We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,881: English reviews
Darlington
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here (2 adults and 2 young girls) in February for a 2 night break. Location wise this hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Princes Street and 5 minute or so walk from Grassmarket. The red open top bus stops just over the road from our hotel. We walked from Edinburgh Waverley and found the best route...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlo672
Harrogate, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with my daughter for her 13th birthday, first impressions were excellent, the staff were very accommodating, we got an early check in (12pm instead of 2pm) and also a late checkout the following day of 3pm. They gave us a map of the City to help us find various places we were looking for and marked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wackygirl74
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and compliments – We strive to make each guests' experience special and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We visited just after new year and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was clean and modern. It is undergoing refurbishment, however it wasn't in obvious need of this. The only complaint I have is the room temperature is excessively hot. The air conditioning unit isn't fit for purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annonymous1234567
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for two nights - very comfortable rooms and well thought out layout of room. Bar area and restaurant very nice. The staff very friendly - especially Rosa who was very helpful indeed. Lovely pool area too. Easy walking for castle and restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights for his birthday and paid £220 without breakfast and this was advertised as a 'offer' so the fact this is a reduced price for what you get shocked us both. Within the first hour of arriving I had to call reception to complain about the builders in the room next door that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleighl0uise95
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Can not fault the staff, decent buffet breakfast & located in the heart of Edinburgh but the stay was let down by the room. Staff were very friendly & helpful. One morning my wife was not feeling 100% so when I went down to breakfast & told the person sitting people at tables & she said if I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMS51
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, however I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the noise on Sunday. I am happy to hear that you will be coming back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Like any Novotel this is a clean, modern and well equipped place to stay. A short taxi ride from Waverley Station (approx £5) the hotel boasts 6 floors of accommodation, a bar, buffet restaurant, swimming pool and steam room. We were delighted with the size and comfort of our room and enjoyed a meal in the rock music themed bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reddog91
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Our location is indeed one of our main asset, along with our service and comfort. We are delighted that you had a lovely time with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

For a business trip it's perfect. Great helpful staff, very responsive and the rooms are large, light and well-equipped. Having a gym and small pool makes it a great choice. I'm impressed every time I stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HuldraHunter
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you were satisfied with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great Hotel in a very convenient location. good breakfast clean rooms and very helpful staff, the grassmarket is Just six minutes walk,the staff also organized the birthday of my daughter.... very very nice ---------------

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcwild
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I agree with the previous review which states this shouldn't be a four star hotel. The reception and bar area of the hotel look lovely, but the rooms need some TLC. The net curtains had many holes in them, the TV was tiny with not many channels, the bed was poorly made, the sink would not drain and instead would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e83f83n
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I do take your comments very seriously and will make sure to investigate further. If you would like to talk to me personally further about the issues you encountered during your stay, please call me directly at 0131 656 3500....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,996 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,092 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $91 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Newton, Massachusetts
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Queen one is super spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles D7775MGalexanderr, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the top floor at the rear. It was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 2Wabisabi, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Brilliant ”
 of 5 bubbles sanjeer2017, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“This is a great, quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles fkmcja, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Fantastic Value at a Reasonable Price!”
 of 5 bubbles 744angelah, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question