We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

CrownePlaza.com$156*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

852 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 806: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for two nights and had a good size room which was modern and clean. Breakfast was buffet style with a big range. Great location to walk the Royal Mile where there are massive shops, hotels and restaurants and you can walk up to Edinburgh Castle if you are feeling fit. About a 5 minute walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilly S
York, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed April 4, 2017

What a great place to stay. Friendly reception even though they were dealing with an injured colleague. Room was a delight over looking leith in the distance. Two big bay windows and nice fresh bathroom. We did have dinner in the hotel which was included in our booking and again could not fault food or service. The pool is small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quilla282
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time and trouble that people go to in documenting their experience. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back Robert

Kent
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel, very clean, courteous staff. About a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile so well placed. Away from busy roads and although we overlooked the road, it was quiet. Nice foyer and bar area. Breakfast was a full English which was good but they also had cheeses, cold meats and pastries/croissants. My room was very large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith2108
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband and I'm sorry to say that apart from the location and staff this hotel really doesn't live up to expected standards. We were given a room in the basement which was very tired with dated, stained furniture, a TV from about 10 years ago and a view of empty beer kegs. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debs27
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights during a fly by visit! We paid in total for 2 nights £429 We've both stayed at a few hotels belonging to the IHG chain including a few other crowne plazas dotted around the country. So maybe I am slightly biased. Pros :- Great location to the centre and the omni centre 15...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beabeabun
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is close to the centre and offers easy access to the shops and tourist sites of Edinburgh. We had a reasonable sized room with good facilities but it was not particularly cosy. The room had a very high ceiling and was a little cold. But furnishings were good quality and the bed and pillows were very comfortable, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukjaws
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

HI Many thanks for your feedback following your recenet stay with us. Delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back Robert

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a great size and in a great location. The best part about this hotel is Scott the Concierge. What an amazing man. He can find anything and was the most helpful person. Reception staff were also amazing. Thanks Scott for an amazing stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cephill26
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the feedback. I will of course share with Scott (who will be delighted) Hope you enjoyed Edinburgh Robert

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We paid £21 for an itison voucher for afternoon tea for two. It was very disappointing as it was a miserly 6 tiny finger sandwiches with barely any filling, 2 small fruit scones with squirty cream and cheap n nasty jam, 2 fag packet sized pieces of carrot cake which was nice and moist but had no icing or garnish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Cathy M, Thank you for staying at the hotel and for posting your review. I am delighted to hear your positive remarks about the nice location and wonderful staff. Our hotel is committed to provide our guests with good value accommodation and deliver top notch service. I am sorry that you were let down by the food quality served...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on 4th May and had a fabulous time! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful- bringing a small selection of cakes to my room as it was my 21st birthday! Lovely little unexpected touch. Room was lovely, clean and beds were comfy! Location was perfect, walking distance to city centre whilst being on a beautiful quiet street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin D
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Thanks Caitlin D, delighted that you enjoyed your birthday trip to Edinburgh. Come back and see us again soon Robert

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated just at the bottom of Calton Hill and very close to the city centre ideal for our needs. Stunning views from our 3rd floor room, and the room was comfortable adequate space and very comfy bed. The resteraunt produced stunning menus of the 7 meals ordered all were great and the breakfast was just delicious, all 3 courses!!?? Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Bill F Many thanks for your feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Edinbhurgh Hope to see you again soon Robert

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

483 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Penthouse Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Double Double Deluxe Room (16)
Viewed
Double Double Room (20)
Viewed
Double Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Suite (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Two Bedroom (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4,328 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
2,055 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#63 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $141 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“For best views chose 3rd floor.”
billf687, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a quiet room down at the end of the hallway”
ellabella26773, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor front or rear”
jetice_10, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Terrible Service!!!!/Under staffed!!!!”
Jake_51423, Apr 13, 2017 | Read review
“P1 is a huge basement room with no view but a beautiful private patio area leading to a 'secret garden'.”
P4125RQjoanneh, Apr 13, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
CrownePlaza.com
$156* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$205
Priceline$155
Booking.com$155
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates