We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Clarin Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I had paid for 3 nights in advance, and had done nothing wrong I was thrown out on the second night in the early hours of the morning Although I have demanded my money back I have not received a refund for the two nights

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you had done nothing wrong here! however I must disagree, as advised by Police there was aggressive behavior in the street towards your partner (passers by called the police) your partner had to be brought home at 4am by police to obtain her belongings, I know you had some drinks and were not in the... More 

Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely guest house. We had a charming and well-appointed room up a couple of flights of stairs; quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Kim was extremely helpful - a very lovely lady. She gave us great advice about where to eat, buses to catch etc. We had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clarin... More 

Helpful?
Thank TGChrissey
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

It is a very nice hotel. The room is huge and very beautiful, beds are comfortable and the staff is very nice. City center is just a 20 minute walk away. But there was no WC in the room and we had to share it. It wasn't such a bad thing, though, as people were very kind. I totally recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Álvaro B
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Beautiful victorian house. We had a lovely room at the top, nice comfortable beds and clean room. The owner was extra nice and showed us what we should see and where we can grab a bite to eat. All his recommendationd were great. The location is ok, 20 minute walk to the city center and probably much quicker with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alenka_travels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I would just like to say what lovely people Kim and Andy the owners are I've been to clarin guest house twice now and goin again in August and new year nothing is to much trouble for them they go out of there way to help if needed New Year's Eve day in returnin back to bb what a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judyjones63
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. We got in extremely late but the owners gave us easy self-checkin instructions so that we could get right to bed. The room was spacious for European standards. The beds were extremely comfy! We had a shared toilet on the floor, but the shower was one floor lower and shared by two... More 

Helpful?
Thank jelly813
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

I've just spent the weekend here with my friend and I'd highly recommend this lovely guest house. We were at a hen party and came in late both nights (quietly and considerately of course) so all we needed was a place to rest our heads. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was spacious and stylish. We had tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth H
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a 4 day break with a friend. The guest house is close enough to Edinburgh centre to be convenient, yet far enough away to be peaceful. Kim and Andy are wonderful hosts being friendly and helpful, taking time to give lots of advice about the best things to see an do while away. They were never too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb_and_Si
peterlee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely experience whilst staying at the Clarin Guest House, the lady of the house was very helpful with transport and showed us maps etc which helped us massively whilst staying in Edinburgh. She even took me to the local shop for snacks as we arrived late and didn't have time to call at a shop on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy-cx
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

My friend Julia and I stayed for two nights at this lovely place. We really enjoyed our room with own bathroom and very comfy beds. The Clarin Guest House might be about 30 Minutes walking distance away from the City Centre but it was worth the way! Kim was very welcoming on arrival and even upgraded us (Thank you so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowflake61
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#91 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#89 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Appin House
#65 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#145 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Dorstan Guest House
#90 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Clarin Guest House

Address: 4 East Mayfield | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Clarin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Clarin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay