We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alba Hills Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
06/13/2017 06/14/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Alba Hills Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Start your review of Alba Hills Guest House
 Click to rate
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the bedroom with the external bathroom which we found to be no problem at all. The bathroom was a really good size. Our room did the job with a very comfy bed but it could've done with a touch up. Both the walls and carpets were a little dirty with marks from over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhopkins94
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 7, 2016

I have stayed in Edinburgh in Hotels before but never have I paid so much. My daughter booked this so I didn't realise the price until we arrived. While is was clean and comfortable and breakfast was just ok and the Wi-Fi wasn't working the second day of our stay. The cost was £260 for the room for 2 nights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinecalderwood
AlbaHillsTeam, Owner at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We would like to express or gratefulness and thanks for this review and bringing this to our attention. We would also like to sincerely apologies to you and your daughter for this genuine error in the system. As the room was booked for the price of 3 adults and we had not realized that at the time, we would...

London
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanhaines
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2016

When we arrived 3 hours later than planned due to our flight being delayed the owner was very accommodating and explained to us which key to use and when is breakfast etc. The cost was £100 per night which was obviously due to the Edinburgh festival, and we were there for 3 nights.The location is approximately 25 minutes from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank conrad528
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2016

If only all B&B's were as good as this one. Great correspondence before my visit where the hotel really wanted to know if I had any special requests. Easy to get to with many buses direct from Waverley station on Princes Street/North Bridge then a one minute walk at the far end. And the next bus stop is not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snouticus
Europe
Reviewed August 11, 2016

The place is bed and breakfast based concept, not really in the centre of the city, but walking (30 minutes) distance or shorter ride by bus. The room was small, but clean, cosy and functional. Bathroom was basic and clean, the room is equipped in TV, coffee/tea items, kettle and some biscuits replenished on daily basis. Breakfast is served between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AhogZ
Perth, Australia
Reviewed July 18, 2016

I really loved staying at this guest house. From the moment I arrived i was made to feel at home by Tracey. She explained to me everything I needed to know about the accommodation, plus extra information about Edinburgh, and surrounding areas, as she was a true local. She also made sure that I had everything I needed in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Kind of old and creaky. Clean and cozy. Not too far from attractions by taxi. Breakfast was good. Little pricy for the age of the building. Beautiful old building but could use some updating. Plumbing was kind of noisy and the door to the bathroom was not a solid door. No privacy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Wolverhampton
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Great location as many bus routes you can jump on to head into town. Arthur 's Seat walking distance. Greeted by lovley staff who stated it was my home. GVE me the full low down on the attractions, local amnenities, local transport etc. Room for a single initially a box room.....but an end suite and a seated window meant I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

We were up for the Edinburgh Film Festival and found this lovely town guest house very comfortable and convenient. The owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving us lots of info about what to see in the city etc. The guest house is on a main road but although our family room was at the front we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/13/2017 06/14/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#44 of 389 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#49 of 389 in Edinburgh
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 389 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#66 of 389 in Edinburgh
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#69 of 389 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alba Hills Guest House is an elegant Victorian house with many original features, we are a family run Guest House offering friendly and welcoming hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and tasty hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alba Hills Guest House

Address: 33 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $119 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Alba Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hills Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Alba Hills Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Alba Hills Guest House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alba Hills Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Nice view from windows at the back of the house. Clean and well decorated. no lift.”
carolinecalderwood, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“I don't think the place had disabled access; if there was a lift i did not see it.”
rozw726, Apr 1, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back have good views of Arthur's Seat & have no road noise”
  • View from cosy ensuite single Room 2
Everhopefulone, Nov 25, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms doesn't have en-suite facilities. Also there is no lift.”
NadeeshaRathnayake, Sep 27, 2015 | Read review
“Get the garden view room, it's amazing!”
lorenzoviolone, Sep 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates