We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had room 4 facing zoo which looks lovely . traffic not a problem road quietens as the night draws near. Room spotless tea/coffee and biscuits in room and shower good lovely shower gel and shampoo provided along with hair dryer and plenty power sockets. Iron and board available. Ian was like a friend who cares about you. Very friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nicola p
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your lovely review for us. We try our best to provide everything we would want ourselves if staying in a guest house and it is great to know you appreciated the little touches. It can be difficult these days, as most people expect it to be like a hotel when it is just our home. Great... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guest house ticked the boxes in regards to what we needed, ie location to zoo, clean and comfortable. However as we were staying whilst we attended a wedding, we were looking forward to a lie in. Unfortunately our room was next to the kitchen on the ground floor so could hear all the general clattering involved in breakfast prep... More 

Helpful?
Thank wheelgate
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank for adding your review. Probably would have been better (and cheaper) booking direct with us rather through a booking agent. When you book through an Agent, you choose the room yourself and they are not allocated on arrival. We could have then helped you with room configuration and ensured you booked a room that wasn't next to... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and comfortable, but quite a long way from the city centre along a road with very heavy traffic. What really bothered us, though, was the hosts refusal to cook breakfast for our sick child because they hadn't finished their food the day before!

Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your review. Glad you felt the rooms were comfortable as it is very important to us about the cleanliness so appreciate your comments. I'm not sure whether you booked through an agent or directly with us but we give lots of information on our own website and via agents on where we are located and the... More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this guesthouse yesterday. Was welcomed in by ian,im assuming who is the owner. Ian was welcoming and friendly,showed me to my room on arriving and discussed breakfast with me etc. The rooms are large,modern,spotlessly clean and ensuite. I stayed in room number one which also had the added bonus of french doors and a balcony which is something... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert n
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you very much for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not very often people get the use of the balcony but the weather was the best it's been in a long time! Hope you get the opportunity to visit us again. Was lovely to meet you. Iain and Dot More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Absolutely loved staying at this guest house! Rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfortable to stay in! We felt right at home when we we're here! We were in room 5 and we had the best view ever of Edinburgh zoo (we also had the window open at night and there was no disturbances for us! - no noise from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma J
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great time with us and loved the room and the ease of getting into the City Centre. As you note, the bus service from us is excellent and it doesn't take long to get into the City or to the Airport. Sorry you didn't meet Dot but... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

We liked the Dalmore. Our breakfasts were hot and very good. Iain was nice but can be a little touchy. The location of the Dalmore is awesome. Major buses run right in front and you can get anywhere from this location. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank GLyle
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to add your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, I was a little touchy but only due to the fact that we left the keys for you with the room number in our keysafe but for some reason you put them back in the safe, then entered another room already booked for... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B, ideal location for Zoo & not far from city centre. Very friendly couple, rooms modern & clean. Wouldn't listen to negative reviews. Would definitely stay here again. We were made to feel welcome but not crowded.

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Emma, that's really good of you to put a review on and appreciate all your comments. Will hopefully see you again if you're ever visiting Edinburgh. Lovely to meet you both. Iain and Dot More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

When planning a trip to Edinburgh we researched accommodation near the zoo and discovered Dalmore Lodge with all of its great reviews so we booked with no hesitation.....however, what we had read was not true for our visit or should I say our attempted visit!!! The Dalmore Lodge is owned by Ian - a rude, unpleasant and non-empathetic man who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elise Y
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Firstly, arrival time was stated as 1-2pm on the booking form. In your complaint on the Booking.com website (which has subsequently been removed by them!) you stated you were leaving home at 1130. You also state that you were coming 200 miles, so assume you were doing 100mph all the way, with a 4 year old in the car. The... More 

GLASGOW
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

I was looking for somewhere to stay for one night in Edinburgh on a Wednesday evening a few weeks ago. I carried out my usual search online and chose the Dalmore Lodge B and B, and booked it for myself only for £20.00, a good deal. I was contacted later by the couple who run this establishment. They advised this... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHGLASGOW
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

As per previous discussions with you, and an apology, we explained that the rate quoted was a typing error and that we are only human. You also booked a room via the agent for two people – which was a mistake on your behalf as you actually wanted a single room – so I thought you would understand. You also... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay here at the Dalmore Guest House. Very friendly host. Was made to feel very welcome and at.home. Bed extremely comfy. Lovely breakfast. Clean and tidy. Had room No 1. Which had a double bed and also a little balcony. Very sweet room. And this place right opposite the Zoo. And very handy for the buses into... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandra b
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Couldn't ask for a better review. It really is appreciated when people take the time out of their busy lives to do this. It helps a small business like us stay on the map and hopefully guide other guests in our direction. Thanks again and hope to see you again in our home and glad it also felt like... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#101 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#25 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#350 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Ascot Garden
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Corstorphine
Judy Guest House
Judy Guest House
#366 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Address: 14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Price Range: $83 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmore Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Dalmore Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay