We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merith House Hotel

2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the most disgustingly dirty places I have ever been in my life! Mouldy shower, stains up the bedroom walls, dark and dingy basement room not what I would expect for my family. We'd probably have got a better deal sleeping in a doorway. Stay clear this place should come with a hazard warning!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

The hotel is in a very good position for visiting the city centre, but...... The owner gave us (me and my partner) a double room with shared bathroom. OMG! The bathroom was always smelling bad and dirty! The room was cold and we asked for a blanket. It was smelling too!! It's better go in an expensive hotel, but stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarabo91
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your Review The Room you booked was a Double Room only with a Shared Bathroom,( The owner did not give you this room!! ) your room shared 2 Bathrooms with 3 other rooms. The bathrooms are cleaned by the housekeepers and then checked twice a day. If they were as "Smelly" or "Dirty" as you mentioned this... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I stayed in this hotel with my friend this weekend .. The hotel is cheap and clean.. It's close to city center with the bus.. The bus stop is front of the hotel. I suggest this hotel if you'll want to save money but don't sleep in a hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 night and what a Pleasant suprise. Staff friendly room and bathroom spotless. Lovely white sheets and towels.Breakfast was laid out very nice lots of choice. I would stay again no problem. Bus stop at front door up to town or a 10 min walk to lots of diffrent coffee shops or pubs. I think the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. Read the reviews before booking but was pleasantly suprised. Friendly welcome, Clean Room and close to a Bus Stop. Room was Small but ample, Bathroom small but good Shower. Staff were Friendly and Helpful. Only downside they charge 5%for using your Card. Edinburgh town center is only 10 minutes by bus. Continental Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Merith House Hotel. Although it has Hotel in the name this is a Bed and Breakfast. Some reviewers are a bit mean,after all it is a B&B and central to Edinburgh.They want 5 stars go in the center. The Staff were cheerfull and helpful upon arrival and the new lad helped with my... More 

Helpful?
Thank dblake1967
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

A friend and myself booked this hotel on line did check reviews but they were mixed. On arrival we were met with a woman who was unhelpful. The room was filthy dirty. The ensuite if you could call it that was disgusting, cracked tiles which were ingrained in filth. Toilet you had to sit side on no room to sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morna H
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We took a room with en-suite toilet. The spacious room was 1 floor below the reception and there was no view. The heater of the room was low. The toilet was too small to take a shower. The stay could have been good but the hosts were too cold and sometimes rude and was not properly answering to our questions... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ria_2012
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Decent location. Room was good size. We took a gamble and waited until the day to book the last two nights of our week in Scotland. We paid for both nights upfront, but after the first we just left. Single pane glass meant we could hear all the traffic. However, as its an old building with thick walls, we could... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Atherslad
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner read the mixed reviews on another site and thought we would chance it for two nights...big mistake!! Pros for the hotel: Free parking, free WiFi, excellent transport links to the city. Cons: The room wasn't in the hotel pictured, its a cold, damp basement two doors away. No mattress protector, very cheap thin bedding (my partner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Twenty
Hotel Twenty
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#97 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay