We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ballantrae Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ballantrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of The Ballantrae Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel in Feb 2017 for 2 nights ,.. Lovely clean room with large bathroom .Coffee tea kettle hairdryer also iron .Central to posh shops Michael Kors Harvey Nichols ect also 5,,min walk to rose street where the pub's are only thing was hotel wasn't double glazed so the noise was loud on the Saturday night ..And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Next time you stay, please mention that you would like a quiet room, and we will try and locate you at the rear of the hotel. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ballantrae Hotel is a few blocks away from the main street where the airport shuttles stop. The building is old but maintained. We were upgraded to an Executive room with big bathroom,but located on the 5th floor. There were no elavators, so it took quite an effort for us to climb the stairs up to the 5th floor. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicente C
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to an Executive Suite. We often upgrade guests who book on our website - make sure you book here (where you will find the best possible rates) next time you stay. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I decided to make a spontaneous decision yesterday and go out for the night as it would be nice to spend a night away before are new arrival in April. I booked it and got it at a very good price and was more than excited to spend the night away. I then decided to read some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sillypenguin31
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and would visit again. We always offer room only rates at the hotel for guests who would prefer to have a cooked breakfast at one of the many cafes located right outside the hotel - perhaps you should choose this rate next time. We are glad to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in the centrally located York place where all the tourist activity lies, this hotel is in an old building and has the necessary mod cons that are required. Well appointed rooms, comfy breakfast area, wi fi on request and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aparna B
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our city centre location, and the hotel itself, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Make sure to check out the great rates and exclusive deals on our website next time you book.

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in! More a backpackers than a hotel!! We were kept awake from 1am to 4:30am with noise from other guests. Staff were rude (apart from the fella on check out but even then didn't ask how our stay was) ... if your looking for a noisy crappy poorly managed place - stay here!!.......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William N
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that the hotel was very noisy. As we are based in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre, some noise is to be expected. We hope that this did not have a negative effect on your visit to the city. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better experience! Booked a single room, hotel gave me one with 3 beds in it. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. The location was absolutely superb with the airport tram stop right on the doorsteps. And all that for a killer price. Highly recommended! Wifi didn't work - but wasn't really needed for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmonHaque
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star Review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you. We hope that you return again in the near future - be sure to check out our best possible rates on our website, where you find exclusive offers. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2017

There are plenty of good hotels in Edinburgh, best to stay in one of those. At the Ballantrae staff were lovely and bed was comfortable. They are the ONLY positive qualities. We planned to stay 4 nights during January 2017. We found the hotel did not live up to the photos on the website, it is shabby and neglected, overpriced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisaibloom
Management360, Owner at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you experienced an issue with the hot water during your stay, and that you decided to check out and receive your refund. We did have a brief problem, but this has been completely repaired.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2017

I believe we stayed in one of the better rooms on offer. Very spacious room with a walk-in wardrobe and a large bathroom offering a shareable shower, a bath with a TV, 2 sinks (his/hers) and just generally very pleasant facilities. Walkable to all the sights of Edinburgh, e.g. approx 5-10 minute walk to Princess Street. Downsides would include parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenWad
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and will be recommending us to other guests. If you are to return, make sure to check out the best possible rates on our website and exclusive offers on our Facebook Page before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Reviewed January 2, 2017

Hotel is well located and plesent from the outside but there the positive qualities of this hotel ends. A hole in the floor below a Frayed carpet, dingy lighting with one working bulb damp ceiling. A categorical list of qualities you would associate with a poor quality hostel let alone a "3 star" hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Austin K
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to receive this review, which we do not feel is a true representation of the hotel. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

we stayed here 1week before xmas hotel was really nice staff were helpful the rooms were really spacious with tea and coffee making facilities . breakfast was really nice and healthy makes a change from greasy bacon and egg . there was no lift in the hotel so expect to climb a few flites off stairs . this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxi944
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are delighted that everything was perfect for you, and that you will definitely be returning in the future. Make sure to check out the exclusive offers on our website next time before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
721 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
792 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $60 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on the back only. 110 is big with a huge poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles boutiquehotelbabe, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“there are a lot of stairs with no lift so don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TessaD238, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the basement quad good size for a family”
 of 5 bubbles Jules030, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“I was in the basement which was not a problem. If anyone had walking difficulties it might be worth mentioning this on booking,”
 of 5 bubbles 518AlanH, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms downstairs have less stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles Byrnedawg, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question