We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Edinburgh Carlton

Save
Share
19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
$179
View deal
Expedia.com
Hilton
Booking.com$179
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com$192
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (689)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (313)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Updated 11/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#108 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Blending perfectly into the historic surroundings of the Royal Mile, Hilton Edinburgh Carlton is an iconic element of the city. The building dates back to 1900s and is part of the impressive North Bridge which links Edinburgh's Old and New town together, giving you easy access to countless shopping, dining and entertainment. Once one of Edinburgh's top department stores, the building was fully refurbished in 2016 to bring the décor back to its stylish best. Our modern accommodations offer complimentary WiFi access, ergonomic work area and Suite Dreams by Serta(R) beds with luxurious linens. Select an executive room or suite for extra space and amenities including access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast and refreshments.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
1876Reviews102Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 911
  • 511
  • 235
  • 124
  • 96
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
88Ron wrote a review Yesterday
Sedgefield, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
Although I have rated the hotel as very good there were a few things that were disappointing. On arrival we checked in at 15:00 and was told the room we had booked was still not ready but would be available in 30 minute. We received a free drink voucher and used this at the bar. We returned at 15:30 and was told the room was still not ready and they could not estimate when it would be available. We were offered a Guest Queen room instead of the Guest King room. As we had a table booked at a restaurant at 17:15 we had to accept the Guest Queen Room. We ended up at the room at 15:45 which was not ideal. We were informed by the check in desk the room we booked was not available as the hotel was “ very busy” Having booked the room over eight months in advance it was poor excuse in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don’t book the hotel when they may be “very busy”
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
janiceandbryn wrote a review Jul 2021
Willerby, United Kingdom162 contributions131 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Despite the fact that Scotland is still in the grip of covid restrictions, the hotel managed to provide a lovely five day break. The room was everything you expect from Hilton - clean with super comfortable bed and pillows. Housekeeping was when we wanted it by arrangement and even though we were on a very busy street, we did not hear a sound. Breakfast was in pre-booked time slots and you had to pre-order what you wanted to eat. Despite these somewhat regimented arrangements, the super professional breakfast staff, especially Kym and Caira, made it a very enjoyable start to the day. Well done to everyone in these very trying times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded Jul 24, 2021
Dear Janice and Bryn, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton and for giving us perfect feedback. I am so glad to see you felt the hotel was clean and our staff were helpful. Kym and Ciara will be delighted they made such a positive impact on your stay. We are expecting to welcome you back to our hotel next time you will travel to our area - please let me know if we can assist with booking and arrangements. Kind Regards, Claire Livingston  General Manager 
Read more
S5696JSjenm wrote a review Dec 1
1 contribution
I stayed at the Carlton lst weekend with my kids and some friends and cannot reccommend it highly enough. The hotel itself is stunning, and beautifully decorated which really put us in the mood for Christmas. We had a wonerful dinner in the restaurant on the Friday evening and couldnt fault anything about it. Having considered eating outside of the hotel I am so glad we chose not to - the food was delicious and the staff were so accomodating and great with the kids. Special mention to Javier who is an absolute credit to the hotel. Despite how busy the hotel obviously was our say was fantastic. Clean, modern rooms, amazing food and staff who went out of their way to help. Really cant wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded yesterday
Dear S5696JSjenm, Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to with us at the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton. I am delighted to learn that your experience exceeded your expectations, we pride ourselves on being a very friendly, welcoming and Javier will be very pleased to see he has made a lasting impression. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant return journey home and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Claire Livingston Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Read more
carol c wrote a review Nov 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
Just back from a lovely girls weekend in Edinburgh, my 2 friends took our young daughters to stay at the hotel for the weekend and it was amazing from start to finish. The hotel is so warm and Chritmassy with lovely decorations. The food in the restaurant on Friday night was amazing and the team were so accommodating to the kids, tweaking dishes etc. The adjoining room was perfect again lovely and warm and clean. Breakfast was busy but you never felt rushed and all of the staff looked happy and keen to please. Thank you for making our weekend so special
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded yesterday
Dear Carolc63, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton. We were delighted to read that you had such a great stay with your children and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Barry N wrote a review Nov 2021
EAST SUSSEX6 contributions4 helpful votes
First impression was good as Susana on Reception chatted about Edinburgh, up graded our room and was quick and efficient. November visit so it was nice to have warm reception areas and warm bedroom. Only disappointment? Marco Pierre White restaurant which was virtually empty, food was unimpressive and with so many restaurants and bars within walking distance we should have eaten out. Great location with shops, buses, bars and restaurants plus castle and museums all within walking distance . Great Break. All in all a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 4 days ago
Dear BarryN378, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience, and we were delighted to welcome you. Your feedback regarding the restaurant has been shared with the managers for their review and action. Thank you for highlighting Susana; she will be very glad to see her hard work recognised by our valued guests. We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton again very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo edinburgh, carlton hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
211
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.3 miles), Edinburgh Old Town (0.2 miles), and Royal Mile (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, The Haggis Box, and Howies Waterloo Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hilton Edinburgh Carlton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Edinburgh Carlton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Portuguese, and Polish.