We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Regent House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This hotel is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill and a number of landmarks, and there are a number of great restaurants close by, these are all great qualities. On their website however, it reads 'Off-site Parking Available'. This does not mean parking that is included in your hotel stay, or even owned by the hotel --... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comment. I am glad you had an overall good stay with us, but I am very surprised about the issue you mentioned, regarding the hot water. We never received any report of having this kind of problem. Right now we are not experiencing any malfunction in the rooms like you described. By off-site parking we meant... More 

Mamchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, it was on the third floor with some pretty steep stairs didn't bother us too much but if you had bigger bags would be a pain. Positives, the location and wifi Negatives - we got to our room and it was quite large so we were happy but when i sat on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jolouwoo
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We take your opinion very seriously and updated the mattress in the room you reported asap. We are sorry we couldn't change the mattress during your stay. My colleague tried to help you by offering you a diffferent room to stay in, but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
223 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

This bed and breakfast is in a very good location, which would suit a lot of people. The end of the airport tram line is a few minutes away. The room I was is was small and "tired" - reminded me of some of the small hotels I stayed in in London years ago, which had not been renovated and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank capeintl
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We are continously working on improving our hotels decoration, and the overall guest experience, so I am glad you pointed out the issues you had. Greetings from Edinburgh More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Lovely little B&B Good Value for money £50 for 2 guests 1 night with continental breakfast Helpful friendly staff, explained how keys worked, breakfast times etc. We stayed in room 25 (Top Floor) more than adequate, Beautiful modern bathroom. Ideally situated near to centre of Edinburgh only short walk to Princes Street, plenty of Bars and shops nearby. Upon departure... More 

Helpful?
Thank DART36
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciaton. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you require accommodation at a future date in Edinburgh please do not hesitate to contact us. More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel as my little sister stays a couple of doors up and I was down seeing her with my two sons aged 5 and 7. When we were first greeted at the hotel given our key and asked to pay remainder of the balance then told where room was after climbing 2 flights of difficult stairs without... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MinniemouseAberdeen
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We tried our best to replace your bed as soon as possible, but unfortunately this was an issue we didn't foresee, as the bed was in a good condition before. Of course things like this can happen, and we tried and did solve the issue... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The pictures are not actually a true reflection of the hotel itself. On booking into the hotel the staff were fine but the room itself was actually not what I expected. It was very dark (ladies if you want to put make-up on this would not be possible)as there was only one light and a lamp in the room that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

As we entered this hotel we were greeted and the process for grabbing the keys and paying the remaining balance was straight forward, we were told that breakfast was available in the morning. We were given the keys but they failed to mention that one was for the room and the other was for the front door which will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read you had a bad stay with us. I can only say that our usual protocol is to give all the information about the hotel to our guests on arrival, so our staff was reminded again to make sure they do this properly. We obviously did not know about the table which you accidentaly broke, but it... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I was a bit hesitant to book this one earlier. but the pictures looked good and someone recommended it to me too, so I was a bit ok. Once I reached, this looked like a old heritage building just at entrance of a small street. The entrance is small but decent. Just what should be the minimum. the hotel does... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aniruddh A
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful feedback. Unfortunately we can't fit a lift in our bulding due to it's constuction. Although the building is located in the newtown, it's still have a long history, almost 200 years old. I am afraid it is a very common issue with the buildings (especially the older ones) in Edinburgh. We will definitely consider to... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

After reading some of the reviews i was a little worried so i packed fleecy blankets but we didn't need them. We stayed in a family room which had a queen bed and 3 singles and ensuite. We found the room to be decorated well and very specious. Put it this way my son thorughly enjoyed giving me heart palpatations... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5faten5
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Regent House Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to let us know. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Booked last minute, on the day itself, location ideal for where we were going, room was small yes, but, beds were comfy enough, yes the stairs to the room are steep but nothing says they must have a lift, quiet enough, don't blame the hotel if there is no parking, they are not obliged to supply it ! breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wreckingbaw
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. We made a lot of improvement in the hotel since you stayed with us, I hope you will visit us again to see yourself. Kindest Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#101 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#121 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $73 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay