We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Royal Mile Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Mile Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

Great location in the middle of the Royal mile, friendly helpful staff, nice hot showers, clean facilities, cheap prices, you even get two pillows and rental towels only 20p! Very much enjoyed my stay here, all a hostel should be. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank laurenm36
Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We were there for 3 nights in an 8 bed dorm and it was alright. Our room ('Gotham') was spacious, we had some armchairs in it and there was enough room for your luggage. It overlooked the Royal Mile which was quite nice. Each bed had it's one locker. The mattresses were a bit old and worn so you could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annika S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

For a budget hostel this is a great little place and its in the center of the Royal Mile which is perfect! I was in female dorm and it was awesome. A good size room so you didn't feel like you were stepping on anyone, and a big plus was that the room had individual lockers for all your personal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashlee T
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

I had booked and recieved confirmation to stay at this hostel, however the owner told me on arrival that I wasn't staying there at all.I had arrived early (2pm instead of 3pm) and so initially he wouldn't let me in. Eventually after getting there he had a big rant about needing sleep.?? After his raving I offered to leave my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geraniumthief
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm really sorry you had such a bad experience in Edinburgh. But you didn't come to stay at the Royal Mile Backpackers! First of all our wee hostel is right on the Royal Mile (our postal code is EH1 1SG). We're halfway between the Castle and Holyrood Palace, so smack in the middle of it. It couldn't be... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days and I had such an incredible time. First of all, the location can't be beat. You're on royal mile which is not only exciting itself but a great hub for everything else you want to do. I never had to use transport. Facilities are clean. I was never concerned about hygiene. Of course they're... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisPL89
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

I chose this place as it offers good bargain prize for a hostel in Edinburgh and has good reviews but I was disappointed the moment I enter the hostel. Staffs were generally friendly although there is one bloke who was really rude when I am just trying to get my luggage from the storage room. Location is good considering it... More 

Helpful?
Thank XCendre
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Can't complain: Good location; staff are pleasant; good value. Room was rather tight trying to access bags whilst others were in there but you have to be prepared for this staying in a hostel anywhere. Bathrooms were fine and I can't remember having any complaints about the breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

I was happy to find this backpackers at a great price when booking accommodation at spur of the moment notice before I went to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. I got a night at this establishment for under £20, which is tremendous value for money considering the time of year I went to, where prices of accommodation are often at inflated... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheLuke88
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

The hostel location is very good, it is on the main street in the old town, Edinburgh Castle is almost 10 minutes for a walk from hostel, from hostel to central bus station, the walking distance is about 10 minutes. The french girl who is staff was very kind, welcoming and helpful. The hostel was old but it is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank YAHYA D
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

After staying in a huge but extremely cramped London hostel, Royal Mile Backpackers was a welcome change. It's small in the sense that there aren't a million rooms and tons of people, but the rooms are still spacious and don't feel cramped at all. My room overlooked the Royal Mile, this hostel really has the best location you can ask... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kdanielson
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#17 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Old Town
Budget Backpackers
Budget Backpackers
#18 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: $16 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay