We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Scotsman Hotel

Save
Share
20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1TR Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$465
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1311)
Room & Suite (835)
Dining (111)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/20/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/20/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#55 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Salon
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
3629Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,931
  • 877
  • 442
  • 219
  • 161
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LouiseLauren wrote a review Yesterday
21 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Visited Edinburgh and stayed in The Scotsman’s Hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in the superior double room which was very modern and classic, however a tad on the small side. The cleanliness of the room was very clean and we had beautiful complimentary spa products. The bed was really comfy, however had to request for extra pillows. We ordered for room service a couple of times for more fresh milk and tea and also ordered breakfast - which was delicious. The only downfall was the fact I could not open the window for air. The location of the hotel is excellent as it was close to everything and only a short walk away from the car park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The refreshments in the mini fridge are NOT complimentary - the receptionist did fail to tell us...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Vivian W wrote a review Jan 21
4 contributions2 helpful votes
This review isn't about the hotel facility at all, it's just about the customer service only. I made my orginal booking on Jan 16th 2020, as a family of 4, their family room is unavailable, but their customer service promised me that we can be accommondated in their feature twin/double room with city view which fits 3. I was charged £311.69 by then. As all know, because of Covid-19 pandemic, we have to reschedule our trip plan. I made rescheduling in March 2020 with extra charge of £65.66, and another in July 2020. I truly appreciated their flexibily and understanding to offer rescheduling for us international visitors then since we're not allowed to travel as we planned. In May 2021, when I had to make another reschedule because the UK travel restriction asks international travelers to quarantine for 10 days, something weird happens. The Scotsman customer service replied with there's no family room available for our group. I told them my reservation room type, sent all reservation documents with clear description. Not only they replied very late(ignoring me for 4 days long), but also they didn't respond to my information. They ignores all info I offered, just repeated that family room is not available, no matter how hard I tried to explain my reservation. Their customer service is poor, cold, no symphathy, no respect. Finally, when I posted all my experience on tripadvisor, their mangaer responded, corrected the whole mistakes, and even let their customer service offer me chance of refund. I refused the refund as goodwill, and deleted my review as goodwill too. I appreciated a lot, even during COVID-19 period, I know their flexibility of rescheduling is as goodwill, but not as granted. I refused the refund because I understand that it's not easy for international visitors, but also not easy to the hotel business too. However, I regretted my decision(refusing the refund) so much today. Even I understand their attitude and mistakes, and refused refund when they offered me as goodwill. They finally showed cold, poor, no symphathy attitude to me again. When I have to reschedule one last time, because my kids can't take the risk that if getting tested positive on departure from the UK, they can't return to the US on time, they will miss school and a very important sport competition. I explained hardly, and all my other 2 stays in the UK replied soon and offered me another chance. Not by Scotsman this time. No more rescheduling, no even 1% refund possibility, no symphathy, no consideration, nothing. I showed the proof that they offered me last May about the full refund, which I didn't even asked for, as a proof that there's always flexibility of the policy. The reponse is consistent. I emphasized the pandemic is not gone yet, the specific situation of my kids, it makes no difference. Just want to let other travlers know that, it's a beautiful hotel as showed in the pictures, but if you want better customer service, more respection, more consideration, don't choose Scotsman hotel in Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review. We have a number of rates available including Fully flexible rates that allow cancellation up until 2pm the day before arrival. Unfortunately our advanced purchase rates are non-refundable and non-transferable, so while this does reduce the price of your stay, it does carry slightly more risk if plans need to change. If you require any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. Christopher Angus Deputy General Manager
Read more
Cal Sharp wrote a review Jan 18
16 contributions27 helpful votes
Had a lovely cocktail in the grand cafe bar, fabulous ambience and service by Annie was excellent extremely friendly, attentive and fun. Great range of drinks my friend had afternoon tea which she said was yummy. Highly recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time in the Grand Cafe and it's great to read you were well looked after. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Christopher Angus Deputy General Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
D-Scotland wrote a review Jan 16
Scotland42 contributions30 helpful votes
In September I had tried to go to the Scotsman bar for a glass of champagne for a birthday treat but for some reason it was closed.I was therefore looking forward to a Saturday afternoon glass of fizz as a treat for a pre-meal drink with my partner. The room and the setting cannot be faulted, full of old style grandeur with a piano player set up on the balcony area. Unfortunately the service fell far below what you would expect from a five star establishment. We only had time for one drink with a table booked for an early dinner elsewhere but as it was only 4pm and with only 2 or 3 other tables taken this should have given us time for a nice relaxing time. Sadly, it wasn’t to be. After waiting 15 minutes my glass of champagne arrived but was miserably flat and when I asked for it to be replaced with a glass of wine it took another 25 minutes for the wine to arrive. Other people who had ordered drinks after us we’re served before my wine arrived. It meant we had to rush our drinks or risk losing our dinner booking and to cap it all off when the bill arrived we had been charged £12.95 for the flat Champagne that had been returned. It took a further 10 minutes for the bill to be rectified. When we were waiting for our drinks on a number of occasions we could see three or four waiting staff standing around chatting and only 1 person behind the bar. None of the waiting staff seemed to know what was going on, or even what drinks were on the menu. My partner had to be asked several times the name of the beer he had ordered. There was no obvious member of staff in charge and the overall impression was of disorganisation and a complete absence of the staff having received any training in customer service. It spoiled what was meant to have been a long awaited treat and despite the lovely setting I’m not sure we would ever go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am disapponted to read that your visit did not live up to our usually high standards. I have discussed your comments at length with the team and the necessary steps have been taken to address the issues yuo encountered. Christopher Angus Deputy General Manager christopherangus@scotsmanhotels.co.uk
Read more
Jww wrote a review Jan 16
Rothwell, United Kingdom54 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was nothing short of exemplary! I stayed in December 2021 with a friend and absolutely loved it. We will definitely be returning. She's already going back this month. The rooms were perfect, the grand cafe was lovely and the cinema was absolutely perfect. Great location as well! Don't do an us and follow google maps to get there (going up the main hill with luggage wasn't fun) it's literally opposite the station. Just ask to be buzzed in i think.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Christopher Angus, Other at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 1994jww, We're delighted to see that you had such a wonderful stay here with us and it's great to see your friend is already on her way back to visit! We hope you can join us once more in the future to make some more memories. Kindest Regards, Ryan Taylor Duty Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the scotsman hotel edinburgh, scotsman hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Scotsman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.3 miles), Edinburgh Old Town (0.2 miles), and Royal Mile (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Scotsman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and The Haggis Box.
Is The Scotsman Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.6 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.1 miles), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.09 miles).
Is The Scotsman Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.