We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,438: English reviews
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is extremely central and is easily accessible from the airport via tram. All the key attractions are within half an hour walking distance. If you want to see the city and enjoy food, I would definitely recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sujit R
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sujit R, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express-Edinburgh City Centre. I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We do have a fantastic location that allows an easy access to all major tourism attractions, transport links and dining sites. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Kaisa Alikas Sales... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. You can walk everywhere from this hotel-- I chose it because it was near the Rabbie's cafe where we were taking a tour. Clean room and breakfast included. Very reasonably priced. Hotel staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine G, Thank you for your kind review Lorraine. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel as it is within walking distance of all major tourism attractions, shopping and dining sites and transport links. It is also great to hear your positive feedback regarding our breakfast and bedroom cleanliness. We hope to have you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We selected this hotel because of the location, which is very good, just a few blocks from Princes Street, the Royal Mile, and other landmarks. The room was spacious and clean, but everything else was pretty dismal. The room was decorated in a garish brown-and-orange color scheme from the 1970s--and not in a stylish retro way--and the lobby was drab.... More 

Helpful?
Thank doowjc01
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Doowjc01, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and found your bedroom spacious and clean. On the other hand I am sorry that we fell below your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Due to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location - walking distance to Castle and Palace. Nice staff - friendly and helpful. Breakfast included - eggs, sausages and beans. Only complaint is terrible wifi - almost impossible to Skype or stream (compared to perfect in Glasgow).

Helpful?
Thank Gned00
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gned00, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express-Edinburgh City Centre. I am pleased to know you were happy with the convenient location of the hotel that allowed you an easy access to all major tourism attractions. It is also great to read positive comments towards our staff. I will certainly pass on them... More 

pune
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights. With 3 people in the room it was a bit of a squeeze but the beds were comfortable and the location made up for everything else. Very close to the main Railway Station, tram stop just a stone's throw, and lots of dining choices.

Helpful?
Thank itty2013
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Itty2013, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am happy to know you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel as it is located just across the Playhouse and within walking distance of all major tourism attractions, shopping and dining sites and transport links. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Kind regards, Kaisa Alikas Sales... More 

Inverurie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday as we were attending a concert at Edinburgh Castle. We had got the bus to Edinburgh and it was a really short walk from here to the hotel, it isn't far from Waverley train station either. Location wise it was brilliant. It's right across from the Playhouse and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lisa P, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to know you were happy with the convenient location of the hotel and experienced an efficient check-in on your arrival. However, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with some elements of your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused as it... More 

Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

This hotel is extremely central and has a small private car park at the rear ( for which you pay a small amount per night). We had rooms overlooking Picardy Place which turned out very noisy with traffic and late night revellers. There is no air conditioning and leaving a window open invites more noise to penetrate from outside. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Philip W, Thank you for your review Philip. I am pleased to see you found the location of the hotel central. However, this is also the reason why front facing rooms can be slightly noisy. Due to our hotel being a characteristic Georgian style listed building we are unable to fit air-conditioning, but we do provide fans within our... More 

Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised. Check in was quite quick with a helpful young man who was happy to show us where things were on a map of the city. Got room 318 which was a huge room overlooking the main road outside and the Edinburgh Playhouse. Rooms were what you expect from Holiday Inn. Had... More 

Helpful?
Thank cbain27
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Cbain27, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to see you were happy with the size of your bedroom and enjoyed all the amenities provided. I am also glad to know you found our breakfast delicious and plentiful. On the other hand I am sorry to hear about the shortfalls you experienced during... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Stayed in this holiday whilst on a self-drive road tour throughout the UK, staff where friendly and helpful. The rooms were ok, but very basic. We had difficulty opening the window and in the ended up having to get someone up to assist us. Pros • Pull out beds for family’s. • Ok Breakfast. (Poor selection of fruits available) •... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paddles1964
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Paddles1964, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the amenities provided in the room. However, I am sorry to hear we fell below your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Due to brand standards set in place by IHG for all Holiday Inn Express hotels we are not... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok, not really worth £120 a night for 2 people mind. Room was stuffy with the air con coming in the shape of a fan. Breakfast was ok, staff were helpful but I wouldn't go back there again. The location of the hotel is decent but as the title says, average at best.

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mark A, Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express-Edinburgh City Centre. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with some elements of your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and I hope despite the shortfalls you experienced you will consider visiting us in the future. Kind regards, Kaisa Alikas Sales Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

380 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#40 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 3,057 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $92 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay