We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Ballantrae Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ballantrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Edith Weston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A friendly greeting on arrival and they stored our cases for us as we arrived early. The room was very spacious with a large shower room (wet room design). It had a lovely powerful shower, however we did have an issue with the shower as the water did not drain away and we had to use towels to stop flooding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during the fringe with my fiancé and we were pleasantly surprised by the large, period-style room and spacious bathroom. Friendly staff and room was clean. Great location too for all the shows as it's only a 5-10 minute walk from Princes Street. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* Review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and that you will definitely be staying here again. Be sure to check out the best possible rates on our website (and great deals on our Facebook page) before you book in future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Durham, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Stayed here for just one night in July 2016 which cost £109 for the room but included breakfast. The room itself was spacious and had a very grand feeling to it with period features and high ceilings. The beds were very comfortable, and the bedding was good quality. Our room faced the street but we didnt feel there was excessive... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimonPDurham
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review. Your points about the bathroom have been noted. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will definitely be returning. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ballantrae in the near future. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel located very close to the city centre in XVIII century's Georgian style building. My friend and I were staying in a big family room. Very comfortable and soft beds. Decent breakfast. Excellent service. Would stay there again!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Five Star review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and that you would return. Make sure you check out our website and Facebook page for excellent offers and the best possible rates before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Aviemore and the Cairngorms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here with my partner. After a nightmare of a day we were looking forward to a good nights sleep. We went on and booked the Adelphi Hotel in Leith, as we went to check in it looked a bit grotty, but it was only £55 so we thought we would just try it out. Went upstairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank cait97
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and that you will be returning. Make sure to book on our website next time for the best possible rates. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

We had a small room (with a huge bathroom) facing the street the first night and the noise from the street made it very hard to sleep. The following nights we got the "wedding suite" facing away from the street, where it was quiet. Still, quite a boring hotel, no possibilities to get any cooked breakfast and the personnel didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann-Charlotte P
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As we are based in the city centre, unfortunately some noise is to be expected, but we are glad that you were complimentary upgraded to our Honeymoon Suite. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Management Team More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Although the room was a bit on the small side, it suited our needs perfectly as we used The Ballantrae to explore Edinburgh and the hotel to sleep only. The bonus was the huge bathroom and the massive bathtub. Other reviews claimed the rooms needed tlc, I could find no fault. The staff were very friendly and the fact that... More 

Helpful?
Thank 492ricardop
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that the stay was perfect for you, and that your room was faultless. If you are to return again, make sure to check out our Facebook and Twitter page, where we often offer great offers and the best possible rates. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Management Team More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Good hotel with location near to the main areas. A brisk 5-10 minutes walk to all main attractions. Steep stairs and no lift access. Breakfast continental but decent choice. Rooms comfortable and a good nights sleep. Bathrooms very well designed. Bit pricey but a good stay.

Helpful?
Thank Emma1806
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Our rates change according to demand, but we offer great rates and exclusive deals on our Website and Facebook page - make sure to check these out of you are to return. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Management Team More 

england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Under par for the price. Bad start when first room we were given had used condom packets in bedroom drawer. Asked to be moved and was taken to room in another building. After lots of stairs was shown room which was lovely and big and had amazing views over to the Forth. Appeared to be clean. When we went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank paddle_8
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that there was a Housekeeping issue when you checked in - please accept our apologies for this. We are glad that you upgraded to a Superior room immediately, which you enjoyed. We had our annual Fire Safety inspection earlier this year, and rest assured that everything is up to date. Room prices fluctuate according to demand (with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff, lovey stairwell and you can get a really quiet room at top with view over the back gardens of the neighbourhood. If you like small hotels with old charm stryle character then this fits. Room is great size and has all you need.

Helpful?
Thank Claudiaelisabeth11
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed everything, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Be sure to check out our Website for the best possible rates and exclusive deals the next time you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#102 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8-12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $73 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay