We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

#96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The service I experienced was excellent. My room was big and comfortable The location was near to the center of Edinburgh The best part of the Hotel was the continental breakfast it was fresh every morning

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I did wonder what this hotel would be like but I was pleasantly surprised. Very pleasant staff. Disappointed that we had to pay for parking @ £3 an hour until 6.30? ( suppose it is a city!) Situated in a quiet street yet close enough to walk to Edinburgh castle. On arrival the reception area and stairs seemed a little... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff were very friendly, room comfortable & clean & the breakfast spot on, can't fault it at all. My only 'complaint' (although no fault of the hotel) was the location, it was a 15 minute walk to the areas we were visiting or a taxi ride (not cheap anywhere in Edinburgh) would recommend this to anyone based on my comments... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with and that our staff were there to help out where required. I fully understand your comment regarding taxi's, as this can be very expensive in the capital city. We are more than happy to advise... More 

San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was three of us staying here for four days of our July holiday. Very clean, nicely setup room. The staff was wonderful. Every time we asked about visiting an attraction, they made sure we were fully taken care of. Cab/car service. Tickets. Meal reservations. They even tracked down tartan cloth for my girlfriend on short notice as a last... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CKayaks
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff were able to assist you in what ever way possible. We are always more than happy to help with any query you may have. We really do appreciate you taking time out of your day to... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quiet hotel well located, 10 minute walk from Princes Street. A bit disappointed by the breakfast, large choice of cereals, but no cheddar or scones, only ham and "gruyere". Not really typical Scottish breakfast:-( Perfect welcome, alls the guys were nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Delphine V
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. I'm glad your overall stay was enjoyable and that our staff were able to help to make your stay comfortable. We have taken note of your comments in regards to breakfast. Our continental breakfast does not include scones, as we don't feel this is a breakfast item.... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here early March 2016 via groupon, great value for money with Edinburgh centre being a short 10 minute walk away. Nothing but good things to say about the staff, we arrived half an hour after the listed last check in time (thanks to a horrific accident on the M6) but the manager had no problems with this after a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Si C
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time out to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff made your stay so enjoyable. We most certainly hope to see you again, in the very near future. More 

India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in month of June with family. Nice small old hotel,neat and clean. But unfortunately we were attended by manager (Iaim) who was extremely rude, and doesn't know the meaning of hospitality. The moment we checked in he asked for credit card as security and I denied and preferred giving cash as security deposit. He forced... More 

Helpful?
Thank sac_jain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel. Only negative was the continental breakfast with little variety - only one type of ham or cheese. Clean and a 15 minute walk to the City Centre. Room was OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. We do take all comments on board, and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We do hope to see you again, if you were ever back in the city of Edinburgh. Thank you More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

enjoyable,nice,clean,happy atmosphere,good breakfast as it was continental. It's a Georgian building so it had bags of character which also means it needs a few tweaks hear and there but overall good A

Helpful?
1 Thank nataliedixon972
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the Georgian town house features as much as we do. We really do appreciate you taking time out of your day to review us, and we do hope to see you again. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I want to give it five stars, but we do have to be honest here. It's a beautiful hotel, with loads of old world charm. But with the old world feeling, you do lose a bit of the modern day standards of which many travelers have become accustom. This is totally acceptable in my book. The neighborhood in which this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie B
Thistle H, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be helpful for when you needed us. As you have stated there is no lift, due to us being a Georgian town house, but if for reason you were to visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

243 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Channings Hotel
#40 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $106 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay