We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lauderville Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lauderville Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at Lauderville... absolutely faultless. Perfect in every way, highly recommend this beautiful B&B. Thank you very much Brian, Yvonne and Simon, hope to stay with you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aled31
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us having visited Edinburgh several times in the past. We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and it was fantastic! They were very kind, pleasant and helpful people. The room reminded of an other era. Was very clean and they provided us all the necessary things such us slippers, swing kit, etc. The sound isolation of the room wasn't very good, because we could hear the people who were passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ioulia P
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. hope to see you both again

Kansas City, Mo.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Impressions: Nice house, serving a good breakfast, and it is well managed. No major gripes......minor gripes, a fee for paying by credit card, and a room which is literally 12 feet from the busy road/traffic noise. Avoid this room, and pay by cash, you will be happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuttman
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post an overall good review. Apologies for the road noise, hope it was quieter at night when you were asleep. We would be glad if guests avoided the credit card fee of £2.50!! Depending on the bill, we usually pay the card company in excess of this charge. Hope to see you again and...

Belgium
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

On arrival the welcome was very friendly, the stay was warm and delightful. Catered for all your needs one could expect and leaving with intent to return just for the hospitality. A fantastic visit to Edinburgh overall and this beautiful family run guest house added tremendously to that. Will see you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonB4469
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

many thanks for a splendid review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We stayed for five nights at the Lauderville Guest House and enjoyed the cosy and comfortable place. My 13 year old son just loved it. The guest house has a feel of the home with carefully chosen decor and the breakfast is also delicious and healthy. It is not too far from the main city centre, and well connected with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashasarangi
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post a nice review. Hope you visit Edinburgh again in the future, and who knows, we might make it to Delhi one day!

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We stayed her for a night during October 2016. The property is furnished to a very high standard and it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The owner is was very pleasant and helpful. The family room was £90 which I thought was very reasonable for given the location and standard of accommodation which was bordering on the luxury end of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for a great review, hope to see you both again.

Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend away in Edinburgh and were impressed with our visit. We stayed in the Deluxe Four Poster Room for 2 nights. The room was nice, a little cold at times as it's single glazed but we found the radiator temp control so all was good. The staff were friendly, the breakfasts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for your nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back in Edinburgh in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2016

We'd booked a place nearby online, but there was an error with the service so we couldn't stay. That owner recommended we call here, and there was one room available--lucky us! The room was gorgeous, with lovely furnishings and lots of little luxury touches. Despite having a front ground floor room and being on a busy road, we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sprite75
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Lauderville but the the room we stayed in was very small but clean. We were not as near to the center as we would have liked and the buses were not that frequent The cooked breakfast was very good and the owners and staff were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you had a lovely stay!

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Some people like to stay "in the middle of everything". Knowing that this translates often into "noisy and expensive", quiet, clean, and economical are my primary criteria. The Lauderville Guest House is about a 10 minute bus ride from Edinburgh's City Center--the middle of everything--and a very convenient bus ride at that. The bus stops are two minutes from Lauderville's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripfriend92
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and loved all your comments!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonas Guest House
Sonas Guest House
#23 of 445 in Edinburgh
207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#21 of 445 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#44 of 445 in Edinburgh
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#14 of 445 in Edinburgh
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#3 of 445 in Edinburgh
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#25 of 445 in Edinburgh
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on the ground floor adn it was very quiet -we backed ontot he garden and parking”
 of 5 bubbles 108Bubbles, Jul 9, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of property quiet. Busy road out front.”
 of 5 bubbles lauraa295, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“We loved the room with the four poster bed with a view out to the street Plenty of room and a nice bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Fruns, May 30, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good , but for a little extra the four poster at the front of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles noobey, Nov 2, 2015 | Read review
“Get the 4 poster room!”
 of 5 bubbles mikeydenn89, Sep 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay