We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Mile Backpackers

Save
Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good39%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“sister hostel”(8 reviews)
“cozy hostel”(6 reviews)
“royal mile”(55 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Rooftop Bar
Fitness center
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
2 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
6.8 miles to Edinburgh Airport
253 restaurants are within a 0.25 mile radius
0.2 miles from Edinburgh Old Town
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
56
50
15
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
56
50
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hostelcozy hostelroyal milefemale bathroombudget hostelself catering kitchencommon roomgreat locationfree tea and coffeeclean bedlaundry servicebring earplugsedinburgh castletrain stationbunk bedsearly hoursthe heart of the city
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This place is at a prime location on the Royal Mile and has a comfortable interior. It’s not a particularly big hostel but I think that works in its favour, gives quite an intimate feel to it. Pretty decent value for a room, I paid...More

Thank Tom B
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 2 days ago

Hi Tom, we're glad you had a great stay with us at the Royal Mile Backpackers - thanks for the lovely review. We hope to see you here again some time!

Reviewed June 3, 2018

Location is the key word for this review. Conveniently located in the middle of the Royal Mile, just 10min walk from the castle and Waverly Train Station; there's also a public car park around the corner. Clean and tidy, with a functioning self-catering kitchen. Breakfast...More

Thank Dude_76125
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded June 4, 2018

Hi there, thanks for the great review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about that stairs - it's hard to avoid them anywhere in Edinburgh. We're kind of lucky only to be on the first floor and not any higher. We...More

Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

This is one of the smaller hostels I have stayed at. The location is a bit confusing to find at first but trust Google maps and look for the sign that’s posted just outside. You walk up the stairs on the left and there you’ll...More

Thank Cat N
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded June 6, 2018

Hi Cat, sorry for the late reply. Thanks you so much for the lovely review - we're glad you had a good time here with us at the Royal Mile Backpackers and hope to have you here again some time! Btw - we talked to...More

Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

My first time in a hostel and it was really good! I paid £13 for 1 night and then £2 for a breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Definitely good value for money. I'm coming back in one week after my road trip 😊

Thank Delphine B
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded June 6, 2018

Hi Delphine, so sorry for the late reply! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with. thanks for sahring and please come back some time.

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

I really enjoy this hostel, it’s located in the royal mile so is near everything! The kitchen has everything to cook and the rooms were ok. The bathrooms are clean properly - definitely I would stay again or in any of the other two from...More

Thank Florcita88
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded March 26, 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for the lovely review and great rating. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you here again some day!

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Details
Price range
$16 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$16 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (38)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you enjoy sleeping in a quiet room, ask for one which is not on the street. The windows are old and High..."
Read review
"There is no lift so be prepared to take the stairs. If that is a concern consider requesting a lower floor."
Read review
"No nos dejaron elegir habitacion"
Read review
"excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing