We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Merith House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the Merith House Hotel is a simple hotel it offers just what you need. With a few improvements needed, mainly on the showering facilities the Hotel Manager was more then helpful. He was constantly working and was always there to help the needs of residents. Breakfast was simple but free so no complaints there at all. There's a bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaStack123
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

There wasn't much, but that's hardly the hotel's fault! Stayed here over the past weekend as I was visiting the Edinburgh Fringe for the first ever time. I really don't understand some of the reviews on here. A very clean, comfy budget hotel situated within minutes of bus stops and Leith Town Centre. Staff were all incredibly friendly. Continental Style... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Booked here as it was the cheapest option. Room was clean and warm. On a main bus route. Staff were friendly and answered our queries, the older lady doing breakfast was nice she found us hot chocolate and marmite. Room was a little bit small for a double but as stated it was clean. Charges for cards even debit cards... More 

Helpful?
Thank frankieboy1988
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

My wife, step daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Edinburgh, we where given the ensuite family room on the top floor, comprising of a double bed, 2 singles and a bunk bed, this was a nice big room, with a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee, and a small tv. The continental breakfast was OK.... More 

Helpful?
Thank WHRBERT
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

My self and my boy friend are a gay couple from aberdeen we went down to edinburgh and stayed in the merith house hotel well what can we say oh yes never again we were in the annex building the room was so small you could not swing a cat around the room was cold damp no tea spoons for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris Ross C
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Our Heating is on a timer system and some staff member can not over ride this. The heating goes off at 10pm so the heating was on ....maybe your radiator was on a low setting? The Shared Bathrooms are cleaned Daily and also checked 3 times a day, if you felt they were in need... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

My parents and I stayed at this hotel for the first leg of our holiday in Scotland. The first thing we noticed was how unfriendly the staff were. It was as if it was a burden that we were there. The breakfast menu was very basic also. The next day after returning to the hotel we discovered that none of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the Staff were unfriendly when you arrived, the staff are approachable if you wish to chat or need information. The housekeepers are in every day and if the rooms need serviced they are serviced with clean towels ect. Did you have the Do Not Disturb up on the door hence why the room was not serviced?... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

room was in basement annex tho booked 3 months in advance. windows sealed shut with view under stairs. forced one open to discover it had bars . room small but adequate ,bed comfortable ,linen clean . bathroom shared but ok . clean enough . there were two young men in a cell which they had booked three months previously .... More 

Helpful?
Thank 128jant
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

Arrived with small child & large, heavy bags. Payment demanded immediately, plus 5% charge for card. Was then told my room wasn't available so would be put in another room for 1st night before being moved. Complained about inconvenience of this, but was treated rudely before being shown to room that had originally been booked. Bed was broken. No bedside... More 

Helpful?
Thank djanegotch
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you check i9n didn't go to plan Yes the room you booked was not ready ...so we offered you a FREE UPGRADE. ( due to the painting you mention, the room door was still wet ) You refused the upgrade as you wanted the room you booked. You booked a Double Room Only with a Shared Bathroom...No Breakfast... More 

Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

The Merith House Hotel is in Leith, a bit away from the city center. The room was basic, and the staff had been friendly to me; I arrived too early to check in so I just left my suitcase with them, grabbed the key and returned late at night. Everything worked out well. I didn't have breakfast, because I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank revrazna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

OK it was cheap. I don't mean the price. Staff were irritated as we'd dragged them away from TV we did of course apologize I was surprised by how uneven the floor was and that building control allows doors to open directly onto stairs yes really. Yes so it was like furniture and bedding a charity shop wouldn't want ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alan a
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Our staff are available until 9pm then it is their free time but are always on hand to answer questions. I'm a bit confused as to why you was in the Staff quarters??? The staffs quarters are more than suitable for them, they have no complaints. As for a staff member say about Backpackers no... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#143 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#146 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: Leith Links 2-3 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $49 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay