We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA Scotland
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$262
View deal
Booking.com$262
Priceline$262
Travelocity$262
Hotels.com$262
Trip.com$262
Tripadvisor$262
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (614)
Room & Suite (196)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 164 in Edinburgh
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
983Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 639
  • 194
  • 92
  • 39
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jo H wrote a review May 15
Coventry, United Kingdom46 contributions30 helpful votes
Lovely welcoming hotel. Glorious rooms, enormous bathrooms, lovely treats when we first arrived! Breakfast was sublime and filled us up until dinner later. Everything you could wish for was served! The service is amazing though. So welcoming, the concierge couldn’t do enough for us!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get good directions as it took us ages to find the place and there are a lot of steps if you go...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Joanneh227, Thank you for taking the time to leave five star review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to create a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Kelli M wrote a review May 1
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Our stay was lovely! The suite was beautiful and well maintained with great! The staff were so kind and helpful with everything from food recommendations, sites to see around the City and the best ways to get there. The bath had all the amenities you could ask for, the bed was cozy and our balcony view was spectacular. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Edinburgh and can’t wait to visit again! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kellilynnmorris, Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to find time to relax whilst also enjoying all that our iconic city has to offer! Our team spends a lot of time in order to provide a personalized service to all of our guests and ma glad that we were able to provide the best recommendations for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
CMel1e wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here in February for 6 nights which covered both my own birthday, my partners birthday and our anniversary, all occurring within our stay. The hotel did an amazing job in making this stay memorable and special for us. From arrival, we were provided with a complimentary upgrade for a 6 night stay which alone speaks volumes to me as typically upgrades are provided to shorter stays. We also had rose petals and chocolate welcome plates congratulating us on our occasions along with a handwritten welcome note. Following from this, we received handwritten cards on each day that was an occasion which was a very simple but personal gesture as they used our names when doing so. They also never missed a day out of the three occasions and even left complimentary shortbread on these days. Genuinely made our stay so special and amazing. We had breakfast for two of the days and were very happy with it. They offer vegetarian and vegan options which came in handy for us as we were avoiding pork options. We were given Complimentary cocktails in the Snug bar and were very happy with our experience there. Staff were extremely friendly and we were able to redeem these for non-alcoholic options which were surprisingly very nice. The hotel was also extremely accommodating, and allowed for some of our friends to visit and hang out with us in the Snug area as well as our room during the stay. They even let us back up to the Snug after we had checked out while we waited on our late flight. The hotel was genuinely amazing and we always got a warm welcome. The Hotel Manager Ignacio even ensured to go our of his way to introduce himself and congratulate us on the three occasions and offer all the help he could including by providing us with a business card. Furthermore, we were always greeted by name every time we passed him. Hotel has good proximity to everything from sightseeing locations to high end shops and restaurants. Cannot fault the hotel. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future and it will remain a permanent go-to location for us during our many future trips to Edinburgh. - Ciaran
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Terrace Rooms were amazing!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear CMel1e, Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review! I was delighted to learn that we were able to deliver a memorable stay during a very special trip! Our team works very hard in order to provide the highest level of personalized service and am thrilled this was the case for you! Our location is ideal for exploring Edinburgh and am glad that you were able to explore our iconic city! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
sazzer11 wrote a review Apr 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom294 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
Came for a couple of nights with two teenagers, April 2022. Booked interconnecting rooms, 1xtwin and 1xking. It was like an apartment, the bathroom in king room was amazing. Room 74 & 76 on 3rd floor and both had access to the roof garden which was an added bonus. Looking at other reviews I was a bit apprehensive especially about the plumbing noise issue mentioned a lot. I was a bit perplexed about that when we got here because the toilets flush normally and not like vacuum airplane toilets. I’m very fussy with hotels and like my 5* luxury and this place met all my expectations in the room which I’ll try and list here… coffee machine, kettle, tea and coffee and milk. Iron and ironing board, luggage stand, Elemis toiletries, fluffy white towels, dressing gowns and slippers, lovely fluffy pillows and duvet, very comfy beds, blackout curtains, dressing gowns and slippers, dressing table and table with 2 chairs, roof garden access and I believe balconies on the other side of building, ice buckets delivered to room, ample cupboard/drawer space and hangers, rain and handheld shower, complementary mini bar, vanity kit and shower cap, magnifying mirror, hairdryer, TV, safe, tissue box, dab radio/alarm, desk. The rooms are very modern so I was confused about some of the recent reviews about worn out floors etc, maybe we struck lucky with refurbished rooms. Yes as per other reviews there’s no onsite restaurant but that doesn’t matter with the location, there’s tons on the doorstep and in the omni centre shopping mall which the hotel is part of. The breakfast was pretty fantastic, I was so impressed with the service and the choices for £20 per head it was well worth it. By the way to get it for £20 per head you either need to include breakfast with your booking or book breakfast the night before. If you turn up on the day it’s £25 per head. The snug bar is beautiful, it does close at 10pm but I’m not surprised, it’s not that busy but a lovely place to sit and have a cozy drink. I’m not sure of the name of the gent that was running the snug bar on the 12th & 13th April but I really want to mention he knows how to treat guests what a cracker of a guy, just lovely. Bus 49 just a short walk to the left of the hotel takes you to the royal mile. We didn’t have our rooms cleaned mainly because we’re lazy and not organised enough so had do not disturb signs on the whole time but they put notes in our doors to say we can call anytime for a room clean which was a nice touch I thought. Parking is at the omni centre in the Q car park, just park then get it validated at reception before you leave for a discount. Park next to a lift with a sign to the omni centre then walk out the omni centre and the hotel entrance is on the right, fairly easy with luggage. I’m a world traveler who always picks the best of the best hotels and can understand how some folks are saying why is this a 5 star because no pool, no gym no restaurant but if you know Edinburgh this is 5 star definitely for the location and comparison of other hotels and prices. Most importantly all the staff I met from cleaners, receptionists, breakfast waiters to bar staff were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sazzer11, Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review on your recent stay with us. Our team was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to rest and relax in your room and enjoyed your ideal location for exploring the iconic city of Edinburgh! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
nbcarden wrote a review Apr 2022
Pea Ridge, Arkansas222 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Hotel was very clean and staff was super friendly. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation. Breakfast was amazing. We had an early flight home and the hotel was kind enough to have a breakfast box fixed up when we checked out. Will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking deck offsite for parking
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nbcarden, I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review! Our team was delighted to learn that we were able to deliver a memorable experience! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Manager
Read more
SD2006uk wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom39 contributions12 helpful votes
Rooms have this terrible air pressure system for the drains. Means the toilet sounds like an airplane toilet but waaay louder. Emptying the bath means no conversation in the otherwise nice too . Staff 100% know about the issues but are unable to fix Maintenance issues. The bathroom is super tired with the stone worn away and rough, see the photo. So expensive for this poor quality, avoid, avoid, avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear SD2006uk, Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on your recent stay with us. I was very saddenedd to read your reveiw and it was negativly affected due to the plumbing. This has been passed on to our maintenance manager for further investigation as it is unusual for the system to be so noisy. Once again I truly apologise that we were unable to exceed your expectations which is our goal on every occassion but do appreciate your feedback as a way to continusly improve the condition of our hotel. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
alex w wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York5 contributions3 helpful votes
We, a party of four (my wife and another couple) had two nights in Edinburgh's Glasshouse hotel. Edinburgh is a fantastic city to visit and made even more special with this choice of hotel. Located at one end of Princes St and walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley train Station, the hotel provides an excellent base from which to see the sites of Edinburgh. (All) the staff are extremely friendly and bend-over backwards to help, the rooms are well presented modern and clean with excellent facilities. We had rooms on the 3rd floor with access to a large roof garden terrace (just a shame we couldn't take advance due to cold weather but offer an ideal location to sit, relax and have a drink. Speaking for all in our party (I'm sure the others would agree) can honestly say this is a wonderful hotel and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in Edinburgh. PS the beds are big and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for rooms on the 3rd floor with access to the roof garden.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Alex W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I was delighted to read your review and that our team was able to create a memorable experience for your party. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Glasshouse Hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Katiemurray1 wrote a review Mar 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom9 contributions21 helpful votes
I don’t know where to start on how amazing this hotel is! All of the staff are so lovely and welcoming, the bartender at the snug in particular is so chilled out and great at his job. The rooms are really clean and the heated floors in the bathroom were amazing. Couldn’t fault it really.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear Katiemurray1, Thank you for sharing your five star review. We are delighted that you found the snug a very enjoyable experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Ali H wrote a review Mar 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom41 contributions51 helpful votes
This hotel has been renovated and the rooms are superb, we have already recommended them friends and family. But, we came back from our gig at the Edinburgh Playhouse tonight and called room service to order a whisky night cap for my husband and we were told the bar was closed and we could call ‘Just Eats’, not what we expect from a city centre hotel. Seems they are not up to the job which is a shame……
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear AliH782, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Please do accept my apologies for this and understand this was discussed in person. Hoping we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
bruce14 wrote a review Mar 2022
toronto149 contributions151 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights in February. Great location at one end of Princes Street, easy parking underneath in the Q park. Several food and drink choices in the adjacent OMNI building when the weather was too foul to travel far. Staff friendly and efficient. Layout is unusual with the rooms spread out over the roof of the adjacent OMNI building, with long corridors around a central roof garden. Our room was fabulous – large bed, huge sitting area, and a wall of windows overlooking Calton Hill; bathroom should be a model for hotel bathrooms – large walk in shower, modern sink, in floor heating, lots of counter space. Room had all the trimmings – safe, fridge, nespresso machine, good wifi and lots of outlets. Very nice bar, tucked out of the way among the rooms, but short hours and eye watering prices meant we only used it once. 15 pounds for a fabulous cocktail. Overall a great stay, and a good choice for a prolonged stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear bruce14, Thank you for sharing your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in your room and the facilities in the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$295 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the glasshouse hotel edinburgh, glasshouse edinburgh, edinburgh glasshouse, glasshouse hotel edinburgh, glass house edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Calton Hill (0.2 miles), Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.3 miles), and The Stand Comedy Club (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Howies Waterloo Place, L'Escargot Bleu Restaurant, and Pickles.
Is The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.6 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.5 miles), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.4 miles).