We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Save
Share
10/18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
$136
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (536)
Room & Suite (275)
Dining (40)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#113 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away.
Read more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
1642Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 517
  • 613
  • 298
  • 115
  • 99
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris W wrote a review Jan 15
Worcester, United Kingdom105 contributions84 helpful votes
We stayed in room 324 and it was perfect for what we wanted, clean, tidy, large and the hotel is in a great location at a great price. A very short walk to the royal mile and tram stop for the airport. Ours was a first floor rear room. Our only criticism which is why it dropped from a 5 star review were the attention to detail - long black hairs on the floor in the bathroom presumably from the cleaner were a little bit disgusting, the wardrobe door was broken and some of the staff were not wearing masks (might be exempt) and others were wearing them but under their chin - despite telling customers to wear theirs. The breakfast was good and was included though the sausages and bacon look anemic and not crispy at all. Small criticisms in an otherwise great stay and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Chris, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely correct that we have some team members are exempt from wearing masks. But will address the matter. The breakfast option for hot item are pre cooked and we can't cook them more. Also, once stays on the buffet the freshness doesn't last too long. We only offer continental breakfast but the hot items are served just to enhance the continental cold breakfast without any extra charge, .We take every comments seriously and committed to improve. Looking forward to serving you soon. Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
eirini m wrote a review Jan 5
1 contribution
We just stayed one night. We paid for the "superior" bedroom which is an underground room without even windows! When we complain they told us that the window is in the bathroom!!! A tiny window that we couldn't even open! I was given the next door room. Even thought I told them that I don't want underground. They didn't even gave us another choice. They receptionist just gave me the other key without even apologise for the inconvenience. They just gave us an underground room with a window. The double bedroom was 2 single attached! The worst experience ever. The location is the only pros.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Eirini, thank you for your review, i am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your expectations, with Edinburgh being an old city you will find that a lot of hotels do have basement bedrooms rooms and unfortunately we cant change this, you did book a superior room with us and this was given to you, this room wasn't as you expected and the receptionist then gave you the key to another room to which you accepted and was our last superior room, the beds are infarct a super king-size which means they are zip and link beds which are linked together, zipped and do not move if this room was not to your satisfaction you could have come back to reception and we would have found an alternative room type for you, we do apologise for any inconvenience cause to you, if you do wish to return to us please remember you have the 15% discount when booking direct, i will pass all your comments to the team. Regards Helen
Read more
James, rm 316 wrote a review Jan 4
4 contributions
Booked on an offer, very pleased with room, wine, chocolates on arrival. There staff are nice and helpful, breakfast has good choice of hot and continental food, coffee ☕😋😋😋. Staff service at breakfast was good, Was talking to the GM and that's was helping with breakfast, Good service all round, clean rooms as well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jim, thank you for your review, we do strive to make sure your experience with us is a pleasant one, im so glad that you found the staff to be nice and giving great service, i will pass your comments onto the team, please remember for future stays if you book direct to use the 15% discount. Regards Helen
Read more
fusspot01 wrote a review Dec 2021
Chippenham, United Kingdom16 contributions33 helpful votes
A great 3 night stay at this well located hotel, 10 minute walk from central Edinburgh and 7 minute walk from the airport tram stop. We had 2 rooms - both clean, good sized rooms, comfortable beds, good over bath showers. The blackout curtains annd quiet surroundings ensured we all slept well after long days of sightseeing. The staff we met were all extremely friendly and helpful and we were able to leave luggage when we arrived in the City in the early morning. We felt the rooms were excellent value and would not hesitate to stay again or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are so glad that you have found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and that your stay was a pleasant one and i will pass your comments onto the team, remember if you book direct with us for your next stay to use the 15% discount for returning guests Regards Helen
Read more
philbrunnen wrote a review Dec 2021
Portishead, United Kingdom50 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Excellent location. That's the good bit done with! If you like a lot of dust with your sleep, and are happy living in a shoebox, this hotel will be ideal for you. We had a superior room. I absolutely dread to think what an inferior room would have been like. As you can see, from the photos, the leads from the ceiling to the lights, right above our head, were thick with dust. The top of the wardrobe was completely covered in the same. I can only think they have a five foot tall cleaner, with a neck problem that stops them looking above their heads. That said, that should have still seen all the mould around the bath! Due to a serious lack of sockets, one of which was taken up with the TV that only receives a small number of channels (not even BBC2), you have to plug the iron into the bedside, which means the board has to be between the bed and the wall. This would be fine, if you could actually fit a person in there as well. Due, apparently to Covid, we got no room service while we were there. So we used the same postage stamp sized bath towels every day. Wouldn't be a problem, if you could dry them on the heated towel rack. But because all of the electricity in the room goes off when you go out for the day, the towels, when you come back, are still wet .........and cold (it is December after all). The bed, was actually very comfortable, which was a good point. I know it's a budget hotel, but there is absolutely no excuse for dirt, and with a little bit of thought, it could be a nice little hotel in a great position. But it seriously isn't that at the moment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Phil, Thank you for your detailed feedback. First of all, we apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. You stayed with us for 4 nights and none of these issues were mentioned during your stay. If the issues were mentioned, we would have offered an available alternative for you. Understanding the issue after check out, leaves us no options other than offering an apology. As you have understood, we are a budget city centre hotel who offer affordable rates. Absolutely no excuse for dust in the room. Our sincere apologies for the lack of cleaning you have mentioned. Will discuss the matter with head housekeeper and necessary actions will be taken. Hospitality is struggling to facilitate service due to lack of staffing and covid spread. Your sarcastic comments about housekeeping team members height was un necessary. There were electric plain cards in the drawer to keep the power on all the time. Unfortunately you have missed that. Again, if you have spoke to us during the stay, we would have advised you. Also, we did offer clean fresh rowels every day at the reception. We appreciate all the positive comments. Regards Kannan Nair General manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cairn hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghLeith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Treasure Hunts (0.1 miles), Nelson Monument (0.3 miles), and National Monument (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Yes, secured parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pera - Turkish Mangal & Meze Bar, The Walnut, and Kahani Indian Restaurant.
Is Cairn Hotel Edinburgh located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.6 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 miles), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.6 miles).