We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 488: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Thistle is in an area where all the properties are Georgian and is ideal to get away from the frantic side of Edinburgh in the festival season. The interior has been modernised without spoiling the charm of the outside. The room we had was a good size, bed was comfortable and facilities good. The staff were very helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed there 17 -19 Aug 2016 The hotel is well situated just off the main streets and 10 mins walk to Haymarket train station or 10 mins walk to Princess street, staff are really friendly and very helpful. My single room was small but very clean and had everything I needed for my short stay. I didn't book breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank b101j
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good situation. Friendly staff. Quality is poor re towels and very plastic lavatory and shower. Not able to use Windows as the cords are all broken. Service was good and friendly. Summoned taxis and carried luggage up and down for us

Helpful?
Thank Humbleton-13
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us Humbleton-13. I would first of all like to apologies in regards to your towels and your room in general. Our housekeepers will change your towels for you no problem, if they are left on the ground in your bathroom. To help the environment, towels will be washed if needed... More 

Tashkent Province, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A sad representation core staff were keen though apparently lacking training and experience. Booked through Ag***.com online with filtered parking and breakfast included, Thistle interpreted this as parking some way away at 15Pounds per night and breakfast was supermarket processed ham and cheese,bread that did not fit the toasters, half of which were defunct, whilst arguably a slice of last... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnie H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent cooked breakfast, ideal location close to both the tram stop and bus stops and really helpful staff. We used the hotel as a base to see the Edinburgh Tattoo and the Fringe Festival. We also recommend a trip to see the Royal Yacht Britannia - a short bus ride away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that the hotel was able to accommodate you, while you visited the Edinburgh festival. Our staff thank you for your kind words, and I'm glad we were able to help. The Royal Yacht Britannia, is definitely something worth seeing while your visiting the... More 

Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently stayed at the Thistle Hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland and it was a very pleasant experience. Ian, at the front desk, greeted us warmly and helped us with our luggage (since there is no elevator). Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Since we were coming from a 10 day tour of Ireland, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank pug1214
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

A massive thank you for taking time out of your day to review the hotel on your recent stay with us. It was my pleasure that I could be assistance to you during your stay, and I'm happy that the breakfast was enjoyed. Here at the the Thistle Hotel, myself and all staff take great pride in making sure that... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights mid week during the fringe. Staff were helpful, courteous, friendly and efficient. Hotel was clean and comfortable, bedroom was warm and very quiet. On the downside at £500 room only (sleeps 3) for 2 nights the general level of decor was very poor and shabby - the finishing in the en-suitewas shockingly bad - i cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I would like first of all start by apologizing that you found your room decor and en-suite very shabby and poor. The room that you were in is one of our newly refurbished rooms, and I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small hotel friendly staff couldn't fault it bit off the main city centre just a short walk away. The inclusive continental breakfast was lovely plenty of choice to suit all.will be back next year. Meals can be ordered in through reception for a small charge.if you want nightlife this might not be the hotel for you. Just small bar for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and that all amenities suited your stay. Very glad to hear that you will be back with us next year, and we most certainly look forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arriving we were greeted well. So hopes were hi. Check in was quick and brief. We were given our key and off we went up the stairs. We got to our door and the first impression wasn't good. Handle has obviously been taken off and put on time and time again and was loose and screws ready to fall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nickyo85
Hjoerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was helpful, the building is beatiful, the room was okay, the chair a bit too low for the table. The reading light could have been stronger. It was storming during the last night of my stay and some elements were knocking and rustling. It made falling asleep a bit more difficult. But that could happen in any old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joel P
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joel, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Your comments are valued and taking on board. I can only apoligise that the weather was a bit stormy during your stay with us in Edinburgh, and that hopefully the weather can be better should you find yourself back in Edinburgh again. Scottish summer can be very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

253 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $96 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay