We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Clarin Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful visit to Edinburgh and we stayed in this gorgeous guesthouse. Upon arrival, we were met by Andy, who spent a good bit of time chatting to us about where to visit, eat and how to travel. This was such a lovely touch and we made sure we followed his recommendations!... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdrianSykes
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

This Guest House is the best choice you can make when staying in Edinburgh and searching for a very clean, comfortable and quiet accommodation. Our room was not so big (we didn't have where to place things on in the bathroom) but comfortable and clean, pleasantly furnished. We slept on the best pillows of our life! All of this in... More 

Helpful?
Thank IreneGugliotta
Pant
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights and cannot recommend enough. Really clean, good facilities. When sat in the room you could have been in the middle of knowwhere it was so quiet. Really warm welcome from Andy and the recommended Abbey Bar up the road was excellent. I would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Although I had paid for 3 nights in advance, and had done nothing wrong I was thrown out on the second night in the early hours of the morning Although I have demanded my money back I have not received a refund for the two nights

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you had done nothing wrong here! however I must disagree, as advised by Police there was aggressive behavior in the street towards your partner (passers by called the police) your partner had to be brought home at 4am by police to obtain her belongings, I know you had some drinks and were not in the... More 

Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2016

This is a lovely guest house. We had a charming and well-appointed room up a couple of flights of stairs; quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Kim was extremely helpful - a very lovely lady. She gave us great advice about where to eat, buses to catch etc. We had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clarin... More 

Helpful?
Thank TGChrissey
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2016

It is a very nice hotel. The room is huge and very beautiful, beds are comfortable and the staff is very nice. City center is just a 20 minute walk away. But there was no WC in the room and we had to share it. It wasn't such a bad thing, though, as people were very kind. I totally recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Álvaro B
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Beautiful victorian house. We had a lovely room at the top, nice comfortable beds and clean room. The owner was extra nice and showed us what we should see and where we can grab a bite to eat. All his recommendationd were great. The location is ok, 20 minute walk to the city center and probably much quicker with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alenka_travels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I would just like to say what lovely people Kim and Andy the owners are I've been to clarin guest house twice now and goin again in August and new year nothing is to much trouble for them they go out of there way to help if needed New Year's Eve day in returnin back to bb what a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judyjones63
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. We got in extremely late but the owners gave us easy self-checkin instructions so that we could get right to bed. The room was spacious for European standards. The beds were extremely comfy! We had a shared toilet on the floor, but the shower was one floor lower and shared by two... More 

Helpful?
Thank jelly813
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

I've just spent the weekend here with my friend and I'd highly recommend this lovely guest house. We were at a hen party and came in late both nights (quietly and considerately of course) so all we needed was a place to rest our heads. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was spacious and stylish. We had tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#205 of 444 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#138 of 444 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#93 of 444 in Edinburgh
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#57 of 444 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#117 of 444 in Edinburgh
174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#35 of 444 in Edinburgh
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Clarin Guest House

Address: 4 East Mayfield | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Clarin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Clarin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clarin Guest House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clarin Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“1st floor is fine for less able bodied access”
 of 5 bubbles 46Joanne, Aug 26, 2014 | Read review
“Room number 3.”
  • Our love nest
 of 5 bubbles Metallifan1993, Feb 16, 2014 | Read review
“We were up the top floor and it was a wonderful room with ensuite.”
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
 of 5 bubbles Yogi13_11, Nov 17, 2013 | Read review
“Not all rooms have an en suite but the bathroom was across the hall and it wasn't a problem. There was a sink in the room as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 987garethd, Aug 27, 2013 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with an ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteMin, Jul 26, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay