We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,550: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were given an ItIsOn voucher for this hotel. Booking was very easy and it was very easy to add on an extra nights stay to allow us to spend time in a great city. Check in was smooth, team very chatty and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor (directly above the restaurant area) very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley P
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

Visited for afternoon tea on s group on deal after booking a table for 4, 5 days earlier. When we arrived there was no booking. They put a table together for us. So sitting in the middle of a small dance floor with a view of the dj desk and lights we waited to be served. Young lady came she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

Arrived New Years Day and even though staff would have been very busy they were exceptionally friendly, managed to check us straight in a little earlier than stated. Room lovely, great view and the best location in Edinburgh, spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Booked for evening meal, they reserved a window table for us. Good choice of menu, food... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gillonholsagain
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

We booked this hotel for a weekend visit Edinburgh during the fantastic Christmas market and I chose this hotel as it looked like it was in a great location on Princes Street with good views based on the website. I booked a Superior room which is the top room category with a balcony on to Princes Street and at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pumpkinstew
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

met a friend for lunch .table and chairs crockery and cutlery very poor standard more like a cheap café would have. We both had a sandwich one cold meat and salad which was just lettuce and tuna and tomato first of all we were not asked if we wanted butter ,bread was not fresh and he made the sandwich up... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenmichaec
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I was very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. All of our team members are fully trained on basic food & hygiene, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate... More 

Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

You don't get the sandwiches on the menu! And you can not choose your tea but get a teapot with what tasted like tea made from teabags. Loud music spoils the atmosphere. We ended up cancelling our order and the waitress was very nice about it. But we thought 60£ for four people at least should get you the salmon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ylasvi
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following your visit, I am sorry that there was no choice and I am unsure why as this is most definitely an option when dining for afternoon tea. Please email the Operations Manager on op.mercureedinbugh@jupiterhotels.co.uk as I would like to offer a complimentary afternoon tea as a gesture of goodwill. Kind regards, James... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Mercure in December - WOW!! Castle view - fantastic! Superior room - fantastic! Bathroom - to die for! Customer service - superb! Breakfast - superb! & all for less than the Travelodge!! Had a super, super stay & will be coming back soon! Thanks Mercure; thanks Edinburgh!

Helpful?
2 Thank Marion W
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Me and a friend of mine stayed here for one night after New Year, and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. I chose this hotel for the great location and price, however the price did not reflect fairly on what we got. The first floor of the hotel is very nice, warm and welcoming, but as soon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ksumal
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Friend and I popped in here for lunch one day just after Christmas. The weather was atrocious and it was the nearest place. Never again! My mac and cheese was the worst I've ever tasted. The pasta was overcooked and sloppy and the cheese seemed t be missing from the sauce as it was unbelievably bland. The cheese appeared to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela J
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I was very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Last year we stayed in a really nice recently refurbished room, however the bed was rock hard and I said I would not stay there again because of this. The hotel emailed me and said if I decided to stay again they would speak to the house keeper regarding the hard bed. We stayed again this December and was totally... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 48juliaa
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel. It is always helpful to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

549 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (523)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#102 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Royal British Hotel
Royal British Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighborhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $107 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay