We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I loved the room we were in and everyone was absolutely lovely. Great local spot with an exceptional coffee shop close by and not far from old town and a lot of incredible pubs. Loved it all, especially the back window and the view out of that. What a great spot!

Helpful?
Thank William J
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were allocated Room 5 in the basement. We were informed that we had booked a room with a shared bathroom (something we would never have done). Paid extra on arrival for this room with en suite facility. The room was exremely noisy from 0700 each morning as it was directly below breakfast room/reception. Shower thermostat did not work -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lins_Alex
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. I looked up your reservation and it was indeed booked as a double room with a shared bathroom originally, and on your arrival was upgraded with your agreement for an additional £10 per night for an en-suite, recently refurbished room. I do apologise if you had issues with the noise during... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, I stayed one night with my parents and they really liked it, I wish I would have stayed more days. It is a small hotel but it had everything I needed. The owner is really nice, he warmly welcomed us and gave me some tips for restaurants which was quite convenient for the first day.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lety A
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally located about a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station. The staff are friendly & helpful. The stairs are a bit steep & winding but a staff member offered to carry my case up & down when I left. The room is a good size as is the bathroom, all very clean. There are tea & coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hteblav
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location. Big, clean rooms. Good service. Helpful staff. Good wi-fi connectivity. No lift, so even for the 3rd floor, you have to carry your luggage on the stairs without any helper. Breakfast should be made available from the 06:30 am (at the least). It was not ready even at 07:45 am, which is not acceptable.

Helpful?
1 Thank RSDhar
Alloa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi booked this hotel through Booking.com for two nights in August 14th to be precise. Triple room bed and breakfast. Now need to cancel due to circumstances changing. I was well within the normal cancellation period that normally is stated however this hotel charges full price if cancelled within 21 days in August. I also found out I have previously... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lesley466
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Lesley, As I mentioned during our phone conversation before you have to cancel your reservation through Laterooms.com as we can’t cancel it for you. We are not able to change your reservation in any way or form since you booked the room through Laterooms.com and not directly with us. As for the our hotel policy, please let me... More 

uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here when my friends and I celebrated my 50th, We had a great time food was great, room was clean and we all enjoyed our stay here.We just wished it had a lift as lot of stairs but nice hotel very friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank kan786
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an excellent stay. the staff was attentive and quickly addressed our problems with the wi-fi, the room was spacious with a charming view north to the Firth in the distance. Everything in the room was clean and taken care of. Be prepared for stairs that are very steep and challenging to climb. Breakfast was continental style with cold... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad C
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel with good size room, plenty of tea coffee sachets Clean tidy hotel with friendly owner Super location to main attractions 10 min walk from Waverley station, lots of restaurants in local area, also local Tesco convenience store nearby, Down side breakfast was ok, but staff seemed slow to replenish items as much had gone by the time we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jean0202
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found this place great for breakfast and the appointments were all good. Location - excellent, not far from where you want to be in Edinburgh. We'd be back if it weren't for the red theme - My wife felt it was kinda like "The Shining" I'm happy there was no elevator !! lol Otherwise really good spot - recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank CamInAus
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can reassure you that we don't have any ghosts, which is kind of a shame for a historic building as ours. :) Hope you had a great time in Edinburgh. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#99 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#121 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $72 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay