We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Mile Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Mile Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and helpful, happy to point out the best way to see Edinburgh. Clean and tidy, it has a nice and cosy atmosphere. Very safe place with own secured lockers in room, each bed has its own power point. Location is excellent, you literally step outside and you're on the royal mile and its a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abby A
Uruguay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is excellent. The people who works there is also very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and have very nice light (at least the room I was in). Common spaces are also tidy and bathrooms have powerful showers. Fair price as well!! Good option if short budgeted!!

Helpful?
Thank matiash1986
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words - great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our wee hostel. Hope to see you here again some time! More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

I have nothing but great things to say about Royal Mile Backpackers. The staff are friendly and helpful. They recommended some great food and attractions while we were there. The facilities were clean and the common room was coZy. There was breakfast offered each morning for a small fee (1-2 pounds). Great atmosphere. I met some incredible people here and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keisha H
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, great to hear you had a lovely stay with us! Thanks for the lovely words and we're looking forward to having you back here again some day! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights while in between flats and everything was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The place has a really nice atmosphere and it is clean and cosy. My room was fairly nice, and even though 6 people were sharing it, it did not feel cramped. There were guests of all ages, backgrounds, and financial situations and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hermes_Kyllenios
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The position is perfect, just in the middle of the royal mile. People are nice and friendly, the rooms and the toilets are always clean. It's possible to use the kitchen and in you can get tea and coffee for free. I highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Ester D
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the great review - we're happy to hear you had a lovely stay! Hope to have you here again some time! More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I adored my stay at Royal Mile backpackers. All the staff were super lovely, which gives the hostel a very homey and fun vibe to it. The staff were all very knowledgable and helpful with things to do, directions, ect. The hostel itself was very clean and cheerily decorated. Not to mention, the location was absolutely ideal. You could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank emilybd6
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words and the great review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see yo here again some time! More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

I booked here during the opening weekend of the fringe, and they really helped me get two beds in the same room for my entire stay. The location is fantastic! Close to everything, the only downside to this is that the front windows look out onto the Royal Mile and it can be quite noisy if you have the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank katierang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2016

It was an absolute pleasure staying here. The staff were lovely, the location could not have been closer to the centre and the royal mile always has it charm nook and crannies. I also love the quirkiness of the rooms, really wanted to stay in Gotham city however sadly I didnt get the chance. Overall amazing place and would thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stewart L
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for the lovely review - we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Really hope to have you here again some time! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Small, no place to hang out with my friends. Our room is so tiny, the shower ekkk not so clean. When the time I used it, two toilets in Female are so dirty and showers too. With number of people used it with only two toilets are not enough. My room was so small. I lost my food too during... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank TeresaLiverpool01
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, shame you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Our bathrooms get cleaned thoroughly twice a day and checked on regularly. The Fringe Festival is a very busy time here in Edinburgh and we were fully booked for the whole month with lots of people passing through - please let us know when somebody leaves the bathroom in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2016

This is the smallest hostel that I ever stayed in, but that did not detract from my experience at all. Firstly, the hostel has a spectacular location on the Royal Mile, close to everything that I wanted to see. It is in walking distance from the bus station too, as well as a Tesco and Sainsbury's. The hostel was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneS1990
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear you had such a great time at our wee hostel. Come back some time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#18 of 206 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 206 in Edinburgh
1,289 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 206 in Edinburgh
369 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 206 in Edinburgh
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High St., Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: $13 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe”
 of 5 bubbles abbya382, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Take ear plugs as the Royal Mile can be a wee bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Hermes_Kyllenios, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Fringe room is clean and good for 8 people”
 of 5 bubbles 623yahyad, Aug 30, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the 'Star Wars' room, it is big, bright and open and has a view that looks out onto the Royal Mile street.”
 of 5 bubbles 761genew, Jun 16, 2015 | Read review
“Little Miss room is a female only room with tonnes of character. Great view of the Royal Mile from the window. Also, wifi only works in common areas.”
 of 5 bubbles DrainYou, Dec 9, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay