We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Show Prices
#80 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,428: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed from Sun 4th Sept for 3 nights. Family room on second floor needed a lick of paint. Bathroom clean , floor slippy - only a shower over bath which was quite high to get in to especially with arthritic knees ! Beds very comfortable. Room extremely noisy at night! On reflection should have asked for a change of room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank madakasam
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Apex Grassmarket. I am sorry that you did not find your stay enjoyable due to some issues with your room. We always try to encourage guests to let us know prior to arrival if they have any specific needs/requirements, but we are aware that is not always an easy thing to do. Alternatively, we... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only negative was the rooms are too hot! No air-condition Rooms were decent enough and modern. Nice reception area and staff were great, good location close to lots of restaurants and bars. Approx £20 in a taxi to/from airport. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel but the bar area looked really smart.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron_Hall
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Apex Grassmarket. I am sorry to hear that your room too hot during your stay. You are correct in saying that we do not have A/C in the hotel, this is a situation we are looking to address as soon as we can, as A/C is something of a necessity these days - even... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel and I must say that the quality of the food for the in room service was outstanding and has massively improved...the breakfast though has gone down hill and not very good...service was very slow and the general standard of the hot food has declined, which is a shame. I have stayed at either the Apex Grassmarket, International or... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y2046GCjohnc
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Apex Grassmarket. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay this time, particularly the improvement in your in-room dining experience. I am sorry, however, that you didn't enjoy your breakfast so much, and your feedback will hopefully help us as we strive to improve that part of... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner had a weekend away, i enjoyed the fact that it was very close to the train station and the town centre, there fore the location was great. Staff was very friendly with us, the only downside was the sauna was not working and the fire alarm went off in the morning, however i did not mind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Apex Grassmarket. It is great to hear that you enjoyed nearly every aspect of your stay, particularly the location, convenient for most popular attractions, including the Scotch Whisky Experience (I think that is what you meant!) which is 10 minutes away, as is the Castle, Museum etc. Sorry about the fire alarm!... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Apex Grassmarket Hotel was in a great area. We were looking for a hotel with pubs/ restaurants within a short walking distance, and there were several in the Grassmarket area. Easy to catch a bus or taxi too. We were on the 4th floor with a great view of Edinburgh Castle. Only drawback is that they don't have air... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lsmith0290
Glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were generally positive about or stay in the Apex Grassmarket but there were a couple of niggles. The main one was that the room was hot. Very hot. To quote Alan Partridge it was hotter than Debbie Harry being fed a vindaloo by Pan’s People in a sauna - in Bangkok! There was a thermostat but it was as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Button71
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No water from arrival friday until saturday morning. No help from the staff. Could not use water/bath/toilet. No compensation or moving to another hotel. The City was wonderfull with A lot of experiences. Good location, near most attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Majbritt B
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Apex Grassmarket. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with a burst pipe which left a large percentage of the city without water. It is very seldom such a thing would happen, as you can imagine, and everyone here at... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in the hotel for the Edinburgh festival this year. Not only was it a brilliant venue it really was in such a good location for exploring the rest of the city. Right near the high street with brilliant views of the castle, I would have to say this is the place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.

Helpful?
Thank tbamandascott
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On check in we were not informed of the fact that the hotel was without water. No contingency plan was in place for example supplying guests with drinking water! Nice rooms but extremely noisy location. Noise till at least 3am from people leaving clubs etc. Coffee facilities in room really poor quality. Also no light around mirror in bedroom. Unlikely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Apex Grassmarket. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wonder, did you speak with a Guest Relations Manager during your stay? We would always encourage a guest to come and see us, as there are many issues that you have mentioned which we would have... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Better selection of restaurant /bar food would be better. But there is plenty of places to eat round about. Breakfast was ok, but had better for lot cheaper, in other hotels. Hotel was clean tidy and apart from a burst water main and having no water the first night, it was a enjoyable weekend away .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 17117
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (713)
Viewed
View from Room (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (169)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (245)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
King Room (101)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#25 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,629 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Heights Restaurant
Heights Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Price Range: $108 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay