We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Murrayfield Hotel and House

Show Prices
#43 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Murrayfield Hotel and House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,401: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed this old house - rooms were luxurious at a great price - location to Edinburgh was close - only a 10 pound cab fare. Restaurant served great food and plenty of wine list pretty good. Staff helped organise all sorts of things with no problem. Parking no problem and WIFI good.

Helpful?
Thank Leah R
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for valentines day. Very modern and nicely decorated. There is a cheap and easy bus which goes past the hotel which can take you into the centre of Edinburgh which only takes 5-10 minutes. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. However we'd paid for the larger upgraded room, and found that it was still pretty small. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess G
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All rounder and we will be returning, everything was on hand in the room such as slippers, dressing gowns, hair dryer, GHD straighteners. The bathroom was also immaculate and the shower room was first class.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank allanbentley3
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went here for a three day visit during the Fringe Festival. The hotel is very nice, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comforable and the location is ideal, 10 minutes into the city centre and 5 minutes from Murrayfield Stadium. The hotel restaurant was very nice too. I'd recommend the city bus tour as a way to see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard K
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning Richard K, Thank you for such a fantastic five star review of your recent stay with us; we really do appreciate it! We are all so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to take advantage of our location during the Fringe Festival. Please remember to contact us directly when... More 

Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I realized later that there are a lot of these old houses on the street that have been converted to hotels. The Murrayfield looks and feels like a manor house, rooms are really small and the bathroom is smaller still. But the room was clean and quite except for the random cleaning/vacuum noises that would come on at night. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ms_musafir
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning Ms_musafir, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us; we really do appreciate it! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh during the Fringe Festival, and that you were able to take advantage of our location. As we are not a purpose built hotel, our room sizes... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chipped paint work, filthy carpets, dirty walls, over priced breakfast, unfriendly waiters/waitresses not what I would expect from an alleged 3 star hotel. Yes there is a premium to be paid at this time of year, but the hotel failed to meet expected standards. The breakfast choice at £10 per person needs to be looked at as the continental choice... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank muddyh67
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello muddyh67, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us; we really do appreciate all feedback received so that we can improve. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, and that you found the breakfast choice to be poor. I will investigate these issues fully so that... More 

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 10th August during our honeymoon. The hotel had put roses on the bed when we arrived. We stayed in room 19 it was a little warm but there was a fan in the room. Dinner on Wednesday evening was lovely. We have to give a special mention to Andy, the breakfast waiter. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Evening Rebecca B, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that we were able to play such a small part in celebrating your honeymoon! I have passed your comments on to Andy as he is... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with kind staff and beautiful room. We stayed in one of the luxury room two buildings next to the hotel. Very satisfied with everything. We had breakfast and dinner, which was also enjoying. The hotel restaurant is famous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank serdarboras
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Evening serdarboras, Thank you for such a wonderful 5 star review of your stay; it really has brightened up our day! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe rooms, and that you found our staff to be so kind. Please do let us know directly when you are next returning... More 

Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for four nights in July. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was due to it's close proximity and ease of getting to the airport, the other was for the golf. We had a deluxe king room and found the room specious, bed was very comfortable with nice linens, bathroom was of good size with nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Murrayfield Hotel; we really appreciate all feedback we recieve from our guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be perfect for your needs :-) It's always fantastic to hear that you would recommend us... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I appreciate there is a premium to be paid during the Edinburgh festival, but for the price paid I would expect a hotel in far better condition. Chipped and dirty paint work, stained carpets and a general shabby un cared for interior. The breakfast at £10 per person is vastly over priced for the quality and choice. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Evening Martin H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us; we really do appreciate all feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, and I have passed on your comments to our maintenance team. I am also sorry for your experience with our breakfast service,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

747 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Classic Double (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Twin Room (88)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#22 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: $79 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay