We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

arrived in the afternoon to find the key in the key safe as agreed.A really clean spacious room with everything you need.The shower was really good with plenty of hot water.The breakfast was well cooked and plenty of it.Iain was a very good host and I will be glad to stay here again

Helpful?
Thank omg2010lol
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We are always grateful when guests take the time to add their reviews. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in our home next time you Visit Edinburgh. Iain and Dot More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for an Edinburgh wedding. We booked 3 rooms, all of them were lovely - nicely decorated, quality furniture, very comfy beds, modern en suites. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our room faced onto the road but was still quiet. Breakfast was fab, really good coffee and the cooked breakfast was perfect. Iain and Dot made sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilovedthefood
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, really appreciate you adding your review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you liked your breakfast and hope your visit to the Zoo went well before returning home. See you another time. Iain and Dot More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Our daughter had booked us in for 2 nights while we helped her to move house. The location is easy to find - directly opposite the Edinburgh Zoo - but the parking is limited. We were asked to specify our exact arrival time - to ensure we would be welcomed. This worked fine for us and we were shown to... More 

Helpful?
Thank alanatdyce
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when visiting your daughter. You will have to try the Chinese next time - it is great! Iain and Dot More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here for the night with my partner after finding the photos of the place attractive as well as the reasonable price. The location of the B and B is perfect for anyone going to the zoo as it is directly opposite the entrance for the zoo. The destination was a short bus ride from the city centre... More 

Helpful?
Thank mulhernfan
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

A big thank you for adding such a lovely review. We always appreciate people taking time out their busy lives to add their views. Thank you for the comments about our home. It is always good to know we are doing something right! It does make us feel appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again at Dalmore Lodge. Iain... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We had room 4 facing zoo which looks lovely . traffic not a problem road quietens as the night draws near. Room spotless tea/coffee and biscuits in room and shower good lovely shower gel and shampoo provided along with hair dryer and plenty power sockets. Iron and board available. Ian was like a friend who cares about you. Very friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nicola p
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your lovely review for us. We try our best to provide everything we would want ourselves if staying in a guest house and it is great to know you appreciated the little touches. It can be difficult these days, as most people expect it to be like a hotel when it is just our home. Great... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016

This guest house ticked the boxes in regards to what we needed, ie location to zoo, clean and comfortable. However as we were staying whilst we attended a wedding, we were looking forward to a lie in. Unfortunately our room was next to the kitchen on the ground floor so could hear all the general clattering involved in breakfast prep... More 

Helpful?
Thank wheelgate
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank for adding your review. Probably would have been better (and cheaper) booking direct with us rather through a booking agent. When you book through an Agent, you choose the room yourself and they are not allocated on arrival. We could have then helped you with room configuration and ensured you booked a room that wasn't next to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable, but quite a long way from the city centre along a road with very heavy traffic. What really bothered us, though, was the hosts refusal to cook breakfast for our sick child because they hadn't finished their food the day before!

Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your review. Glad you felt the rooms were comfortable as it is very important to us about the cleanliness so appreciate your comments. I'm not sure whether you booked through an agent or directly with us but we give lots of information on our own website and via agents on where we are located and the... More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this guesthouse yesterday. Was welcomed in by ian,im assuming who is the owner. Ian was welcoming and friendly,showed me to my room on arriving and discussed breakfast with me etc. The rooms are large,modern,spotlessly clean and ensuite. I stayed in room number one which also had the added bonus of french doors and a balcony which is something... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert n
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you very much for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not very often people get the use of the balcony but the weather was the best it's been in a long time! Hope you get the opportunity to visit us again. Was lovely to meet you. Iain and Dot More 

1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Absolutely loved staying at this guest house! Rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfortable to stay in! We felt right at home when we we're here! We were in room 5 and we had the best view ever of Edinburgh zoo (we also had the window open at night and there was no disturbances for us! - no noise from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma J
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and loved the room and the ease of getting into the City Centre. As you note, the bus service from us is excellent and it doesn't take long to get into the City or to the Airport. Sorry you didn't meet Dot but... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2016

We liked the Dalmore. Our breakfasts were hot and very good. Iain was nice but can be a little touchy. The location of the Dalmore is awesome. Major buses run right in front and you can get anywhere from this location. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank GLyle
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, I was a little touchy but only due to the fact that we left the keys for you with the room number in our keysafe but for some reason you put them back in the safe, then entered another room already booked for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#106 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#269 of 444 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
Hampton Hotel
#122 of 444 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
Corstorphine
Judy Guest House
Judy Guest House
#359 of 444 in Edinburgh
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Address: 14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Price Range: $80 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmore Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dalmore Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalmore Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room to rear recommended”
 of 5 bubbles alanatdyce, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has patio door a table 2 seats ground floor garden view. Rooms 3.4&5 are first floor. All lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolapH8694BE, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 was noisy early in the morning due to the kitchen being next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles wheelgate, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 - front of the house, overlooking the zoo.. The room is red with a double and a single bed in (sleeps 3) :)”
 of 5 bubbles emmajZ4772SK, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“we where in room number 1 which is right by the kitchen the breakfast smell wakes you up.”
 of 5 bubbles kendoliverpool, Mar 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay