We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have been a platinum card holder for many years and this is by far the most uncared for hotel in the chain. - heating not working in rooms - rooms in a very shabby state - lounge is a joke, no cleans cups, cereal for breakfast that looks like it has been left out every night, hot plates for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elenicom
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on a 3 night stay through Superbreaks. We'd booked a two night offer (which included an evening meal on the first night) and an extra third night. On checking in we were told we could have the same rom for the 3 nights but after two nights would need to get our key card re-done. On the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsd33
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi MrsD33 Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a length explanation. Need to look into the issue with 'extended' stays however should not be beyond our skill level! Glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to see you again soon Many thanks Robert

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Overnight stay! We arrived to a wonderful welcome by the concierge Jack who is an absolute credit to the hotel - friendly and recommended places for us to visit etc and due to this we went to a brilliant venue and had a great night - back to the hotel though, we arrived a bit early so had our bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and letting us know about the faulty cistern. Really sorry, unfortunately these things can happen, I would have hoped that the night manager would have offered you a room move if it had been available. Thanks for the rest of the feedback, Suzanne, which I will share with the team Robert

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is situated in central Edinburgh, close to most attractions. This is a beautiful Old building, the superior and club rooms are amazing (ask for room 102!) and service was great. Supper and breakfast was absolutely perfect. Only downsides are the lack of off-street parking and the fitness Centre is quite small (but nice sized pool). Only reason I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Pierre R Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time we refurbish the hotel; maybe a larger gym! Who knows! Hope to see you again Robert

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had afternoon tea on Monday 13th February with my friend Fiona, we had a lovely time, the food was lovely, prosecco, and as much coffee, tea as u liked. The staff were very pleasant and helpful we had a really lovely afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amusebushe
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Amusebushe Thank you for your review. It was lovely to welcome you to the hotel for afternoon tea and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience Hope to see you again soon Robert

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a few times on business and each time the staff have been more than welcoming. Rooms are very good, great place to start a busy day, taxis or a walk down to the trams for connection to the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJB_2016
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi SJB Many thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon...............where I hope you will continue to enjoy our accommodating team best wishes Robert

Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some how when a hotel is called " crown plaza" your expectations grow. We got there in there afternoon by rental car. Asked where to park and the guy in the reception gave us a very odd direction on where to park so we ended up parking just outside where you weren't supposed to stay for long. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Elisabeth, Thank you for your feedback and I really appreciate your constructive comments. I will discuss your remarks with the team and make changes to prevent these mistakes being repeated. Many thanks Robert

Eyemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had afternoon tea here yesterday afternoon and because there was a wedding on we were seated in the club lounge , the girl we had serving us named Jane worked extremely hard taking care of our every need and recommending a beautiful pot of tea, the food was lovely and ample and the brownies were lush All and all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Debbie P Thank you for your feedback and delighted that Jane looked after you so well. Hope you enjoyed the selection of teas and cakes! Hope to see you again soon Robert

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend with a small group of us. Staff were excellent, especially Jack who was working on the Front Desk and as a concierge. Rooms very comfortable and the Calendonian beer served in the bar was a treat! Not too far from Easter Rd where Hibernian play, you could walk it. If returning with the kids, would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Traveling Footie Fan Thanks for the great review and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with the team. Please tell all your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future All the best Robert

cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fifteen minutes walk from Waverley station behind Carlton hill, the hotel has a pleasant outlook amongst the terraced buildings. It overlooks a small park across the cobbled street and you can see across the Forth looking towards Fife. First impressions were good even though the lobby was small. Staff throughout our stay were impressive to say the least. Room wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wornoutbootsCheshire
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Just wanted to thank you for being kind enough to leave a review. Your comments are shared with the team and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back Robert

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

474 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Penthouse Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Double Double Deluxe Room (16)
Viewed
Double Double Room (20)
Viewed
Double Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Suite (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Two Bedroom (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
783 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,194 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $113 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front rooms have the views the road is very quiet rear rooms overlook the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles wornoutbootsCheshire, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“try for a room looking out onto the royal terrace side of the hotel good views.”
 of 5 bubbles leckyeamonn101, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“North facing onto Royal Terrace for views of Firth of Forth in winter, probably blocked by trees in leaf at other times.”
 of 5 bubbles I4070GIbobc, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“all are good”
 of 5 bubbles 461aamiry, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“ask for room away from entrance into corridor”
 of 5 bubbles 58nasreena, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question