We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Balmoral Hotel

Save
Share
1 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$260
Booking.com$260
Hotels.com$260
Prestigia.com$260
Trip.com$260
Travelocity$260
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1855)
Room & Suite (475)
Dining (118)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Balmoral Hotel
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 163 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
For over a century, The Balmoral has found a home at Edinburgh’s most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street. A landmark Rocco Forte hotel set in the heart of Scotland’s capital city, The Balmoral combines stunning views and warm hospitality with world-class facilities to create the perfect urban retreat. The perfect marriage of tradition and modernity, each of the 167 rooms has been individually designed by Rocco Forte Hotels’ Director of Design Olga Polizzi. Elegant and stylish with unmistakably Scottish accents, each of our 20 Edinburgh suites are generous with magnificent views. Enjoy Michelin-starred dining at the famous Number One restaurant, sample modern Scottish Afternoon Tea under the glass dome of Palm Court or relax in the serene sanctuary of The Balmoral Spa. Brasserie Prince, launched in 2018, celebrates a 'new alliance': matching the very best of Scottish produce with classic French cooking, while The Balmoral’s signature whisky bar, SCOTCH, pays homage to Scotland’s national drink and is home to one of Edinburgh’s largest collections. Take a seat on one of the tweed sofas and let a kilted Whisky Ambassadors help you choose from over 500 varieties. The Balmoral is the perfect home-from-home to discover Edinburgh and Scotland’s finest attractions. Whatever the season, the hotel’s dedicated Concierge team can open doors to some of the most unique experiences in Scotland. From tickets to the world-famous Edinburgh Festival events, access to the city’s royal establishments - Holyrood Palace and the Royal Yacht Britannia – to the hotel’s Tartan Butler Clan Tour, you’ll find the best of Scotland at your finger tips.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
4875Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,577
  • 879
  • 255
  • 105
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
keswickian wrote a review Jun 22
lake district135 contributions86 helpful votes
We've stayed here for two nights. Fabulous location and very pleasant staff. We had a few issues which were passed on to the general manager, who in turn replied with a "press button A, bla,bla" email. I copied my reply which will explain my disappointment. Dear Mr. Cooke, Thank you for your quick reply. I’ve watched The Balmoral being featured on tv not long ago. Entertaining. First impressions are very important we are told. I totally agree. Drooping flowers in the centre piece is not a good look and should be replaced much quicker, and the brass plaques at the front of the hotel have not been cleaned at all in the time we were there, well, no tv there now. But this is not that important. Cleanliness is. Why you can’t be bothered to clean the Brasserie side of the hotel I cannot understand. It has not been touched in a long time, presenting itself with black dirt, cobwebs, empty cola can and plastic beaker amongst other bits stuffed behind the pretty railings. Finding someone’s leftover snack on my bedroom floor is not good. Finding someone’s used coffee capsule in the coffee offering is equally bad. Filthy (and I chose the word carefully) windowsills in the Brasserie with the addition of a few dead flies, even when hidden by the curtain, is just not acceptable. You suggest “an unfortunate oversight”! So many BASIC things? It does not fill me with confidence about your sanitizing. Your reply is full of platitudes, and no, I was not after an upgrade or anything else. Yours regretfully, R. Webster I don't think we will stay there again. I am sure that there are plenty of clean places in Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure it has been cleaned properly
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear keswickian, Thank you for your feedback. As stated in my earlier email, you have my assurances that these matters will be followed up on without delay and I thank you for taking the time to pass on your valued comments. Kind regards, Richard C General Manager
Read more
boscosalad wrote a review Jun 19
London, United Kingdom52 contributions50 helpful votes
This is one of the trickiest reviews to write, the hotel is historic, with superb staff, excellent service, everyone is really helpful. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The afternoon tea has won awards, and the attached brasserie has a good reputation. Which is why it gets five stars. However it just seems to ‘miss the mark’ for us, the afternoon tea was ‘fine’ the food in the brasserie was ‘fine’, the decor in the corridors and rooms is subdued to the point of being bland, can’t help feeling a different palate would lift the ambiance. The staircase feels completely different for example. So would we stay again? Unlikely. Is this a good hotel? undoubtably.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear boscosalad Thank you for taking the time to post and for highlighting the building itself, the staff and the service. I was delighted that you were also very happy with your room. I was most sorry to learn however that you were underwhelmed by afternoon tea and the brasserie, and I shall share your comments with our F&B team. Afternoon tea is an institution here at The Balmoral of which we are very proud. I am truly sorry you left feeling underwhelmed on this occasion. I do hope that you will grant us the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kindest regards Richard C General Manager
