We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lauderville Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lauderville Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in December as a 21st birthday present, couldn't have been better and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Was visting my sister at university with my boyfriend, it was fairly easy to get to the centre. Breakfast was so good, and the room was amazing! Had one of the best holidays ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a lovely  guest house with  friendly and welcoming owners. I  really enjoyed my stay here in the family room.  From contacting the guest house to getting to there, we received a very warm welcome.  Brian, his wife and son were so kind, helpful and very attentive to our  needs! Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety, bed was comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank It79z-20167
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this B+B for my daughter and boyfriend for her 21st Birthday. They loved the place. Very comfortable en suite bedroom and absolutely delicious breakfast. The bus stop to get in and out of the city centre is not far. If you are very fit and healthy you can even walk into Princes St. Our youngest is at Edinburgh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jcr225
51brian, Manager at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It was lovely to meet your daughter and her boyfriend. Look forward to meeting you all again in the future. Kind regards Simon.

London
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the lauderville with my girlfriend for two nights in December for the Xmas markets. Very friendly welcome and service throughout, lovely breakfast cooked to order and lots of little touches which made it a comfortable stay. The hotel is approx a 30min walk to princes st (which improves the value for money) but there are a plethora of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you both again!

Hertfordshire
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at Lauderville... absolutely faultless. Perfect in every way, highly recommend this beautiful B&B. Thank you very much Brian, Yvonne and Simon, hope to stay with you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aled31
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us having visited Edinburgh several times in the past. We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Reviewed November 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and it was fantastic! They were very kind, pleasant and helpful people. The room reminded of an other era. Was very clean and they provided us all the necessary things such us slippers, swing kit, etc. The sound isolation of the room wasn't very good, because we could hear the people who were passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ioulia P
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. hope to see you both again

Kansas City, Mo.
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Impressions: Nice house, serving a good breakfast, and it is well managed. No major gripes......minor gripes, a fee for paying by credit card, and a room which is literally 12 feet from the busy road/traffic noise. Avoid this room, and pay by cash, you will be happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuttman
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post an overall good review. Apologies for the road noise, hope it was quieter at night when you were asleep. We would be glad if guests avoided the credit card fee of £2.50!! Depending on the bill, we usually pay the card company in excess of this charge. Hope to see you again and...

Belgium
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

On arrival the welcome was very friendly, the stay was warm and delightful. Catered for all your needs one could expect and leaving with intent to return just for the hospitality. A fantastic visit to Edinburgh overall and this beautiful family run guest house added tremendously to that. Will see you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonB4469
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

many thanks for a splendid review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We stayed for five nights at the Lauderville Guest House and enjoyed the cosy and comfortable place. My 13 year old son just loved it. The guest house has a feel of the home with carefully chosen decor and the breakfast is also delicious and healthy. It is not too far from the main city centre, and well connected with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashasarangi
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post a nice review. Hope you visit Edinburgh again in the future, and who knows, we might make it to Delhi one day!

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We stayed her for a night during October 2016. The property is furnished to a very high standard and it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The owner is was very pleasant and helpful. The family room was £90 which I thought was very reasonable for given the location and standard of accommodation which was bordering on the luxury end of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for a great review, hope to see you both again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#86 of 445 in Edinburgh
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 445 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 445 in Edinburgh
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#52 of 445 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $92 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on the ground floor adn it was very quiet -we backed ontot he garden and parking”
 of 5 bubbles 108Bubbles, Jul 9, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of property quiet. Busy road out front.”
 of 5 bubbles lauraa295, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“We loved the room with the four poster bed with a view out to the street Plenty of room and a nice bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Fruns, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good , but for a little extra the four poster at the front of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles noobey, Nov 2, 2015 | Read review
“Get the 4 poster room!”
 of 5 bubbles mikeydenn89, Sep 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question