We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 650: English reviews
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We normally stay in the holiday inn by the zoo in Edinburgh as its closest to where our son lives but it was full. We were very pleased with this holiday inn as an alternative . The reception staff member a gentleman called Lee was very welcoming and we were greeted with acknowledgement of our Gold elite status. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robertson;Mrs.a... R
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quick friendly check in / check out staff with good quick efficent waiting staff in the bar and restaurant. The room was today and clean however it was very very small and rather claustrophobic, I'd think anyone who was on the larger side would struggle!

Helpful?
Thank Explorez
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Surprisingly spacious room. 2 double beds and very clean bathroom. Great bar as well as a children's playground which came in handy as we have 2 young kids. Short bus trip to Princess street. I would recommend this hotel to families. There is a large supermarket across the road.

Helpful?
Thank adamdgibson
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

When I visit Edinburgh this is my preferred hotel. It's in a convenient place, has a free car park for guests and rooms are clean and well maintained throughout your stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. I've had no complaints at this hotel before. I wouldn't rate 5* only because it isn't a 5* hotel but for the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma V
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I've stayed here before hence return trip but was not very impressed this time / room smelt very damp - seemed to be coming from the drain in bathroom but was very overpowering so we had to keep window open. Couldn't be bothered asking to change as we were so tired and just wanted to get a cup of tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations and apologise for the shortfall in service. Your comments are extremely valuable and will be discussed with the team. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and hope you will consider returning to... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a mixed stay as we had to change rooms on first night because the cistern did not work. First good member of staff was the night porter who facilitated this. Unfortunately in the restaurant i had had a 'prawn cocktail' trouble was no sauce just prawns and lettuce. Again problem well dealt with by restaurant manager who took... More 

Helpful?
Thank irene r
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear irene r, Thank you for your candid review of your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that some aspects of your recent visit did not live up to your expectations, however I am pleased to hear that some issues you encountered were dealt with. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with the team. I hope... More 

Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Moved to this hotel after staying at the Holiday Inn Express at Leith. Only stayed one night. Car parking is available and free which is a real plus. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view over the city. Ensuite shower / toilet room. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Bar was ok. Breakfast was usual Holiday Inn fare.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingRog
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear TravellingRog Thank you for your review of our hotel and staff. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, but that many aspects of the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us and assure you that your comments have been taken on board. Kind Regards. More 

Turks
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was very spacious. Has a separate living room bathroom and bedroom. Living room had a TV, work desk and chair, mini fridge, kettle with assorted tea, coffee and 2 sofas. Bedroom had a TV, iron and ironing board. The only disappointing and major factor for me was that for the 3 nights I was there, my room was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller79Turks
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Traveller79Turks Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologise that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations and the shortfall in service you received. I will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. I hope you will change your mind in future and choose to stay with us again, so... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 1/4 to 4 Star 5 1/2 / 10 Parking on site , restaurant and bar. Modernish decor. Good view of the city from our room (#211). Comfortable bed and pillows. Tea and Coffee in the room. Beds , desk , armchair and reasonable size TV. Breakfast was passable. The Bad : Service at breakfast was very poor ; I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Paul D Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. I apologize that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations and also for the shortfall in service . I appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. I hope to have the opportunity to... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good solid hotel. Holiday inn has never disappointed so far. It is located at a picturesque and quiet residential area away from the hubbub of the town, yet an easy 10 min bus ride to Princes street from a stop right outside the hotel. There was one hiccup I had at check in: I had informed the reservations team... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaptSkumraan
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear CaptSkumraan, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay but would like to apologise for the issue you had with your reservation. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#100 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#63 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $104 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay