We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Agoda.com$93*
View Deal
#90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$125*
$93*
Great Deal
$108*
$125*
$93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
Start your review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my eight-night-stay at the hotel. It has just the perfect location - situated in a quite area in New Town and a 5-minute-walk into the city centre. I stayed in a single bedroom - average size and interior for that price. So, absolutely no complains. Breakfast was good (Tea, coffee, orange juice, cheese, bowl of fresh fruits,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie B
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your week visit to Edinburgh. I cannot agree with you more in regards to location. We are very lucky to be located so close to the main attractions, yet far enough away from the hustle...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, We got a lovely welcome and nothing was too much trouble, score of three is because everything was just a bit tired and we were the top floor which was a hell of a climb! Breakfast was ok, nothing to complain about you get what you pay for but wouldn't go back other than to see the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, as we are a Georgian Townhouse, there is no elevator, however we are always more than happy to move you to a lower floor should it be possible, or if we know in advance. Saddened to hear that you won't return, even though there is nothing...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

really good filling breakfast, staff are very friendly! rooms are of decent size, and if you return as a customer and let them know they will upgrade your room for free! it happened to us and we loved the main suite, felt very posh lol so we return everytime we stay in edinburgh

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tasha T
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tasha, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh. It's great that you returned to stay with us, and we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade to our Junior Suite. On behalf of myself and the team,...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly, helpful staff couldn't do enough for you..Excellent position for all Edinburgh amenities. Only problem we were in room 27 on fourth floor and no lift. Would definitely use again if visiting Edinburgh butask for a lower room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Glad the staff were of assistance and that we were able to help where needed. I can only apoligise that you were on the 3rd floor. Due to the hotel being in a Georgian Townhouse, we are unable to install an elevator. We are always more than...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely two night stay in this very friendly hotel. We arrived early and were informed we had been upgraded to a suite. Very nice surprise! As we expected our room wasn't ready but we left our luggage and went to explore the city. On our return the bags had been put in the room which was full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianandkaren2014
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian & Karen, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh. We were more than happy to upgrade your room to our suite. All rooms are equipped with such items as listed, and complimentary wifi is always included...

Kungsbacka, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pretty close to the city centre and still pretty cheap. The room was okay but the battery on the remote was dead so I had problem looking at TV. The bathroom had seen better days and could have had a better shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stefan, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the batteries in your TV remote were dead, this can be easily solved by letting reception know, and we could of replaced them for you there and then. We are very lucky to be located so close to the city centre, yet far...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcoming staff, we arrived a bit early so room not ready, but we were able to leave our luggage and go off to explore. On return, the luggage had already been placed in the very spacious room, which was warm and very comfortable too. The continental breakfast was perfectly adequate and nicely presented (actually made a nice change from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh. Our staff are always happy to assist where possible and I am glad we were able to provide you with the relevant information you needed. On behalf of myself and the...

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Lovely clean, warm rooms with original features and lighting. Easy walking distance of the city centre, good restaurants and the Castle. We would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GabrielleS50
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gabrielle, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Edinburgh. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful Georgian townhouse with original features, and also very lucky to be located where we are. I cannot agree with you more in...

Boldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2017

The staff were polite, friendly and approachable. Our package included a glass of procecco for each of us, however at the time we asked for our glass, they had ran out. So instead they offered us a drink of anything from the bar instead, can't get better service than that. The non cooked breakfasts were nice there was a selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabrum26
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was most enjoyable. Our staff take great pride in offering exceptional customer service and we are always more that happy to assist. I can only apologies that we did not have prosecco, however I am pleased to...

Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Spacious, beautiful rooms with a chandelier and everything. The hotel also has a quaint private pub on the ground floor. Location is a stone's throw away from deans village. Also city centre is a 25 min walk or you can take the team is only 5 min walk away. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julian, Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that that you enjoyed your stay and that our Manor Suite was found to be a beautiful room. We are very lucky to be located to where we are, as it's good to be so central yet, so far...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

294 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,065 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
666 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $102 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on a lower level because there is no lift but the sound level (esp. phone ringing) is higher”
stephaniebM3883LA, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a low floor unless your very fit.”
685hazelg, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor has bested views but more stairs to climb”
gabrum26, Apr 15, 2017 | Read review
“We had the Manor Suite every comfortable and clean. Basement room but felt spacious”
francena2015, Apr 1, 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded day before , well worth it for larger room and cooked breakfast ..”
janbram66, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$93* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$108
TripAdvisor$93
Cancelon$125
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates