We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,075: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very disappointed. Had afternoon tea booked for 12 (2 gluten free) for an important family gathering, only to be told the night before that YOU WILL NOT CATER FOR GLUTEN FREE ANYMORE. No apology or alternative offer. Needless to say we have made other arrangements in a more customer friendly hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leeannew4567
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LeaAnne, We are very concerned that you have written such a damaging review and very much urge that you contact the hotel at your convenience to talk this over – the number to contact is 0131 556 5565 and please ask for myself. The information that you have detailed is faculty incorrect as we offer a selection on of...

UK
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed early June with our 19 month old toddler. The room was lovely and traditional. However, it was quite noisy, the room service menu was limited and the burger was vile! It came too pink (I am pregnant) and didn't look fresh or homemade. The staff seemed a little pretentious too, especially in the breakfast room so we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DogZoo
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman. I am sorry that you didn’t not enjoy our rooms service menu and it concerns me to hear that you felt this was served ‘Pink’ this can be cooked to the liking of each individual guest. I can assure you that...

LONDON
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Scotsman is well situated for the station and the royal mile. The staff are exceptionally helpful. The room is well appointed with everything you could wish for. There is a button to put a do not disturb sign red light outside your room. Also a hatch so if you order room service a tray is put in the hatch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APYE
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. I am glad you enjoyed our extra little touches for privacy in our rooms. All...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Edinburgh is one city where you are surrounded by old buildings and then even older buildings. When they refer to the "new" town as built in the 1700s, its my kind of place! This hotel does not disappoint. Great room size, perfect location and friendly staff are just compliments to this wonderful hotel. Excellent place to stay if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawguy22
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Oh my God!!!!!!!!!!! I've been in Scottish Hospitality for 35 years, I am in Edinburgh for a family and friends holiday from the USA, and never have I found and EMPTY hotel Bar and Restaurant that REFUSES accommodate a table of 7 for a quick lunch and snacks. We have used this hotel many times and I'm SHOCKED!!! What kind...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Patsy C
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us. We do serve lunch from the hours of noon till 2pm, however we also serve afternoon tea from noon till 430pm, I would be very surprised and disappointed if this was not offered as a alternative. Please contact myself or our operations manager Richard Gray...

Donneloye, Switzerland
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed one night at The Scotsman and wished it had been more. This is a hotel in the old-fashioned style, with old-fashioned staff, and it is delightful. A charming and polite young man (Fraser) brought our suitcases up to the front-facing room with a wonderful view, and proceeded to answer all our questions about the hotel, the city and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickmichael
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is ideally located, five minutes walk to the main shopping area (Princes Street) & less than ten minutes walk to the castle. The hotel is a fantastic building, well maintained & traditionally decorated. The hotel staff were very helpful thought our stay, the restaurant & bars provided great service. The spa attached to the hotel offers aveda products...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dingle-fan
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely beautiful building. Everything about this hotel is top class. Our room was well equipped and had a great view over the bridge, it was spotlessly clean and the marble in bathroom really looked the part. There was no faulting the room or the staff. We also used the restaurant for dinner one night and it's well worth the price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baronation
Belfast
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here in April for one night with my mum as a Mothers' Day treat. Because it was a mothers' day present we were upgraded to a Publisher suite which was beautiful - like a small duplex apartment. Everything from the minute we arrived was perfect - the staff / room / décor and bar were all first class....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susimcmj
San Francisco, California
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fantastic location, easy access to just about everything. Stylish rooms, great views, updated yet still embracing its historic style. The staff were brilliant. A delightful place to stay. Sleep quality was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jl-ontheroadagain
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

903 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (606)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,581 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
428 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
830 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $165 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try the cocktails !”
 of 5 bubbles AJSWT, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose an Editor Room.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittyboy2114, 1 week ago | Read review
“Somewhere else for the money!”
 of 5 bubbles simonhL3336FF, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose a room with a view of the city,”
 of 5 bubbles 725susans, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“the views of the city are great”
 of 5 bubbles ashleymF6543BQ, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question