We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rutland Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
Panoramas (89)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rutland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 967: English reviews
Siem Riep
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Had a great stop over in Edinburgh at this excellent boutique hotel. enjoyed the muffins and Nespresso machine in room. We had a huge, soft bed, and a great view of the castle, with everywhere really in walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen L
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay withu s and took advantage of the view!! We hope that you stay with us again soon. Best wishes, The Rutland Team

London and Gower Peninsula, Wales
Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night. Great interior design. Very comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom. Bar attached to hotel isn't my cup of tea - loud, noisy rock music. If you want an elegant cocktail bar go to the Balmoral. Rutland has multi storey car park nearby with discounted rate for hotel residents.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank langland_fisher
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review, we're pleased you liked our boutique hotel!! We hope you can try our gin bar, Heads & Tales, which is in the basement of the hotel the next time that you visit us again! :) Many thanks, The Rutland Team

glasgow
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Firstly, although I was disappointed by our stay in this hotel, I only have good things to say about the staff. All of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. However, the hotel itself just didn’t live up to the excellent reviews I’ve seen on TA and it just didn’t feel like a luxury boutique hotel. It felt...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pickynic
Louise M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Picky Nic, We were disappointed to read your review of your recent stay at The Rutland and we shall take your criticism in the constructive way we are sure you intended. Best regards,

Reviewed May 24, 2015

As part of a birthday treat for my fiancee we booked Apartment 2 for the night. All I say is WOW!. The apartment is stunning and has all the mod cons you need. The attention to detail was fantastic and we were provided with a complimentary bottle of prosecco and blueberry muffins on arrival. The location of the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1209x
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are delighted that you had such a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, The Rutland Team

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed May 22, 2015

we had a very pleasant stay at the Rutland. The Junior Suite is sim ply fantastic, very spacious, wonderful bed,fanbtastic view on the St. John's church and the castle, all mod cons you may epect from a luxury hotel. The hotel itself is also perfectly located, very close to the New and Old town, and to main bus and trams....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy66_13
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind review, we're pleased that you liked the view as much as we do!! Best wishes, The Rutland Team

Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick trip as part of a bigger European holiday. The Rutland is a fantastic choice if you are headed to Edinburgh. Location is perfect, right near Princes Street and easily walkable to all the main sites. You can even walk to Waverley Train Station. We booked an Executive Double and the room was huge! So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VSerrao
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel, we are delighted that you had a great time and would stay with us again - we hope to see you soon!! Thanks, The Rutland Team!

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 21, 2015

A lovely boutique hotel looking up to the castle. We were impressed with the modern rooms/bathrooms. One thing to mention is that children are not allowed to be in the downstairs restaurant/bar area after 6pm and as we had our 13 year old daughter we had to go out to eat - no hardship as there are plenty of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel, it looks like you've had a busy time in Edinburgh!! KInd regards, The Rutland Team

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

So, it's a special birthday for my partner & we only have Saturday -Sunday. Where shall I take him? I settle on Edinburgh & then hunt for a hotel. Now you'll have noticed by now that there are a staggering number of hotels & guest houses available but I stumbled across The Rutland Hotel (via Mr & Mrs Smith) &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are absolutely thrilled that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us! We hope that you visit Edinburgh again soon. Best wishes, The Rutland team

Stirling
Reviewed May 11, 2015

We stayed at the Rutland hotel after having our wedding breakfast in the Private Dining area of Kyloe Restaurant and grill (also highly recommended!). The room was brilliant - it had everything you could think of and much more. brilliant shower, big fluffy bath robes, ghd straighteners, nespresso machine. We took full advantage of room service and ordered the full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyn321
Louise M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to organise your stay at the hotel and to be able to play a part in your special day! We hope that your guests enjoyed the experience in the dining room too. Congratulations again on your marriage and we wish you and Stevie a very happily married future. It would...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed May 5, 2015

Deciding to stay at the Rutland was the best decision I made regarding my trip to Scotland. The staff was extremely personable and helpful. That alone earns fives stars for the Rutland. I felt like I was visiting their home and not renting a room for four nights. I enjoyed the amenities and the free bottle of water daily was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Waterproof_Wally
Louise M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the hotel. We are glad that the location, amenities and staff were of satisfaction to you and would love to see you back at The hotel in the future! Kind regards, The Rutland Hotel team!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

720 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (359)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Apartment (102)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $145 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Georgia
7 months ago
Phoenix, Arizona
8 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get an executive room and try the restaurant. Room 4 was great.”
Petrocelli75, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Suite 12 was great”
AnnaL11, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We found room 6 to be very comfortable”
V7099CXdaver, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get an apartment if you can.”
  • Apt 15/2 bedroom - That chair!!
  • Apt 15/2 lounge
  • Apt 15/2 bathroom
  • Apt 15/2 lounge
PaulD110, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed in room 2”
Brotherjonno1690, Mar 18, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question