We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rutland Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rutland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 914: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We used to stay at Ruthland every year during the fringe festival. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the location is excellent for many venues. We loved loved our breakfast and the restaurants are both very good for dinner. Unfortunately, last year the hotel increased its prices substantially and no longer offers discount for repeat customers so we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pv2017
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Apt 3 and I can truly say it was the very best accommodation we have ever stayed in whilst visiting Edinburgh. The apartment is beautiful, clean, well serviced and of a very high standard well deserving its 5 star rating, placed close to the Castle yet in a position where it is quiet and you can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chobanpickard
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic apartments and made full use of their great location to enjoy the city. Please do come back and visit us again very soon. #teamrutland Kind Regards, The Rutland Team

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Rutland was a wonderful hotel to recover from jetlag and help us rebound from our transatlantic flight. The blackout curtains were spot on--we almost hated to obscure our beautiful view of the castle at night, resplendent in its holiday blue lighting! The hotel has done an exceptional job of providing luxurious touches throughout...from the mirrors on the closet doors,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fkmcja
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your room so much you spent most the time recovering from jet lag in our comfy beds! I do hope you come back and visit us again very soon and enjoy more of what...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (19) which was lovely. Quality furnishings, well equipped kitchen and bathroom. Excellent location and taxi rank outside. Everything you need for a short or long stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight negative was that none of the 3 tvs worked properly - one not at all. Wasn't really an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, Thank you very much for your amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed one of our amazing 2 bedroom apartments during your time in Edinburgh, I am sorry to hear of the issues regarding the Televisions this is something that i am glad...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rutland apartments for two nights between Christmas and New Year and we couldn’t have been happier with our stay! On arrival, the staff member at reception (I unfortunately didn’t manage to catch his name) was very welcoming, friendly and couldn’t do enough for us! He showed us to our apartment (15/2) and pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xChristine_A89
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Christine, Thank you very much for your amazing feedback on your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so happy to hear you had an amazing time in one of our 5 star apartments, I am so glad I could help in some way and your boyfriend definitely got a fantastic deal from myself which was...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Rutland Hotel in Apartment One between Christmas and New Year 2016. We were welcomed by friendly, efficient staff who let us leave our bags whilst we went to explore Edinburgh. When we returned, our apartment was ready and we were very happy with it. All the rooms are huge, there is a fully equipped kitchen, 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeDHK
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Zoe, Thank you very much for your amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed one of our amazing 5 star apartments during your time in Edinburgh and this was the setting for your exploration of our great city. Please do come back and visit...

Long Island, NY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in room 5 for two nights in late December. Upon check-in, the staff member at reception was welcoming and very informative. He made us a reservation at Kyloe for our second night, and took our bags up to our room. The castle view was a nice treat, I recommend requesting it. I'll complete my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FunBass
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad to hear you found our staff knowledgeable and attentive during your time with us, we are currently having a hotel refurbishment in which i will pass on your comments regarding the bathroom which will be re arranged and...

Boston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed 4 nights at one of the Rutland Hotel's apartments. I booked months in advance of New Year's and was glad that I did. The attentive staff answered many questions for me ahead of time both when I emailed or called. Our apartment was perfect and so lovely! It is brand new and has great furnishings, a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TallieB
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your fantastic 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us in Edinburgh for your Hogmanay visit and your family enjoyed their trip to Scotland also. Please do come back and visit us again very soon. Kind Regards, The Rutland...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and a great location, I'd definitely stay again. The bar was great and the restaurant lovely. We had an amazing meal, but it was a difficult process ordering as I had to question every item on the gluten free menu, when I noticed they'd put a Yorkshire pudding as a starter. Many would order that assuming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so glad you found our staff very helpful during your stay and enjoyed our fantastic location. I will pass on your feedback regarding our Gluten free menu to our kitchen team and make sure all items that are gluten free...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rented an apartment for the evening to bring the family to see Mamma Mia. Fantastic location close to the Castle and the gardens. A great 2 bedroom apartment that was nicely decorated and delightfully furnished. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jamie G, Front Office Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your 5 star review of your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed one of our brand new apartments at No 17 Rutland Street with your family and it was a pleasure looking after you, I do hope you enjoyed Mamma Mia with the kids. Please do...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

706 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (359)
Viewed
Apartment (102)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,728 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,471 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
726 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,048 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $166 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Rutland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Full English breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Pv2017, yesterday | Read review
“Apt 3 for a couple is perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles chobanpickard, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a view of the castle!”
 of 5 bubbles fkmcja, 1 week ago | Read review
“Apartment One is in the basement and there is some street noise but it didn't bother us.”
 of 5 bubbles ZoeDHK, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for or request the castle-view room!”
 of 5 bubbles FunBass, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay