B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent perfect days in Edinburgh, and part was for the hostel, it was hekpfull for me because I could enjoy the city without spent money and time taking taxis. Near to city centre with good rooms, it was so warm. And the stuff was brilliant. I would repeat without thinking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3210IMmarian
Noaddressville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location, the food was great and you had student discounts. The beds were confortable and people who worked there very friendly and interested in helping, but I have to say that you could here the bar music all night long, so that was a bit bothering.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joaquina658
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Next to The Royal Mile and pubs, it's a good place to visit Edinburgh. The castle and the Arthur's seat are both half way. The roommates the first night were terrible but we can't help it. However the room wasn't very clean and my friend and I are sensitive to acarid and we had not slept well for 2 days....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 711cindyn
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hostel. I am sorry that you felt there was a small issue with the cleanliness of the room. Standards of cleanliness are extremely important to us. I hope that you had an opportunity to inform a member of staff so that it could...

yorkshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stopped here for only £37 for three nights in a 4 bed dormitory what a bargain ! Fantastic clean and modern accommodation in the heart of old town. Nearly everything is great about this hostel the only knock down I can think of is the cheap and too small bed mattresses which meant the fitted sheets would just come...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldmisery
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

the location is perfect, close to everything you need to visit in Edinburgh. The breakfast could have more kinds of cereal, milk and tea. Maybe porridge? The prices at the bar are really good. Everyone was friendly. But it's quite hard to have a good rest if you share a room with 7 other people, but it was okay. It's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276ulrikel
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and suggestions. I hope that you had a great on ward journey.

Ennetbuergen, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent price! Rooms are clean and the bar/restaurant and lobby is very cosy. The restaurants prices are as excellent as the room prices. Located in central Old Town - super location, you can reach everything within minutes. Really recommend it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y6464APjulial
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you!!

Villevaude
Reviewed 1 week ago

Safestay is a good hostel : -good location near the center city - The rooms was clean - The bar is nice But .... - All the lockers in the room was broken - There is not grip of electricity near the bed - There are only 2 baths in the room and for 8 peoples its not enough -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 819amelief
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. I am please to read that you and your friend enjoyed the location of the hostel. I am sorry to read that you missed the departure time of the tour. I have just spoken with our reception team and the tour operator who both remember...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bathroom was not clean, it has an smell, the bed had dust on it, the shower had a bad smell. I leave my globs at the reception and never came back. I loved the bar, food, drinks and breakfast. Great location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to leave a review. Please except my apologies if you felt the bathroom was not cleaned to your standard. Cleanliness is of the up most importance to us.Your feedback will be passed onto the housekeeping team. i hope you had an enjoyable journey home.

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks a lot, everything was perfect. Was my second stay there and all the same. The breakfast I would prefer some more fruits but it's ok. The best of this stay is the location by far and acomodations

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serafin P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

356 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
808 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
783 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,369 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $24 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Noisy on the lower floors due to the proximity to the street and the in-house bar”
 of 5 bubbles kiwifamily007, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“I had room 506 and was very happy with it. It was close to the elevators and easy to find. It was spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanS_8_2016, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, not on the hotel bar side.”
 of 5 bubbles 125am_liec, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the bar are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 592lianl, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near outdoor sitting area are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles cassandras646, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question