We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Show Prices
#62 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,143: English reviews
Level Contributor
233 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Hate these places, but having found myself alone in Edinburgh at midnight, my options were limited. Uncomfortable bed, noisy and basic. A pane of glass had been removed from its frame and leant up against the wall - no idea why and was too tired to go back down and ask why - hope they didn't think it was me.......... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoppo74
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re sorry to learn that the external noise impacted your stay. All Travelodge Hotels include double or triple glazing to try and keep noise heard outside to a minimum. We also work with local communities to try and reduce the local noise that might impact our customers during the night.... More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

nice large room , comfortable bed and newly refresh bathroom. Our room was situated on the upper floor and was very quiet. well located in city centre. Friendly staff. The hotel does not serve any breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Building outside looked very run down dirty and tramps in nearby doorways would not of liked to have been on my own walking down to the hotel I was charged over £100 for Saturday night I could of booked a proper hotel for that price

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank helenhK6443VY
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

receptionist was very helpful as were night staff. Double beds were extremely comfortable. Single beds were quite uncomfortable. Shower facilities were great but a lock would be good on bathroom doors. Wi-Fi would be good if included in stay and more information available. Great location. Rooms were large and good view. Quite noisy as a lot of traffic. More tea... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank M1365RNcc
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you again for your review. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

This hotel is lovely hidden way, when went lot of road works happening, no free parking with in the hotel. Closest car park is st James at £15 FOR 24 HOURS, street parking free after 6.30 and all day on Sunday, is busy street. Accessible to tram and bus stops.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room as much as you you enjoyed the location of our hotel as this is what we like to see. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is the best... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

King size bed was comfortable but the single beds in the family room were so hard gave everyone a bad back and a poor nights sleep. In a great location the heart of Edinburgh. Entrance is down an ally way but it was ok.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 774tanya
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Central Princes Street Travelodge. We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy our bed and will be sure to pass your feedback to the relevant department for you. Thank you for posting your invaluable comments that will enable us to improve the service we offer. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Went to Edingburgh for stay over with my two daughters as a Mother's Day treat staff on arrival were friendly and welcoming , room was huge clean and fresh. Location was excellent straight across road from Wavely station. Room was made up for 3 but only set for 2 staff was really helpful and within minutes had everything we need.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank janicewR1029ET
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Mother's day treat at our Edinburgh Central Princes Street Travelodge with your daughters and you found your room to be clean and fresh. We're happy to hear our hotel team were quick to rectify any issues you encountered and ensured you had everything you required for a comfortable stay with your daughters.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We had a four night stay and chose it for the location, central and beside Waverley Station, at the end of the Airport bus run, and ideal for Princes Street and transport aswell as walking distance of the old town and the new town. Entry is through an alley but dont be put off. Staff are welcoming and very helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidWxxx
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise for the issues regarding the bathroom and the service to your room that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

I stayed in this travelodge for one night after holiday, travelodge is very central to princes street edinburgh, i had a room overlooking princes street, you do hear street noise but i slept very well i had corner room which was great room number 418 was very spacious too, i would use this travelodge again.

Helpful?
Thank HELEN T
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

We fully appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at Edinburgh Central Princes Street Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn you slept well and you found your room to be spacious. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are so pleased to hear this... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

This Travelodge is well situated for using the tour buses which we did for the duration of our stay. It's basic but clean and welcoming, the reception staff (Alan and Ann)were brilliant ,very helpful great fun and able to assist with all our requirements Don't be put off by the little road to the entrance,very gloomy and with two resident... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

We're so pleased to learn our hotel at Edinburgh Central Princes Street Travelodge was the ideal location for your to make use of the local tour buses, furthermore we're happy to hear our hotel team Alan and Ann really made your stay a great one. We will be sure to pass your kind comments onto the hotel team and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#41 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighborhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $68 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay