We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murrayfield Hotel and House

Booking.com$95*
View Deal
#39 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Murrayfield Hotel and House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,728: English reviews
Start your review of Murrayfield Hotel and House
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed today NEW

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel and it's the staff and location that draws us back every time. We only stayed here one night this time (towards the end of April) and I'm not sure if there was some mix-up but we were given a room that was clearly for a disabled person----complete with wet room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
rome
Reviewed today NEW

Just got back from two nights at this hotel, having gone to Edinburgh to run the marathon. Room was small but spotless, with comfortable bed and good bathroom where everything worked perfectly. The hotel is very handily placed on the way into town from the airport and the express bus to and from the airport, which passes every 10 minutes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinRome
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent hotel, only a short bus ride to Haymarket which suited me fine. Breakfast was outstanding, staff were very helpful. My single room was lovely the bathroom and shower were clean and functional. The only let down was the tea in the room great choice of green ,summer fruit, earl grey, but no ordinary tea bags to be found, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George V
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed here a lot on business and the rooms are always to an excellent standard. Staff are very helpful and always friendly. The food in the Bothy is very good especially the breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here whether on business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a very nice hotel. Clean and neat. Helpful and friendly staff. The room we had was on the first floor. Nicely decorated room. Comfy bed. Bathroom was clean and neat. It's easy to park your car an go to the center of Edinburgh by buss. The bus stop is 20 meters from the entrance of the hotel. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jee H
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. All in all I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay but disappointing to read you didn't enjoy your breakfast. We have a very competitive priced breakfast and our full Scottish is indeed the works in terms of cooked breakfast. It generally receives...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The good - historical building so quite lovely visually as is on-site restaurant Bothy's - staff is quite friendly and tries to be accommodating - really easy to access bus into downtown Edinburgh, takes 10-15 minutes - hotel staff really nice about handling luggage (I.e., they took it all up stairs which was REALLY good since we were on 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanatsd
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. Being a beautiful listed property as we are the installation of an elevator would be a huge challenge. We only go as far as 2 floors, not 4 as you suggest but I do hope the staff offered to assist with luggage? I understand that we...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic hotel, from the minute we walked into reception we were greeted with warm welcome and it continued through out our stay. We had a great large beautiful room and the only down side was the view unfortunately, but the staff and the food by far exceeded all expectations. The First Lady that served us in the bar, blonde and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tley2016
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon to you all, I am delighted to read such a glowing review encompassing so many area and so many staff across the hotel. It truly does capture the spirit of the team I am fortunate enough to work alongside here at The Murrayfield Hotel every one of which really does love what they do. I am pleased to...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel setting was very comfortable and the front desk clark was very kind and friendly. His name is Cherif. We love this guy who would do everything he could for you, and very patiently answered all the questions we had. He's wonderful and very helpful! I would recommend my friend to stay in this hotel in the future. Or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yun6fu
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review - I am delighted to see that Cherif has been acknowledged personally as he really will do everything possible to help guests and make their welcome and stay as comfortable as he can. I hope we can welcome you back and remember, if we are lucky enough...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for one night and was upgraded to the house. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely breakfast. Stayed here to visit the EICC which was a short taxi ride. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise I
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We are indeed around 10 minutes from the EICC and the City Centre - I'm glad to read our breakfast got your day off to a good start and that you were well looked after. if we are fortunate enough to have you return to us please do remember to book directly for the best possible rates. With...

Dijon, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a decent little place extraordinarily well placed for going to see events at Murrayfield (we went to the Champions Cup Final Rugby there). I guess in this "dog eat dog" environment it's considered ok to rip you off if everyone else is doing the same thing, I should not be disappointed but these guys double their prices on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 171,959
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, I am sorry to read that you felt you were being 'ripped off' which wrongly suggests some policy on our part that made you unaware of the rate. We do not set our rates arbitrarily but have a dedicated team who do look across our competitors and general rates in the city to ensure we are offering the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

895 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (481)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Classic Double (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Twin Room (88)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (7)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,255 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,305 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: $84 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bottom floors - no elevator”
Susanatsd, 1 week ago | Read review
“The location was perfect for us. It was close to a bus station which made it easy for us to hop on and off for the city tours.”
yun6fu, 1 week ago | Read review
“Bus service to city center right outside front door.”
bobmantis, 1 week ago | Read review
“super location-walking distance or take the bus to old town area”
T3737VZjillw, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“rear rooms were quiet but look out onto stone, the patio door cannot be opened fully(this is the only window) in order to get fresh air”
D7947OTjohng, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$95* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$183
Orbitz.com$95
Travelocity$95
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates