We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
#46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,495: English reviews
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Stay was two days they do all they can to make it a enjoyable time if asked , but the room was a little disappointing , parking was a nightmare , but lots to see and do and experience in Edinburgh price was way to high for what you get unfortunately. ,,,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kodie J
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kodie J, I am sorry to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one due to the room and parking along with value for money. My sincere apologies that we did not deliver the DoubleTree experience during your stay however I am happy to read that your overall Edinburgh visit was an enjoyable one. Kind regards Ronald Little...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2016

It is fantastic stay with exceptional customer services.Bedroom was very spacious with superb view of the castle. Breakfast had loads of choices with pancakes and waffles for kids. Staff was very courteous and professional . I highly recommend the hotel for the perfect location and lovely stay we had over Christmas period.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheLilygateHotel
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lilygate411, Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Christmas period. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the children appreciated the waffles and pancakes for breakfast. I hope that you will visit again soon with the family and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Reviewed January 3, 2016

Location is excellent in terms of being close to the station, close to the old town and Edinburgh castle. If you're on a bit of a budget - you can also save money on breakfast or other hotel food by popping to the nearby Sainsbury's local. There are also a couple of strip bars a few doors from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawking1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear hawking1, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that you found the location within the city suited your needs and that enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Edinburgh. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Portsmouth, RI, United States
Reviewed January 3, 2016

This was a situation where my Hilton Honors saved me. My husband and I were in Edinburgh and had made reservations at a hotel via Groupon. The hotel had no record of our reservation and would not honor the Groupon. My husband and I were stuck without accommodations. Besides which we had already paid money for the other room via...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renee W
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Renee W, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. Although I am sorry to read that the other hotel let your down with you voucher offering, I am delighted that you used you loyalty with Hilton to get you out of the terrible situation. I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit to Scotland and this hotel made it even more enjoyable! The rooms ( we had 2) were spacious, updated, clean. The bar was fun and the barmaid Lina was fun to speak with. The location made sight seeing easy. The front desk staff of Lisa, Florin and Liana were very pleasant, kind and helpful! Thank you!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jane b
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear jane b, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Lina, Florin, Lisa and Liana all stood out. I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Spent 400 on a one nighter dinner bed and breakfast. arrived to be told that the restaurant was full. looked empty to me. eventually told - table for 5 or 5.30. chose 5.30 and we (2) were the only ones in. By the time we left, 7pm, 1/10th full so where the problem came? and we had booked when booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyhhoward
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear andyhhoward, I am disappointed to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one and can hope that you spoke with the Manager on Duty to ensure this was dealt with at the time and to your satisfaction. I am sorry that your stay was a poor one as this is not the lasting impression we would like any...

Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Hotel easy to find and one of the warmest welcomes I've ever had in any hotel! Unfortunately I didn't catch the ladies name but she was efficient, friendly and so helpful. Really sets the tone for your stay. The room was nicely and relatively newly furnished with warm smart colours and a great view of the castle on the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cymru1975
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Cymru1975, Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh City Centre. I am happy to read that your stay was a comfortable one with only the restaurant falling slightly short due to the look and feel. This is clearly something that we can work on and one for which will be discussed with the Manager. I appreciate your...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Last minute decision to stay in Edinburgh. We found the room very reasonably priced considering location. Room is spacious, a few tired areas but still good value for money. Clean bathroom, good shower, friendly staff. Didn't try breakfast. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aidenbuk
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Aidenbuk, Thank you for choosing the hotel for your last minute visit to Edinburgh. Although I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one, I am sorry to read that you found some areas tired. As a newly refurbished hotel with a fully equipped maintenance team we are constantly working to keep the hotel up to...

Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Great location, huge rooms, well maintained, adequate gym, helpful staff...but what I really want to praise is the breakfast selection. I'd struggled to find information when booking on what was included in breakfast so we were pleasantly surprised-they should definitely be shouting about it. Cereals, dried fruit, nuts, cold cheese, meats, fruits, fruit salad, breads, beans, black pudding, sausages, eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah W
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hannah W, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Although I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, I am disappointed to read that the breakfast was inconsistent. We do have a great offering as we have tried to constantly change from guest feedback however the deliver of the offering is important to...

Champaign, United States
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Excellent overall experience (extremely helful hotel staff, superb room quality, delicious breakfast, convenient location, and great value for the price)! Undoubtedly, this hotel will be my first and only choice when I visit Edinburgh next time!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirankumar T
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kirankumar T, I am delighted to read that we are now your first and only choice when visiting Edinburgh and appreciate your time in sharing this. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

688 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (321)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
432 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,676 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,516 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $141 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travelers.
41 questions
Ask a question
Wisconsin
Dublin, Ireland
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a Castle view if available”
  • View from the room - can just about see the castle ;)
 of 5 bubbles Pinkpebbles, 1 week ago | Read review
“Mention again that you are a Hilton Honors member and want to stay on that floor.”
 of 5 bubbles trillium616, 1 week ago | Read review
“opt for exec roo with castle view eg room 214”
  • beautiful fixtures and fttings
 of 5 bubbles Margo29, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for castle view”
 of 5 bubbles stephenskier123, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floor - lower floors quite dark, and louder street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jenandluke, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question