Read more
Alan C wrote a review Jun 17
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom247 contributions94 helpful votes
We booked lunch at the Balmoral hotel for a birthday treat. It was, as expected from a 5 star hotel, expensive, but the service was impeccable with the waiters attentive, talkative and concerned for or welfare - it was pouring with rain when we visited. The meal itself, though, was rather ordinary. It was well presented but there was not an awful lot of it for the price that we paid. I'm afraid that we left feeling still rather hungry. A good place for a grand occasion, but not for a filling meal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Alan C I was delighted that you chose us to celebrate a birthday occasion and thank you for your feedback regarding the wonderful ladies and gentlemen we have working with us in the brasserie. I agree the service they provide is impeccable. I was very sorry to learn that on this occasion you were disappointed with the portions. I will certainly pass on this feedback to the team. Thank you for taking the time to post. I hope we will welcome you back to The Balmoral again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Richard C General Manager
Read more
Phil B wrote a review Jun 17
London, United Kingdom24 contributions10 helpful votes
At £340 per night I do not expect to get dirty linen, no effective blackout blinds and neighbouring doors slamming loudly! It surely cannot be difficult in 2021 to fashion room doors to close quietly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Phil B I was most concerned to read your review and your negative impressions following your stay. Your comment regarding housekeeping is particularly perplexing as we have stringent procedures and systems regarding bed linen. I do hope you had the opportunity to raise any concerns during your stay. I am sorry you found neighbouring doors to be loud. Being a listed building there are strict rules regarding alterations to the building, both inside and out. We do have soft closing mechanisms on the doors, however I appreciate the weight of the doors can on occasion give rise to some noise. I am truly sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Balmoral in the future. Richard C General Manager
Read more
KendalMint2 wrote a review Jun 16
7 contributions3 helpful votes
From the moment we were met on the platform by Concierge Andy until we left ,nothing was too much trouble Vicky & Paula unpacked while I went for a stroll.The housekeeping is exemplary,as is the laundry. The Deluxe room is spacious with a very comfortable bed.There is a walk in wardrobe which leads to a marble bathroom with natural light.It took a while to understand the taps & plugs,but I am not very technical! The bar is wonderful whether mixing cocktails or chilling champagne flutes an oasis of calm The spa is probably the best asset of the hotel,a beautiful swimming pool & a well equipped gym. I had 2 excellent massages with Linda although wearing a mask did get a little getting used to. One suggestion could concierge have an out of hours appointment list so that it can be open from 7-7?They were very accommodating opening earlier so my mum could have a pre-breakfast swim.Just a thought. Packing when we left was a work of art! Breakfast is excellent with everything made to order,the croissant are so crispy We ate one night in the brasserie the food was beautifully cooked,maybe to have some duck or venison on the menu and a slightly wider choice of starters? The Sundae for dessert was yummy! The wine list was extensive. While everyone in the hotel are really friendly,Andy,David and Jan on concierge were amazing booking & confirming restaurants getting, Castle tickets or taxis they were friendly,helpful and efficient. We left very relaxed and refreshed what more can you ask
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Balmoral, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kendalmint2, What an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful review this morning. I am delighted to hear you had such a good stay, particularity on such a special occasion. I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the whole team but notably to Vicky, Paula, Linda, Andy, David and Jan whom you have especially highlighted. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest. Very best wishes, Richard C General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel edinburgh, balmoral edinburgh hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghPrinces Street and Gardens / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
187
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 miles), The Chocolatarium (0.3 miles), and SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Edinburgh (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, The Piper's Rest Public House, and Smoov Gelato Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Balmoral Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Balmoral Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Balmoral Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.